We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spa and hotel facilities, beautiful scenic place, food average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Spa and hotel facilities, beautiful scenic place, food average”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I spent a day with my wife on this Spa and Hotel, it makes a very relaxing place for couples wanting a day out, pampering, sport, catch up with a book etc...without children. It is not cheap but they offer affordable packages. The only let down for us was the food, correct and decent but never close to the price tag, a bit unimagintive and far too simple. If you are a captive customer and have no choice but to pay the 5 star tag of the hotel, at the very least you want the food experience to deliver accordingly. We left with a bitter sweet taste but would recommend for the facilities for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Juanlo,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the warm welcome from our reception team and that you enjoyed our Spa experience.
I am however, very sorry to hear that you found our Restaurant menus were not to your taste. We are very keen to receive feedback on our food and generally only receive good feedback on the choice on offer between our two restaurants.
Thank you once again for providing feedback and I do hope you will revisit us, giving us a chance to change your opinion of the Alexander House Hotel.
Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    389
    215
    77
    52
See reviews for
205
1,217
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

After a few hectic weeks my boyfriend and I decided that we need some "us time" as Alexander House wasnt far from us we decided this would be the perfect venue. Although is was busy (as it was good friday) we still had a fabulous time. We booked via lastminute and we did not feel as tho we received an inferior product as well. We treated ourselves to dinner in AG's Grill and it was 5 star, well worth the money. We decided not to have any treatments as they were not included in the price, however the spa facilities were fantastic and we did not feel we missed out at all. We had breakfast included and the choice of items with this was superb. The service form all the staff from start to finish was first class, in particular in AG's where it felt as tho we had our own waiter. We cant wait to go back again and may even treat ourselves to an upgraded room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Winchester which was lovely however not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Gemma U,

Thank you very much for posting such delightful comments of our hotel; particularly our dinner services in AG`s restaurant . I will be sharing your thoughts with our Restaurant team
Look forward to welcoming you back to Alexander House Hotel in the future.
Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a lovely time, amazing spa facilities and treatments!the location is lovely! The outside hot tub was brilliant especially as the weather was so nice. The staff are very polite and offer an excellent service. Breakfast in bed was a bonus too :) would definitely recommend and stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloestaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Chloestaples,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experiences in our hotel and posting such delightful comments about Alexander House.
We are glad you liked your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back to Alexander House Hotel in the future.
Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Booked this as a special treat for a special lady, and was delighted to find a half price deal on B&B and Spa. The Spa was lovely. The welcome in the car park was impressive and made me feel like a million dollars and wish i'd cleaned my car. The Receptionist and porter excellent. The grounds lovely. The request for a top floor room with a view was granted - as was the champagne bucket and ice. Yew was nice, quiet, but far too small for the size of bed - you could barely walk around it. The bathroom on the other hand was big and excellent (twin basins is such a good touch).

But sadly there are some buts..... One of our two massages was really rather poor and 'wishy-washy'. Perhaps the girl was new, but for the price (nearly twice what you'd normally pay in an 'ordinary' spa) I would have expected much, much better. The breakfast was ok (once we got what we'd asked for), but to charge an extra £3 for eggs benedict with salmon is really rather disappointing. And while the staff were generally outstanding, two of the breakfast staff were frankly sullen, disinterested, and had forgotten how to smile. In a prestigious hotel like that you want to see the staff enjoying themselves, and doing a good, professional job. This was nearly the amazing treat of an experience I hoped it would be, but not quite, and with some disappointingly rough edges. Consistency is important, and I think should rightly be expected somewhere like this.

Room Tip: 'Yew' on the third floor in the new section above the Spa was quiet, and had a lovely bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear James N,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the warm welcome from our Concierge team and that you enjoyed the Yew room itself.
I am so sorry to read that our Utopia Spa and the massages did not meet your expectations.
I was really happy to read how much you enjoyed your the room itself and the great care from all the Alexander House Hotel Team
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with this very helpful review
Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Had an absolutely wonderful two days here strolling the grounds (which were practically deserted), feeding the swans, lounging in the outside hot-tub... The staff were very helpful and chatty, and even though we were on a Secret Escapes deal we were treated like royalty. Would definitely recommend it for a romantic escape or just a relaxing girls' spa day - well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess31161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Jess31161,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. Your review will most definitely encourage us to continue to strive for superior customer service.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Hopefully you will get the chance to join us for summer break which are on sale now.
We look forward to welcoming both of you back in our Hotel.
Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I treated my daughter and I to a spa break at this beautiful hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to feel pampered and relaxed. The hotel is beautiful, the staff most welcoming and our room was lovely, with a view over the outdoor jacuzzi and spa gardens. Our spa treatments were divine! The one night break was not cheap, but the standards of the accommodation, food and service were so high that we felt we had value for money. We are saving up to go again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJaxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear MrsJaxL,
Thank you for your lovely review and joining us with your daughter.
I was also pleased to read how much you enjoyed our Spa itself and the great care from all the Alexander House Hotel Team
The team I and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Very Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Spent 2 nights at Alexander house hotel, it really is 5* all the way! A little pricey, but you really get 5* treatment.
The food in AGs and Reflections restaurants is outstanding, including full English breakfast.
Our room was spacious and comfortable, a classic room (Dorchester) was in the original building.
The staff were polite, went out of their way to help and are a real asset to the hotel, our waitress was first class.
We had a spa day and I have to say my full massage and my facial were the best I've had. The spa is clean, relaxing and everything you could ask for from a spa. With quite rooms, an indoor and outdoor jacuzzi, a treatment (salt) spa and a large pool, individual saunas and steam rooms in the ladies and gents changing rooms, towels, slippers and dressing gowns were provided as part of spa package (even got to keep dressing gown).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Suzie31

Thank you for your kind feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your breakfast and dinner in our Reflection and AG`s restaurants highlighting such "outstanding service"
I hope you will have the time to pamper yourself with the Afternoon Tea in South Drawing room or in the terrace upon your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
10.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,604 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
24.1 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Property: Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Address: East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing