We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day Afternoon Tea.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Afternoon Tea.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My daughter took me out for a surprise afternoon tea at Alexander House. The service was excellent and the tea was delicious. Totally recommend it for a special afternoon out with someone special. I will have to take my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Linda R,

Thank you for joining us for Afternoon tea and for your subsequent review.
I am very pleased to read that you have had a fabulous time here with us.
I very much hope you will be returning to us very soon for another afternoon tea.

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    397
    219
    80
    54
See reviews for
207
1,238
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

i thought the hotel was great the service second to none and the food fabulous i enjoyed the spa it was a treat and my room was a delight I really shall be back on getting the breakfast i never thought of the style until i got it very well presented

Room Tip: higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mono254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mono254,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us.
We work hard to create and deliver exceptional experiences for our guests.
Your review will most definitely encourage us to continue to strive for superior customer service.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

So, every year my wife heads to the Alexander with a friend. This year was meant to be no different, but a last minute change of plan meant we went together.

It was a treat from the outset, the staff were really helpful, especially Ray at the front desk. The food is the Reflections restaurant was superb, with a good choice and not bad priced.

We stayed in Edinburgh, highly recommend it. It wasn't the biggest, the view wasn't the best but it was heavenly quiet as it was in the corner with no neighbours. The bed was very comfy and we slept like logs.

The spa is ok, it was a little nosy as it is downstairs and a tad busy, we opted for the outside hot tub and we got fresh air and peace.

The downs, well

Value wise, it's on par with most spa hotels. If we did it again, I would opt for a two night stay and so you get to make the spa of the spa and the earned rest.

Well worth a visit



Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GillyTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear GillyTricks,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were very much pleased with our standards and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Alexander House Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel. The setting is beautiful, the staff were friendly and made us feel so very welcome. We can't wait to come back. The food was outstanding and the room was luxurious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear SimoneJ,

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Alexander House Hotel.
All of the team here really appreciate your praise for them.
We work hard to create and deliver exceptional experiences for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming both of you back in our Hotel.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is truely decadent in every respect! From the moment my husband and I entered until the moment we left we were treated like royalty. The staff were helpful and engaging throughout our stay, encouraging us at every opportunity to relax and make ourselves at home. Our room was upgraded free of charge due to an earlier inconvenience (not of the hotels making) which we were absolutely delighted about. We stayed in the main building in the Rochester (luxury king room) which was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. One of the highlights included the roll top bath and the walk in rain shower. The spa facilities and dining was, in my opinion, world class. We left feeling totally relaxed and rejuvenated.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ervins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Ervins01

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.
I am extremely happy to note that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your praise of our beautiful Rochester room and our Utopia Spa Facilities.
Thank you once again for providing feedback and I do hope you will revisit us, giving us a chance to change your opinion of Alexander House Hotel.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business and was very disappointed. Check in was chaotic but I eventually got a room. It was very small, dusty and had a double bed squashed into it. The beam across the room was lethal and I'm surprised that even at 5'9 I didn't sustain a head injury. The furniture was a hotch potch of faux antique junk shop furniture and IKEA type stuff. The bed was comfortable but the bathroom very small and poorly appointed. The glass shelf placed right at forehead level was perfectly situated to sustain yet another injury but I suppose if the beam didn't get you the shelf will!

Breakfast was dreadful. The staff are awkward and trying to pretend that they are working somewhere upscale but failing miserably. The cold table of fruit etc is the worst I've seen. The cooked breakfast burned and even the toast overdone. I had to ask 3 times for coffee. Dinner was edible but by no means memorable. The service was very basic.

This hotel is really a low end spa venue. It isn't suitable for business events. I don't want to see people pottering around in ill fitting dressing gowns and slippers at 10 in the morning when trying to focus on business. Most of us don't look good like that and the customers here are no exception!

I can't think of any redeeming features to this hotel and don't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear francophileonthemove,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us here at Alexander House Hotel.
I am so sorry to read that our Restaurant breakfast did not meet your expectations
We are keen to receive feedback on our food and generally only receive good feedback on the choice on breakfast offer.

Naturally being a Spa Hotel we do encourage our guest to use the hotel facilities in their dressing gowns and slippers for their conform
Thank you once again for providing feedback and I do hope you will revisit us, giving us a chance to change your opinion of Alexander House Hotel.

best wishes,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing! Beautiful gardens, friendly, hospitable staff, five star food, modern dressing to bedrooms, wonderful old building with elegance in bundles. Will be going again and again for the relaxed heaven that this hotel provides!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear SuzieQe,

Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us. It sounds as if you had a delightful time and experience in our Hotel.
I was also pleased to read how much you enjoyed the room itself and the great care from all the Alexander House Hotel Team
My team and I look forward to welcome you back.

best wishes,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
10.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,623 reviews
24.1 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
7.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,283 reviews
6.1 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Property: Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Address: East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing