We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I treated my parents to a very British afternoon tea.
The food was lovely, the service excellent, the concierge extremely helpful.
The location is great.
Would recommend and certainly go back.
Just loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Aline V,

Thank you for joining us for Afternoon Tea and for your subsequent review.
I am very pleased to read that you had a fabulous time here with us.
I very much hope you will be returning to us very soon for another Afternoon Tea.

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked a night stay ,and spa treatments for me and my girlfriend , for her birthday . Although the treatments were very nice . And the actual spa was gorgeous . The rooms were terrible , first we we're put in a tiny room , I noticed stains on the walls , in the bathroom wall paper was peeling off, when I asked to move , they tryed to charge us additional fee which we refused . Once they took a look they soon moved us .Are other room a lot nicer , but the walls were all hollow , you could hear absolutely everything your neighbours talking , people walking up and down . My girlfriend barely slept because she could here are neighbours talking . Apart from the rooms everything was lovely , the food was top notch

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear LeeP,

Thank you for your comments.
I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your Spa and Restaurant experience at Alexander House Hotel.
We put a lot into offering our undivided attention to all of our guests.
In regards to the issues you experienced in the room, we are sorry to hear that we were unable to solve the issue on the spot. This was fixed by our maintenance team at a later time.
Please except our apologies for the noise disturbance emitting from the next door room, and as we were at full occupancy were unable to relocate you to a quieter room. We are currently installing full sound proof doors to prevent future like issues.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We treated ourselves to a romantic weekend break to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. I have to say it was the most expensive weekend we ever had BUT it was sooo worth it! From start to finish it was amazing. Special mention to Keith the concierge who added a quintessential British Charm to the hotel ( I felt as though we were on Downton Abbey!) & Christian the bartender at the 1608 Champagne Bar who made the most delicious cocktails. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and we had a lovely walk in the surrounding woods. The room luxuroius, the meals were nothing less than exceptional & the spa was just pure bliss. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear SoniaR,

Thank you for this positive feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that the whole team was welcoming and attentive as we strive in providing the best service.
I have personally made sure that your comments have been forwarded to Keith Farley our Doorman and to Christian Smith our Barman; both of them were delighted to hear about your kind words.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I'm gutted that I've only just discovered this place, it's lovely!

The team in the hotel are the best I've encountered during my 4 week trip in the uk, the service is genuinely exceptional.

I only had a massage in the spa but it was great. Looking forward to coming back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runtothesunlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear runtothesunlondon,

Thank you so much for this very positive feedback.

It was a pleasure for us to pamper you throughout your stay.

I thank you for your words of praise concerning all of the departments in the hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I would say exceptional but there again you wouldn't expect anything less if you were thinking of staying here.

My partner treated me to a night's stay with spa treatments for my 40th Birthday. We stayed in a suite which was simply stunning. Such a perfect way to celebrate the dawn of a new decade. The staff even sent me a birthday card – now that's such a nice touch.

Service was very attentive whilst respecting your space. Very professional from the point of being greeted at the door; being shown to our rooms; room service with dinner and breakfast arriving perfectly on time; staff turning down our beds in the evening; and the staff in the spa put you at ease from the moment you walked in. Perfect.

If you want to really treat yourself then have no hesitation and book yourself here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear DeanodogUK,

Thank you for your passionate words. It is great to read that you had a memorable stay with us and we are truly honoured to read on the Tripadvisor website that you rank us “Exceptional - a wonderful choice” It makes us feel proud.
We very much look forward to seeing both of you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We came across Alexander House after a quick online search and by far it looked the best for spa breaks just outside London and with the packages available it offered a good variety of choice at a range of prices.

The hotel itself is set in beautiful grounds and the interior of the building was without fault from the luxurious lounge area, champagne room straight from the front cover of an interior design magazine, all the way up to the grandeur of the bedroom.

In terms of food, we were there for two nights so got to dine at both the fine dining restaurant and the bistro. On the first night we opted for the tasting menu with accompanying wines of which the food was beautifully presented by I felt was lacking in real depth of flavour in some dishes, however, this was more than made up for by the sommelier's choice of wines and expert explanations of each tipple. The restaurant was slightly lacking in atmosphere but definitely delivered on the regency feel of the grand interior of the building. The 'Reflections' dining room offered a more relaxed experience the second night and in all I thought was excellent in both presentation and variety of menu.

In regards to the spa we both indulged and had full body messages and facials, the utopia spa itself is definitely the highlight of the venue. The staff were polite and professional and the pool area was first class in both design and comfort, there is even an outdoor jacuzzi for the brave!

Overall we really enjoyed the stay, the hotel was perfectly presented and the Grecian style spa which was advertised 'the best in the south east' did not disappoint. My only criticism would be the service which although was attentive and friendly was slightly lacking in finesse.

I would definitely recommend Alexander House for special occasions as a couple or with friends. Special mention to Ray for his brilliant guided tour and Alex for his recommendation of locally sourced wine which we have decided to have at our wedding reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear AnthonyC,

Thank you for so much praise , we are all pleased to hear that you have unforgettable stay with us.
I was also pleased to read how much you enjoyed our Spa itself and the great care from all the Alexander House Hotel Team
My team and I look forward to welcome you back.

best wishes
Tamas Jurca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a groupon deal, we were booked at Rowhill Grange but got moved due to overbooking at Rowhill... SO glad they moved us.
The place is beautiful, the spa is amazing and hardly anyone in there, loved our time there and will be eagerly awaiting another Groupon to come up!

Staff were very well trained, very friendly, felt like a VIP

Room Tip: Laburnum overlooks the outside hot tub....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear RachaleJ,

Thank you for your comments.
I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed Utopia Spa. We put a lot into offering our undivided attention to all of our guests
Once again I would like to thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and sincerely hope you will revisit us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
24.1 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
1.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
21.2 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Address: East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range: £155 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing