We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just got Married here - excellent!! Perfect Wedding Venue...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just got Married here - excellent!! Perfect Wedding Venue...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had four months to plan a wedding and came across Alexander House. What first attracted my husband & I were the surroundings perfect for stunning pictures, quirky & also a spa for the following day.

Rebecca (based at the hotel - our Wedding coordinator) was really great. As you can imagine planning a wedding can become quite stressful & she helped every step of the way. Nothing was too much trouble for her and the venue down to the last detail. On the day of the wedding we did not have to do anything and Alexander organised everything.

The service was amazing from the moment we arrived on the morning of the wedding to get ready until the end of the night. Myself, mum and sisters got ready at the venue on the morning of the wedding and I would really suggest that if you want a civil ceremony Alexander House is the place.

The food was amazing and all of our guests said it was the best wedding food that they have ever tasted. The chef was also very accommodating when we started planning the food for the menu. The food was served silver service and portions sizes very generous, tasty and served warm as food should be. 5* food for the Wedding breakfast.

Kris our host master was just perfect too - he made sure that the day and evening ran smoothly right until the end of the night.

So thanks so much to Rebecca & Kris for all of your help.

The honey moon sweet was just stunning and massive - we just wish that we could have stayed longer.

If you are thinking of Alexander House for your Wedding seriously consider it as it was just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Androulla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    373
    198
    68
    47
See reviews for
181
1,132
43
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My boyfriend booked this spa break at Alexander House as a surprise for my birthday and from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. We entered the hotel and were looked after immediately, (a member of staff called Sinclair provided outstanding customer service throughout), check in was straight forward and we were given a tour of the hotel and given lots of useful information, then shown to our room, it was decorated beautifully and the bathroom was so spacious and stunning. We spent the afternoon in the spa, our favourite part was the outdoor hot-tub, it was gorgeous, surrounded by well kept gardens, we had it to ourselves most of the time. The pool was nice, as was the indoor jacuzzi and hydro pool, but they weren't overly comfortable to sit in so we didn't use them much. The sauna and steam room were in the changing rooms so I couldn't go into these with my boyfriend which was a shame, its not the same when you use it on your own. We had dinner in the reflections restaurant, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was utterly gorgeous. Being vegetarian I was worried there wouldn't be anything I liked but I had a delicious risotto so I was happy. There was a wedding at the hotel the day we were there and some of the guests came across to the champagne bar we were drinking in and it was a little crowded and loud but ok. We went up to bed and the only disappointing thing was that the fire alarm went off 4 times, which woke us up each time and frightened the living daylights out of us! We called down and apparently there was a fault with it. Not much they could have done but it was quite annoying. Breakfast was lovely, a wide choice of continental and traditional to choose from. There was a letter on our table apologising for the fire alarm going off which was appreciated, although maybe a little something extra would have been nice. We spent the rest of the morning in the spa again and the finished up with a lovely afternoon tea. The food was gorgeous, and they catered for my dietry requirements with no problem at all. All in all we had a fantastic and relaxing stay here, we would definately go back and definately recommend to people wanting a relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MISSLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed as part of wedding party. Checking in was easy and Porter Paul so helpful. Room was in Old House Section but had monster bathroom and double shower. (if only we were younger!) bed as supreme and comfortable, beds turned down and curtains drawn for us. Spotless housekeeping. Public areas worked well best being the lounge for tea and a super terrace plus of course the secret garden.

Food at wedding was simply superb, service exceptional and believe me nothing was left aside for our comfort and enjoyment.

The waiting and service staff were ever so kind and we thank them all.

Our checkout was easy and frankly we had the most happy and delightful stay.

We took lunch there before the event too and that was simply delicious.

We sat Well Done everyone at Alexander House. The Spa we did not get to see or use.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LittlePlum&BigPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great value, service, food, everything. Didn't use Spa though. Thouroughly recommended. Hard to beat. There are other very good hotels nearby but this competes very well. Close to gatwick airport as well (15 mins drive) if you need it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontripman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Being pregnant I needed a pamper getaway. So I booked the overnight package spa. Beautiful venue beautiful surroundings really really clean and tidy excellent decor. The food is absolutely amazing. Worth every penny you won't be let down. We had three treatments in the spa facial 25 minutes Half hour massage and then an hour and a half's massage the next day and all were absolutely amazing. Would like to have had more time spent to look around the grounds of the property unfortunately had to get away. Lovely treat

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank den1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Monday/Tuesday on the "Royal Retreat" package. This was an especially precious treat as it was our anniversary and also the first time we had been away since the birth of our Daughter. We were looking for some rest and relaxation to recharge after a mad few months.
This hotel delivered on all fronts. After a gruelling drive to the hotel on what seemed like the hottest day of the year- we were greeted at the reception by friendly staff who had advised that we had been upgraded to a junior suite from the standard double we were booked into. The suite we stayed in (Elm) was beautful; well presented, quiet with a large well appointed bathroom. In addition, the room overlooked the outdoor hot tub and landscaped gardens. The bed was huge and comfortable and we slept very well although I'm sure that had something to do with the general
Exhaustion that comes with being a new Parent!! The only downside was that given the heat of the day there was no air conditioning built in to the rooms- there was a portable air conditioner which did little to cool the room. If I were to change one thing about the room it would be this...
We had also called ahead to the spa to advise that we were running late due to the lovely M25 and were likely to be late for our pre booked treatments. Not only were out treatments sorted and rebooked for when we got there but they were able to fit us in roughy at the same time so we weren't waiting for each other to finish. In terms of the treatments I would say they were expensive but worth it. I have been to a number of spas over the years and this one definitely is up there in terms of delivering what I wanted. The only thing I would say about he facial I had (drenched and quenched facial) was that it was meant to be 85 mins but felt more like 40-45mins as there were long periods of time where the therapist applied a mask/scrub/gel etc and then waited 5-15 minutes to let it work. In these parts it would have been nicer if the therapist did something else instead of leaving everything alone as there were times I thought she had left the room as nothing happened for so long! The actual spa area was gorgeous- lovely pools with differing uses as well as steam room and sauna. A real haven for tired and weary souls.
Quick note about the restaurants-we ate in the brasserie as grill isn't open on some days - food was good but very over priced. When we go back I would probably go to one of the local pubs for dinner.

All in all this was a well deserved break that recharged our batteries and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have just spent a mid-week break in Alexander House and it was like staying in a palace. It is definitely high end luxury hotel and as it was a special occasion we booked a Junior Suite - Elm - and enjoyed the wonderful double bath with great views of the grounds and the outdoor hot tub.
Breakfast is served until 10.30 and it was fresh, lots of choice and very relaxed with some guests eating in their fluffy dressing gowns.
Although the weather was raining we sat in the outdoor hot tub and it was beautiful way to spend an evening. The indoor spa and pool are also wonderful with large comfy loungers and magazines available to help you relax.
The only thing that we queried was the lack of an I=pod docking station in our room so we had to ask reception for some DVDs to play.
Plus if you want fresh milk for your morning filter coffee you have to ask for room service to bring it.. Shame as this spoilt our relaxing lie in...
However a great cheeky one night away from the hustle and bustle

Room Tip: a junior suite in the 'new' part of the hotel overlooking the outdoor hot-tub and grounds is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveOaksFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
1.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
2.5 mi away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
24.2 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Property: Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Address: East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Lastminute so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing