We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be going back”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Price range: US$31 - US$41
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Will not be going back”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I wasn't going to review this place but saw some good reviews while browsing and wanted to warn everyone that it is not all good. We went one Friday and there were two other tables busy. Ordered drinks and food. Drinks arrived, one hour later, still no food, after asking where it was and the restaurant filling up - the couple on the next table were most embarrassed that they had arrived 1/2 hour after us and had got their food. We decided to leave. We went to pay and when we explained why we were leaving all we got was "I will go and tell the chef to stop the order!" no apology.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear HTTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are disappointed to hear of the experience you received and have passed your comments onto the management team to ensure that this situation does not repeat itself.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    115
    79
    91
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Ate here with hubby last night. This is primarily a pub with food. So menu and prices are what one would expect. We had spring rolls and crab cakes to start....both very tasty. Hubby had steak and i had sausages for main....again lovely. Portions are BIG...so no room for desert. Service made this to be fair...young bar man very helpful and a lovely young blonde waitress who served us dinner...both made us feel very welcome. The place was busy with race goers and locals but had a great atmosphere...would recommend if you want an informal meal, in nice surroundings with friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Hannies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another evening of no coffee!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Having booked on line for a table arrived to find there was no record of this although I had a receipt showing it had been booked. Once again at the end of the meal we were told the coffee machine had broken down. This was about the eighth time of being told this in the past year. It is getting to be a joke. Why can a coffee machine not be replaced if it is always breaking down. At the end of a meal most customers would like a decent cup of coffee but again we were disappointed. Not sure if we will visit again despite it being our local.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Susan499616

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor. We are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding the coffee machine at the Star Inn. I have passed your feedback to the Management team for further review and hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore London
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed at the attached Premier Inn and ate here in the evening.
Well below the usual standard of eateries attached to Premier Inns and more expensive than, say, Table Table; this was a Chef and Brewer.
Dishes were quite pretentious but standard was poor, dry and overcooked.
Would have looked for a local restaurant if aware of the quality beforehand. £70 for basic pubgrub and a drink for 2 plus child is far too much.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear PnJStanmoreLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your recent review, we have passed your comments onto the managment team at site to ensure that our expected high standards are delivered.

Many Thanks
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I booked a table for 4 via the C&B website and requested a table by a window or outside weather permitting. I received a conformation of the booking via phone and we were instantly acknowledged on arrival at the Star and shown to our window table as requested, so far so good.

Almost immediately we were offered menus and a drinks order was patiently taken by the waiter and the aforementioned drinks arrived in a timely manner.

The starters were served in good time and the proceedings continued amidst an air of contentment induced by the well presented and very tasty scallops starter.

More drinks were ordered and were delivered by the duty manager, he enquired about our comforts and humbly apologised for a delay to our mains, which to be quite honest had not been noted by our party and did not seem excessive. Full marks for pre-empting a possible issue and dealing with it.

Mains were served courteously by a waitress who covered every detail with aplomb, the varied dishes were consummed without complaint, tasty, well cooked and presented fair. No problem.

All in all a pleasant Sunday lunch, served by attentive staff, wholesome vittles and pleasant surroundings. What's not to like? Well done the Star.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saddletramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Saddletramp

Many thanks for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Management Team.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
Lingfield, Surrey
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing