We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst nights sleep I've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst nights sleep I've ever had”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and thought it was great so didn't hesitate to book again when we had a very early flight out of Gatwick and needed to be up at 3am. The rooms are small but modern and well equipped. Ours stunk of cigarettes the moment we turned the air con off. We were in room 124 and the sound proofing was awful. There were several parties going on and I think I heard every single drunk person making their way back to their room, it was just so noisy. At one point people were having running races up and down the corridor! The room above had a squeaky floor so when they went to bed around 2am we heard every moment. Despite going to bed at 11, I think I managed about an hours sleep - defeats the point of booking really.
Overall our experience seems to reflect what's on trip advisor - one great and one awful stay. Don't think we'd stay again. The food in the bay tree was good hence I gave it 2 stars rather than 1. When we checked out we weren't asked about our stay otherwise I would have said how awful it had been.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review on the hotel. It is always beneficial to receive feedback from our guests and I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was disappointing due to excessive noise being made by other hotel guests. Anticipating the hotel being busy with events on the evening we did allocate you a room away from function room however I can only apologies that some guests were noisy in corridor when returning to their bedrooms. We have also recently increased the number of signs around the hotel corridors asking guests be more considerate when retiring to bed.

I will remind the reception staff that they must ask guests regarding their stay because it’s extremely important to receive the feedback whether it’s positive or negative as it gives us an opportunity to make further improvements on our products and service.
I am confident that you will receive a relaxing stay in the future and the high standards of service which we are normally associated with. I would appreciate if you contact me directly for any future bookings which I will be happy to assist you.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    419
    225
    111
    75
See reviews for
130
609
27
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked this hotel on a deal, then rang them and upgraded my room they were very helpful. On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, we noticed that there was a wedding reception at the hotel and both my husband and I thought great this is going to be noisy but we heard no noise at all. Our room was lovely and the grounds were very nice to sit and have a drink. We only had breakfast at the hotel and have to say the food and service were great. Very happy with our overnight deal and would go back. Well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiewestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing this first class review on the hotel and I was pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. Your comments on our staff members and hotel facilities are very kind and it was a pleasure sharing your comments with all hotel team members.

We hope to welcoming you back in near future and I would like to recommend you to dine in Batytree or Anise restaurant on your next visit as excellent food and drinks are our strength too.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself & my significant other stayed here for a night before we jetted off to Cape Verde in October 2013. This is a beautiful hotel with friendly staff and it started our holiday off witha little taste of what was to come.
The rooms were so clean, without being clinical, the staff all friendly, the locality to LGW--spot on. The beds were a problem to me I have to say, but in a nice way. Normally when I wake up, that's it, I am like tigger (bouncing around), however, The down matress topper was so comfy that I fell back into the bed & fell asleep again. I was so impressed that I purchased one when we got back.
I cannot thank The Felbridge enough for such a pleasant evening and am looking forward to using their services again this October on out next venture to Cape Verde. Dee Stringer x

Room Tip: All floors are good--we chose the ground floor as we are smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Dee S,

I am highly pleased to read that you loved your stay here at the Felbridge just before heading to your holiday to Cape Verde and I hope that you had a great holiday.

Your comments about hotel facilities are very kind and it was pleasure reading that bed was so comfortable to make you sleep again in morning.

I am glad that you will be visiting us again in October and we will look forward in welcoming you back. Should like any assistance in booking your room, please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist you with your booking

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I visited with six friends for a spa package. It was superb. The grounds were beautiful, spa and treatments fantastic & restaurant lovely too. The rooms were clean and spacious. The only slight gripe was the added service charge at our evening meal. I would definitely return though, as would we all! Thank you!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LallySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you and all your friends had a nice and enjoyable time at the hotel.

Service charge is always on guest's discretion and this can be removed from the bill by just asking a staff members.

I would like to thank you for placing this review on trip advisor and we hope to see you again at the hotel.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the end of May over night it was a groupon deal. It was a nice hotel the staff were all lovely except for one barman who seemed to be offended because we hadn't booked an afternoon tea in advance (can't remember it being mentioned on the website) can't comment on the afternoon tea as it wasn't available apparently. Loved the elemis products in the room! Clean hotel, nice breakfast too.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jewels1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time in posting this good review for the hotel. I am pleased that you were happy with overall experience at the hotel and that you had an excellent time.

Although we recommend to book the afternoon tea in advance but serving small groups without having booking has never been a problem and I have spoken to the bar to correct this in future.

We hope to welcoming you back again at the hotel.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We made a very last minute booking for a one night stay at the Felbridge Hotel and were given a slightly cheaper rate than advertised, so didn't feel we could complain when we found our bathroom was adapted for disabled use. Although not disabled myself, I do work with disabled people and was very impressed by the disabled facilities around the hotel generally. But one problem with our bathroom was that there was no shelf or anywhere to put our toiletries. Also I understand that the washbasin needs to be low, so it can be accessed by a wheelchair user, but it makes it a bit awkward for tall people, like my husband. Our room, however, was absolutely fine - standard hotel style, with fluffy bathrobes and slippers in the cupboard and tea/coffee making facilities. We had a quick look around the gardens, which looked quite pleasant, but didn't use the spa facilities. What really impressed us though was the dinner, which we were expecting to be rather average, judging by the appearance of the hotel, but the food was really top class, and the waiting staff were very attentive and pleasant. Unfortunately the breakfast could only be described as average, which was rather disappointing after the excellent meal the previous evening. Couldn't fault the staff though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulaEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing this good review on the hotel.

Firstly the disabled rooms will be only allocated to guests who needs accessible rooms however as these rooms are also of the same standards we do use them for all our guests especially on more busy days.I am glad that you were impressed with the facilities available and the standards of the room.

Its so nice reading that you were highly impressed with the standard of the food and your kind comments has been shared with the food and beverage team at the hotel.

We hope to see you again at the hotel in not too distant future

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chingford London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I did a one night stay here as we were flying the next day. We stayed on the 10th June 2014. It is a very pleasant hotel with a spa included. Guests are allowed to use the swimming pool part of the spa.

We were in a standard room at first, but our air conditioning was making a noise so we were transferred to a deluxe room, but both rooms were clean, well furnished, and the beds extremely comfortable with clean linen. The move was no problem at all with the staff.

The bathroom had a lovely shower and was stocked with Elemis toiletries and lovely fluffy towels. Bathrobes and slippers were supplied.

The room was air conditioned, there was a free safe and in some rooms a small fridge. Tea and coffee facilities with biscuits are in the room. Also in the room is an iron and ironing board.

The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the reception has a nice reading area.

A shopping centre with restaurants etc is within easy reach.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for one night, but would be prepared to stay even longer.

Free WiFi throughout.

There is a laundry service but obviously for a one night stay we did not use it.

This hotel has everything you need to make a pleasant stay and we would definitely use it again.

An added bonus to these rooms are the sockets and mirrors are in the right place to enable women to use their hair appliances and dryers. A hairdryer is supplied. More hotels need to take note of this in my opinion.

There is a restaurant for breakfast and dinner but we never sampled it.


Breakfast and dinner are available but at a price.

Ample parking spaces.

Room Tip: A deluxe room is probably better if available as bigger than standard, but standard rooms are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresamcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and putting this elaborate review on the hotel.

Its a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel and you loved all our facilities.

I am glad that when you reported the noise from Aircon it was resolved immediately by the staff members.

We hope to welcoming you back to hotel in near future.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
2.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
10.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Address: London Road, East Grinstead RH19 2BH, England (Formerly Felbridge Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 10 miles from Gatwick Airport, the newly refurbished Crowne Plaza Felbridge is a convenient base for business and leisure, within easy access of the M25 and M23. The location of this stylish hotel, makes an ideally placed meeting and conference destination. The Crowne Plaza Felbridge is the perfect location for training, seminars, product launches, annual conferences, boardroom meetings, interviews, teambuilding and brainstorming events as well as small exhibitions. All the meeting rooms offer everything you would expect from a luxurious and contemporary hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will appreciate the excellent range of facilities at the Crowne Plaza Felbridge hotel, with its 116 bedrooms including accessible and family room availability and 8 purpose built meeting rooms. The hotel is conveniently located close to local attractions including the Bluebell Railway, Ashdown Forest, Tullys Farm, Lingfield Race Course, Chartwell House (home of Winston Churchill) and within 15 minutes of Gatwick Airport with direct links to London. It also boasts The Chakra Spa and Health Club which includes 5 treatment rooms, gym and leisure facilities. For eating and drinking, the Crowne Plaza Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting international-style dishes - as well as some hearty British favourites. We offer 24-hour room service that will tingle your taste buds with locally sourced produce. With state-of-the-art AV systems, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, free on-site parking, the luxurious Chakra Spa and Fitness Centre and delicious catering options, The Crowne Plaza Felbridge will be equipped to provide you with a seamless experience - setting you up for a productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead
Felbridge East Grinstead
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing