We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night”
Review of Cranston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranston House
1 review
“Over night”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Impressed by the room, bed was very comfortable shower was very good, a well presented room, Brian welcomed me in and was very helpful in finding the place I had come to visit also looking up the train times for my homeward journey, I stayed out until about 2 in the morning, no problem at all, my breakfast was excellent service quick. I shall definitely be back

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hello Michael. I am glad that you found Cranston House to your liking and that I was able to help you gain the information that you needed. I look forward to your return. Many thanks, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
27
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and four of us could find no fault with the facilities and accommodation provided. The organisation was flawless, lovely hosts and the surroundings to the hotel was lovely and quiet. Very glad we ended up staying here & I'd definitely recommend this place

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berrysrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello Mr & Mrs Berry. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cranston House and that it proved to be most appropriate accommodation while you were visiting places in this area. Do come again and stay with us when you visit more sites in the south East. Best wishes Brian & Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fabulous accommodations in a fabulous location! Very warm and inviting with gracious hosts, Brian and Aileen.
We found Cranston House on a whim and phoned from a pay phone in London. When I heard 5 rings I hung up as I didn't want to talk to an answering machine if I could help it (we were looking for same day accommodations and new we couldn't leave a callback number). Moments later my pay phone rang! It was Brian ringing me back. Unbelievable! I was so impressed when he said that he checked the missed call and saw that it was a pay phone so he figured it was a potential guest and hoped we were still nearby the phone. So happy that he called. The place is excellent!
Cranston House is a short 10-15 walk from the train station where trains to London leave very regularly

Room Tip: There are rooms on two floors above the main floor. We heard no noise from upstairs and virtually no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leefboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello Leefboy, We are very pleased that you made a booking with us on the payphone and are glad that you thought that the accommodation was excellent. We look forward to your next visit which we know will be in the near future. Many thanks, Brian & Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I first stayed at Cranston House for one night, about 6-7 years ago. Such was the impression at that time that I was able to quickly locate and identify the business when my recent holiday plans took me to East Sussex.
This establishment is cozy without being cramped, comfortable, quiet and excellent value for the money. The full English breakfast is superb - and so quickly served! Brian and Aileen are wonderful hosts who can supply a wealth of local knowledge and were of great assistance in solving the little problems that can arise when travelling.
During my recent three week vacation I stayed at five different hotels/guest houses in England and Wales; Cranston House was easily the best, by a long shot. I will stay there again should the occasion arise and I have no hesitation in highly recommending this establishment

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello Colin. Thank you for returning to Cranston House after 6 to 7 years. I am glad that you enjoyed your second stay and would highly recommend Cranston House to others needing accommodation in East Grinstead. I look forward to your third visit. Many thanks, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Really lovely house, lovely folks, all really well set out and organised. Nice room, good quiet location, the whole experience was easy and pleasant. Would definitely recommend to friends and will stay again if I return to East Grinstead.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebrush22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello rebrush 22. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience when you stayed at Cranston House. Do come again next time you are in East Grinstead and we hope that the experience will be just as good. Many thanks, Brian & Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed for one night in this very pleasant guest house. The room and ensuite were spotless and very well equipped. The roof window of my room (#6 as I recall) gave a very pleasant view of the stars as I dozed. Not being a breakfast person I can't comment in that direction. Online booking is fun: five minutes before you lose your reservation - took me three attempts to beat the clock. A good wi-fi connection is available at no extra charge but is not flagged up on the website: I almost didn't book because I needed internet access. Glad I stayed there. Very convenient for the town with plenty of parking, by the way.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hello Arthur. I was pleased to receive you at Cranston House and am glad that you found your room spotless and well equipped. I have increased the online booking time out period to 10 minutes to make online booking easier.

Thank you for drawing my attention to the fact that the availability of WiFi is not indicated on the home page of cranstonhouse.co.uk. I have corrected this omission and so future guests will be able to read this advantage of staying here. I look forward to your next visit.
Many thanks. Brian Linacre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUTH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in this very comfortable, clean bed and breakfast. Breakfast was optional but we decided to have the buffet option (there was also a full breakfast option) which was plentiful and varied, set us up for the morning!
I would recommend Cranston House as a friendly base to explore Sussex and the town of East Grinstead itself which is only a short walk away. Our host, Brian made us very welcome and we would not hesitate to recommend the accommodation to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hello Jackie,
Thank you for your very positive comments about your experience of Cranston House. Next time you wish to visit more gardens and houses in Sussex and Kent do come and stay with us again.

Best regards, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranston House

Property: Cranston House
Address: Cranston House Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranston House East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing