We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a touch of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a touch of luxury”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Myself and husband were booked a night here as a surprise for our wedding night and we returned again for our 4th wedding anniversary last year. We have had a glorious time on both occasions, the spa and indoor pool is amazing and you really can just unwind. The outdoor hot tub is a real treat especially on a crisp day with a glass of champagne in hand. Food is well presented and very 5☆ and the rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated.
We would recommended this hotel to anyone, especially as a weekend retreat. You will leave feeling completely relaxed and wanting to book your next time away at the Alexander House Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but I personally preferred our room in the older part of the hotel over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear NDS26,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on your recent stay with us. It was so pleasing to read that you thought our,rooms were amazing our food was good and our team made you feel most welcome.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Alexander House Hotel

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    383
    209
    72
    51
See reviews for
198
1,190
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stansted
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here 31/1 with a friend and we had a lovely night away. The spa is nice, not great, but well run. would have been nice to have steam/sauna in the spa and not in the changing rooms. Jacuzzi outside was luke warm - but it was rainy on the day. The new part of the hotel that we stayed in was nice, although rain did mean lots of buckets everywhere! The restaurant was lovely. I am on a limited diet (allergies) so would have been nice to see more for this and a lot more 'healthy' options. including snacks. Breakfast was again very good, although we didn't get any toast! I would stay again but it would have to be at a v good price!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear carlyp123

On behalf of our whole team, thank you for this TripAdvisor review posted after your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the service, your room, the bar, the spa and especially that you had the opportunity to dine with us.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back again.

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband recently surprised me with an overnight stay at Alexander House with a spa, treatment, dinner and breakfast included in the deal. It is a lovely location although the weather was so terrible we didn't explore the grounds much. The staff throughout our stay were excellent - reception, spa and in the restaurant. Our room was lovely although really cold when we got there and it took quite a awhile for it to warm up - the heater was quite old and very noisy. It was a lovely big bathroom with a free standing bath and a big separate shower cubicle and double sinks. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had dinner in AG's restaurant the night we stayed and both the food and staff were excellent. We enjoyed the use of the spa in the afternoon which had a 3 different pools as well as a hot tub outside which we didn't use. Breakfast in the brasserie was also good with a good selection of fruits and cereals as well as hot breakfasts to order. The reasons I have given 4 stars instead of 5 are
1) our spa treatments started 10mins late but still finished at the same time because they realised we had booked to have it together in a couples room so had to find the other therapist.
2) they charged £11 to have a newspaper and a pot of tea brought to the room. The restauarant meal was not cheap but considering the quality and service we were more than happy to pay for it but £11 for a pot of tea, 2 cups and a newspaper just seemed a bit like daylight robbery.
All in all we would visit again with the knowledge that the little extras will probably cost you more than you think.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonwantok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear londonwantok,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us. Your review will most definitely encourage us to continue to strive for superior customer service.

I am however, very sorry to hear that you found our morning beverages and newspaper too expensive and for the delay you experienced in our spa.
Thank you once again for providing feedback and I do hope you will revisit us again soon.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We regularly take a short spa break and thought we would try this hotel for a change as it looked beautiful on the website. Unfortunately first impressions were not quite so great as upon entering the grounds you are first met by building works (they are building 19 new suites). We could park outside the main doors but it would have been nice to be met and have our luggage taken from the car. Reception was prompt and friendly and we were given a tour before being taken to our room. Our suite was just beautiful and extremely comfortable. The champagne bar has been delightfully refurbished and we had a lovely lunch along with a bottle of champagne before visiting the spa. The changing rooms were rather tight with very little room for actually changing and it also housed the sauna and steam room. As we were there as a couple it was a shame that we could not use the same facilities as it meant either not using them or going in alone. The main pool area is attractive but the hydro pool in the corner was too cold to use and the outdoor hot tub only stayed on for about 2 minutes and quite quickly just became too irritating. The main hydro pool had two great power jets and some Jacuzzi areas but half of them were not working which meant that there were always people waiting to use the working areas which made it rather less relaxing when you were in them. The treatment rooms were lovely and the staff were very helpful and professional.
We had hoped to have the tasting menu in the main restaurant but unfortunately it was closed for a private function on the evening of our stay so we ate in the Reflections restaurant. The food was nicely presented but nothing exceptional.
We had a wonderful sleep in the extremely comfortable bed and then breakfast in our room in the morning which was very pleasant.
Overall we had a lovely night away and every staff member we met whilst there was incredibly polite and helpful but the spa was rather disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Suzanne D

Thank you for your comments.
I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed Utopia Spa. We put a lot into offering our undivided attention to all of our guests
I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the warm welcome and service you received from our Concierge team.
I am so sorry to read that you could not try our tasting menu due to private function in the hotel.
Once again I would like to thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and sincerely hope you will revisit us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Had a lovely stay here. Staff were very friendly and knowledgable. Food was amazing and very well presented. Well worth every penny. Had a relaxing time at the spa. Just what I needed to rejuvenate and recharge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Louise L

Thank you for your comments.
I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Alexander House Hotel.
We put a lot into offering our undivided attention to all of our guests. Your review will most definitely encourage us to continue to strive for superior customer service. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

For my wife's birthday,we thought that we would try afternoon tea at Alexander House.We have driven past their front door dozens of times and never ventured inside,until now.
We booked in advance and were shown to a shaded table on the patio.The tea,sandwiches and cakes were wonderful,and very fresh.Nothing was too much trouble for the very attentive staff.
We walked around the lovely garden/grounds,which was essential to burn off some calories.
Exploring the hotel to use the toilets,we thought that it would be very nice to stay there as a hotel guest - Maybe next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John190949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear John190949,

Thank you for joining us for afternoon tea and choosing Alexander House to celebrate your wife’s birthday
I am very pleased to read that you have had a fabulous Afternoon Tea here with us in our South Drawing room overlooking our lovely gardens
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

best wishes,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I took my mum here for her 60th birthday surprise, it was excellent! The staff were brilliant and very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel and spa to anyone looking for a special relaxing break.

Room Tip: We had a luxury king room and our friends has a standard room, the only difference was the size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica123 G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Jessica123 G
,
Happy Birthday to your Mum once again.
Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We put a lot into offering our undivided attention to all of our guests.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
10.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,585 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,250 reviews
24.1 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Property: Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Address: East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing