We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Niggles But Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Small Niggles But Happy”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here night before early flight. Cheerful staff on check in. Room ok but overlooked a driveway at rear with house opposite and views into our room. Air conditioning stopped working in early hours so room to hot. Wary of opening windows because of room position (ground floor). Had bar meal, dining not cheap but enjoyable, then to Gatwick for evening check in and back to hotel bar. Service good and staff efficient and chatty. Booked as a package through APH parking so moved car back to their garage in early hours. If booking Felbridge againe would consider arriving earlier and using pool and booking pre-holiday massage. Sleep quality marked as average in view of air conditioning problem.

Room Tip: Don't have a ground floor, overlooked room on driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a nice review for the hotel.
I am sorry to read that you had problems with the air conditioning in the room but unfortunately you did not make us aware of this otherwise we could have been able to fix the problem for you.

We hope to welcoming you again at Felbridge Hotel & Spa

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    425
    227
    115
    78
See reviews for
132
621
28
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in room 120 ...The room was tiny...with small television on the wall with wires hanging everywhere. It was so badly soundproofed that we heard the man in the next room snoring. When guests walked down the carpeted hallway , it sounded like they were in our room, and the floor above, sounded like an army was passing through. While they were in their room. I can honestly say, I hardly slept at all .....as every noise was magnified.
Save money and sanity and stay at the Premier Inn opposite that ensure you have a good nights sleep. This Hotel is advertised as 4 star...the facilities and entrance lobby might be so, but the accommodation DEFINATELY isn't...and to cap it all they want £15 per person for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K88EYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry if the size of the room was smaller than your expectations and whilst compact our standard double rooms are 13 square metres with larger rooms available with an additional supplement.

I am sorry if you felt the noise was excessive however normally the sound proofing is adequate but if other guests were overly noisy I apologise for the disturbance.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope that one day you may consider returning.


Yours sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As with the previous review regarding the spa session and cream tea, do not under any circumstances expect this hotel to take your booking seriously. We had exactly the same problems. After researching where to go we settled on the Felbridge Hotel & Spa, our bookings were made and paid for. Purely by chance we contacted them to see how things were going (it was to be the start to my Daughters hen day) and we were told they had no record of our bookings despite taking our money. We were told our guests would have to bring bank statements to prove they'd paid. We challenged this and after many days of talking to various people they found the records that we had paid, so we asked for this to be confirmed via email which they did. Thinking that was the end of the matter we duly reassured our guests and thought the problem was
resolved.

Two days later we had an email retracting the first one stating there was a system error
and some of our party who had paid the hotel was now saying they hadn't. We were mystified as to how it can be right one day and wrong a couple of days later? By this stage despair had set in and we cancelled our booking only to be told "we will have to check the Spas terms and conditions" needless to say we did not accept this and have asked for our money back.

This simply should not have happened, the event was to be the start of my Daughters wedding celebrations and the hotel staff displayed complete incompetence and any ability to sort this out. It has ruined what was to have been a special time. The most upsetting part of our experience in dealing with them is that when they made a decision they retracted it and then blamed the system. Systems are only as good as the people using them which says it all really. They would not take ownership of the problem and they simply don't care about the distress this has caused. Please do not put your self through the worry we have had. The final insult was when they offered my Daughter a complimentary spa day as a gesture of goodwill oblivious to the fact that she'd already paid for it.

There are lots of lovely hotels with spa facilities around this area choose carefully.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank pollypoodle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The Felbridge hotel isn't cheap but it is luxurious. If you have a purpose for staying in this lovely part of England, it's worth a stay.
It's very well laid out and maintained. The buildings and gardens are lovely. Facilities are clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Downsides, there is poor TV selection and on the night I stayed, there was a wedding party and music went on until well after midnight and with windows open, was quite annoying.
I didn't eat here, but I'm assured the food is great - I can believe that.
Very nice hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor and writing few good comments about the hotel. I offer my apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the noise from the wedding. we do our best to allocate the bedrooms away from the function rooms for the guests who are not part of the event but this is subject to availability and also the type of room been requested.

We hope to welcome you back again in Felbridge hotel & spa


Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Felbridge hotel and spa with my boyfriend after spending a couple of nights at Thorpe Park we decided to pass through East Grinstead to see some family. Because of the last minute decision, we didn't have chance to pre-book but drove around a few hotels in the area and thought that this seemed the nicest. Slightly pricey but after a tiring few days we wanted somewhere comfortable to rest. Walked in to the hotel to ask if there was any availability for the night and the price (£81 room only - breakfast was an extra £14.95 each on top which after the stay we opted out of) and were given the information by a very unfriendly and uptight young lady at the front desk. We paid in cash and a swipe of my card was taken as normal procedure in hotels. She roughly described to us where the room was without any smile or friendly hospitable banter AT ALL. The halls of the hotel smelt musty and maybe a little damp but our worst disappointment was the room. IT WAS A BOX. Hot, sweaty and not the cleanest of rooms I have stayed in. Literally could not believe we paid £81 for this room. The bed was tiny, uncomfortable and the pillows were horrid. We found hairs in the bed, the shower head had mold on and after pulling out the hair dryer which was COVERED in dirt, my partner wanted to leave. I finally persuaded him to just ride the one night out and we would leave early in the morning. We were going out with family for dinner anyway so we not spending too much time in the room. Our sleep was terrible and we continued to find things that we would have never expected in a hotel/spa that seemed so high class. There is no free wifi (literally unacceptable in this day and age Especially when paying expensive rates), the bath had scum around the bottom and in the plug hole and the teeny tiny TV mostly has channels with movies that again are an extra expense. Both of us work within the hospitality industry and so are not usually whiny complainers but this stay was definitely not worth the money and unless the rest of the hotel is absolutely fabulous and we were just allocated a dodgy room, then I would not return nor recommend anyone else to. We have stayed in MUCH nicer hotels for either the same price or less and had a higher level of service as well as a nicer and cleaner room. Had the second impolite member of staff we came across on check out asked us about our stay then we would have informed her of the problems on the spot, but I guess this hotel doesn't offer that kind of personalised service! Unable to comment on breakfast (despite being overpriced) or the spa as we didn't utilise any of the facilities. From outside the hotel looks lovely, and despite the size the room did too. Turns out first impressions are not everything! Steer clear!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmacca91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed that you were not impressed with your recent stay and I apologise for any dissatisfaction you experienced on this occasion.

We take great pride and make our best efforts to maintain the highest possible standards of cleanliness in the hotel but I do apologise that your room cleanliness was not up to standard.

I am not sure where you found the damp and musty smell in the hotel corridors as following your review I did a thorough walk round and found no such damp or musty smell and neither has this ever been mentioned before by other guests

We do have all the national channels plus extra free view channels similar to other hotels with the addition of pay to view block buster movies. As a note too we do offer free wifi throughout the hotel to residents and non-residents alike.



Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I searched the internet for a hotel in this area to stay whilst visiting family and liked the reviews. I stayed on two consecutive weekend and was very happy with everything. Ist stay I had a Superior Room - excellent size, all the usual tea/coffe/safe/iron board, lovely big bathroom with toiletries - and best of all a walk in shower - water pressure was very good. Nice layout and comfy chair to sit and read/tv. The Second weekend I stayed I chose a Standard room - which was still very nice - but on the small side if you are a couple, worth the upgrade to a Superior room, the space around the bed was very limited - nice balcony looking over lovely grounds- would have been nice to have a chair to sit outside as the weather was lovely Bathroom with shower over bath - but had all the amenities of the Superior Room. The breakfast was excellent great choices. I did not eat in the Restaurants - but had drinks in the bar. Staff were very polite and friendly, all requests for assistance with luggage etc were dealt with promptly and efficiently. I shall be returning to the area again later in the year and will stay again, cannot rate this Hotel high enough. Next time hope to have more time to enjoy the Spa.

Room Tip: Worth the Upgrade to Superior Room if you are a Couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoMo512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear MoMo512,

On behalf of the entire Felbridge team I would like to thank you for posting this top class review and writing such a good comments about the hotel and facilities

I am very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time here at the hotel on 2 consecutive weekends.

It will be my pleasure to share your comments with all the team members

We will look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We're still here and were so impressed we thought it deserved a review. Lovely grounds, nice spa area and a pleasant room with a GREAT shower.

We've stayed in much more expensive places but this place is working for us - very chilled right now :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moh2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a nice review on the hotel and I was pleased to read that you found the hotel as a great place to stay and relax.

We hope to welcoming you back again at the Felbridge hotel & spa

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
2.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Address: London Road, East Grinstead RH19 2BH, England (Formerly Felbridge Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 10 miles from Gatwick Airport, the newly refurbished Crowne Plaza Felbridge is a convenient base for business and leisure, within easy access of the M25 and M23. The location of this stylish hotel, makes an ideally placed meeting and conference destination. The Crowne Plaza Felbridge is the perfect location for training, seminars, product launches, annual conferences, boardroom meetings, interviews, teambuilding and brainstorming events as well as small exhibitions. All the meeting rooms offer everything you would expect from a luxurious and contemporary hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will appreciate the excellent range of facilities at the Crowne Plaza Felbridge hotel, with its 116 bedrooms including accessible and family room availability and 8 purpose built meeting rooms. The hotel is conveniently located close to local attractions including the Bluebell Railway, Ashdown Forest, Tullys Farm, Lingfield Race Course, Chartwell House (home of Winston Churchill) and within 15 minutes of Gatwick Airport with direct links to London. It also boasts The Chakra Spa and Health Club which includes 5 treatment rooms, gym and leisure facilities. For eating and drinking, the Crowne Plaza Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting international-style dishes - as well as some hearty British favourites. We offer 24-hour room service that will tingle your taste buds with locally sourced produce. With state-of-the-art AV systems, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, free on-site parking, the luxurious Chakra Spa and Fitness Centre and delicious catering options, The Crowne Plaza Felbridge will be equipped to provide you with a seamless experience - setting you up for a productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead
Felbridge East Grinstead
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing