We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEDDING AND RECEPTION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WEDDING AND RECEPTION”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

we attended a wedding on saturday the 8th, service as good as it gets ding experience great, area provided spotlessly clean service by very young staff was spot on,wddin area could done a microphone, had a great time in pleasant surroundings

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2950proline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this top class review following attending the wedding at the hotel. We are pleased that you were highly impressed with food and service and you found all areas spotlessly clean.

We will look forward to see you again in not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    436
    233
    117
    85
See reviews for
140
636
30
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hi,

I recently stayed at the Felbridge Hotel and Spa. Let me first say that overall it was not a bad experience. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was fairly well appointed. However, it is definitely not deserving of a 4 star rating.

The negative points were as follows:

- The Wifi is very slow indeed, when attempting to pay for and connect to the 'super-fast' broadband (extra charge) the system did not work.
- Reception staff were low on energy and, whilst not unfriendly, did not make much of an effort.
- During my 2 day stay, the lights in the bathroom stopped working.
- The television was often unresponsive and wasn't tuned into a number of the normal channels properly (Channel 4, ITV etc).
- The remote control didn't work at all
- The telephone system didn't work properly despite there being two telephones in the room (neither of them worked!)
- A number of the desk lamps had spiders living inside them (shows that they haven't been cleaned for a while
- The room we were given was very far from the reception
- One of the room cards wasn't working as it hadn't been activated properly
- The seats inside the room had not been properly dusted down

The biggest disappointment was that the advertised opening times for the pool and sauna were not adhered to. We got kicked out at 8:30 despite the pool being advertised as closing at 9pm.

Additionally, this hotel is not cheap - in fact, it is overpriced. I recently stayed at a five star hotel and some items were much cheaper.For example, a £3.50 room service charge is applied to everything despite quantity or value.

However, on the positive side:

- Our room was very quiet and peaceful
- The bed was clean and comfortable
- Bar staff were friendly and room service was prompt and efficient
- Air conditioning was good and effective
- Food, whilst not 4 star, was tasty and hot
- Drinks and cocktails were also well mixed

All in all, an average to good 3 star experience, but certainly not deserving of a 4 star rating.

Jordan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was easy to find with ample parking although getting on to the road outside was a challenge as it was so busy. The hotel is air conditioned so the unseasonably hot weather was not a problem. However the room was so small we could not put 2 standard sized suit cases on the floor and there was not enough room for a stand for suit cases. It was a case of piling a case on a case just to be able to move around the room to get either to the bathroom or out the door.

Sitting outside which was nice because of the weather put you into the middle of people taking time out from the spar not an ideal situation and on the second day there was a wedding held in the hotel and this put wedding guests among spa goers again not ideal.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and the portion size was small to say the least. We decided against a starter to allow us to have dessert, we need not have bothered! I had rib of lamb. This consisted of 2 ribs, each rib having a piece of meat on about 1 inch by 1 inch, one small new potato cut in half and placed each end of my plate and three pieces of asparagus.

My wife had Dover Sole, this consisted of about 4 tiny pieces of fish stood on end and not much else. It all looked lovely if it was for photographing but not sufficient to keep the average person fed. The waiter appeared just after we had been served to check on things and was surprised by our empty plates. He remarked "You have finished already" I resisted saying with so little on our plates how long did he think it would take to eat. Dessert was a similar story. We did have a nice bottle of wine but of course with so little food in evidence the effects were somewhat more pronounced than one expects at a meal. We ate out the rest of the time, the Crown at Horsted Keynes was far better all round outstanding food and a decent quantity. I will do a review of that too.

Breakfast was OK but the service was very slow and a number of the staff seemed unable to understand basic English.

Overall not a Hotel to recommend, and would we stay there next year when we visit definitely not.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the back rather than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggrant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comprehensive review.

I am sorry that the size of the room was smaller than you have expected but you booked one of our standard double room which are smaller in size but are comfortable and well furnished which our competitive prices reflect this. We clearly advertise the room sizes on our website which are approximately 13 sqm and our superior and suite rooms carry an additional supplement but are more spacious and have enhanced touches and facilities.

Also I am sorry if you felt that the portion size of the main courses served in our Anise Restaurant were smaller than you expected. Anise is our fine dining restaurant which focuses on the high standards and quality of food where our chefs use the best of ingredients to create a high quality of food which has been recognized by the AA with 2 AA Rosettes an accolade we have held for seven years. Your comments though have been shared with our Head Chef to review the portion size. As you said though it was quickly finished I hope you and your wife were happy with the food quality and found it delicious.

I hope you will considering returning again one day.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My daughters wedding took place at the hotel last Saturday. Two years planning, with the help of their wedding co-ordinator. Guests received discounted rates, including full use of pool and spa for their weekend stay. Rooms were lovely, particularly family rooms, my daughters pre wedding night room and the honeymoon suite was amazing. Breakfast was included for our 2 night stay, even had a private breakfast the day after the wedding. The wedding breakfast itself was the business. The staff work hard to ensure your stay is the best it can be. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Whilst it is pricey, at the end of the day you get what you pay for. My daughter and son in law were assured of the best possible experience for their 'special' day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Veronica C

We are delighted to receive this review and we are highly pleased that your daughter's wedding was a great success and Bride-Groom and all guests had a fabulous time here at the hotel.

I am glad that everything went perfectly well and your positive comments has indeed given us much more positive energy to continue the good work.

It was a pleasure to share your feedback with all the hotel team members and they would like to thank you too.

We will look forward in welcoming you back in near future and our best wishes for the newly married couple

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2/8/14 - professionally run, pleasant, polite staff, clean room, lovely spa facilities and restaurants, comfortable and quiet room, will defiantly be returning, a lovely relaxing break. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing the good comments on the hotel and I was pleased to read that you had a nice stay.

We hope to see welcoming you back at the hotel.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed Saturday, very busy but efficiently run by pleasant and welcoming staff. A few loud, inconsiderate clients returning in the early hours. Bit of a trek to some of the rooms but these are quiet ones. Breakfast was good, everything constantly replenished and proper scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yegodsandlittlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this lovely review on the hotel following your recent stay.

I was very pleased to read that you found all the staff very welcoming and helpful and wonderful hearing back that you really enjoyed the breakfast.

It will be my pleasure to share your comments with team members.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Seton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have stayed here on several occasions, purely for work purposes. Front of house are friendly and polite, the rooms are clean and tidy although the air con, was noisy and could hardly sleep, but maybe the warm weather didn't help. I feel the bar and meal prices are a bit steep. ( Have stayed in better places and food choice was better and cheaper).the staff were excellent though. I disagree about having to leave card details as you check in, it maybe only £5.00 holding charge however if you have a debit card, the money comes off your account and is not returned upon checking out. I'm actually still waiting 5 days later. Overall it fulfills my needs but I wouldn't stay if on a private break.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalkyPortSeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to read that you regularly stay in the hotel for business purposes and it is good to read your positive comments on staff members and cleanliness.

I am sorry if you felt that our bar and meal prices are too expensive but please rest assured that we are comparable in all our pricing against other 4 star hotels in the area.

It’s important for the hotel to take pre-authorisation of a card due to the security reasons and also this confirms the authenticity of the guests. £5 preauthorization of debit card normally takes 3 to 5 working days to get back to the account but with some banks it may take bit longer than that. This is normal practice in hotels.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
2.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
5.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Address: London Road, East Grinstead RH19 2BH, England (Formerly Felbridge Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 10 miles from Gatwick Airport, the newly refurbished Crowne Plaza Felbridge is a convenient base for business and leisure, within easy access of the M25 and M23. The location of this stylish hotel, makes an ideally placed meeting and conference destination. The Crowne Plaza Felbridge is the perfect location for training, seminars, product launches, annual conferences, boardroom meetings, interviews, teambuilding and brainstorming events as well as small exhibitions. All the meeting rooms offer everything you would expect from a luxurious and contemporary hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will appreciate the excellent range of facilities at the Crowne Plaza Felbridge hotel, with its 116 bedrooms including accessible and family room availability and 8 purpose built meeting rooms. The hotel is conveniently located close to local attractions including the Bluebell Railway, Ashdown Forest, Tullys Farm, Lingfield Race Course, Chartwell House (home of Winston Churchill) and within 15 minutes of Gatwick Airport with direct links to London. It also boasts The Chakra Spa and Health Club which includes 5 treatment rooms, gym and leisure facilities. For eating and drinking, the Crowne Plaza Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting international-style dishes - as well as some hearty British favourites. We offer 24-hour room service that will tingle your taste buds with locally sourced produce. With state-of-the-art AV systems, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, free on-site parking, the luxurious Chakra Spa and Fitness Centre and delicious catering options, The Crowne Plaza Felbridge will be equipped to provide you with a seamless experience - setting you up for a productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead
Felbridge East Grinstead
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing