We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caught a 23 inch rainbow today”
Review of Goldeye Lake

Goldeye Lake
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caught a 23 inch rainbow today”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When out on a day trip for 3 hours and off the boat we caught a huge 23 inch rainbow. I would recommend this lake.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trotfisherpikefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Good fishing. And well kept stalls. Only complaint was the hazard trees around the stall. Lots of dead standing timber. I would be nervous in a tent if the wind picked up!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank troutfly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely lake - nice campground”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Five minutes drive west from Nordegg is this nice little lake and campground. We were looking for somewhere that the kids could swim from shore if they wanted and that we could put our canoe in and fish - we were able to do both here. The campground beside the lake has approximately 20 sites, but only 3 could accommodate big rigs (we had a 30 ' trailer), however up on top of the hill is the other part of the campground where there are at least 20 sites and there are longer sites there, with more privacy. We did not mind the lack of good privacy as we stayed a couple days mid week and it was not busy - there are trees and bush between sites, but some campers you can see from site to site. Then on the weekend it was full, but we were established at our site and tried to ignore our neighbors. The campground is clean - each site is swept and tidied after the occupants leave. The outhouses very clean as well. It cost $27 for an un-serviced site and that included 1 wheelbarrow full of wood. You could pay extra for more wood. The caretaker was friendly and when we arrived she guided us to a site that worked best for us. There are a lot of little sites good for tenters or trucks with campers. The lake was clean, cool and the kids did swim a bit and float on an inner tube. The canoeing was nice and we enjoyed the site of the loon family swimming under our canoe in the shallows. There were lots of people fishing for the stocked trout, but not a lot of success. We did not catch anything. There is a trail that goes around the lake that my husband and son mountain biked - it took them 25 minutes. They said it was muddy in places and some of the little bridges were falling apart. We found this a good spot to go out on our daily trips to Siffleur Falls, Crescent Falls etc. Would stay here again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Albertamom-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Area”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I camped last year and I have to say that is is a beautiful place, very peaceful and the people selling the firewood was just fantastic. Upon arrival at our campsite we happen to see deer grazing in the back. that was a beautiful site to see. I highly recommend going to this place if you want a beautiful relaxing place.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank stevieContracting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Camping as it should be...”
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Located 2 hours west of Red Deer, Goldeye Lake is just past the hamlet of Nordegg. We camped with our 20-foot trailer at the un-serviced lots ($15/night), which are spacious and surrounded by dense forest. The camp management is friendly and they keep the sites spotless and the outhouses clean. They sell firewood each day for $5, a small bundle pretty much typical for camp sites around the area. Nearby there is a cutline off Highway 11 into the woods, almost across from the Fish Lake entrance. Follow the hydro line. So if you bring your chainsaw, there is enough deadfall to saw for free. It'll keep you going for a week - see my pictures. There is also Fish Lake, which is nearby and the un-serviced sites there are superbly managed as well, with numerous outhouses nearby. Both sites have water available but no sewage dumps. You can dump behind the Nordegg Hotel, roughly 10 minutes east of the campgrounds, for a donation of $5. The serviced lots are crowded at both lakes but they're located right on the lake.

Helpful?
17 Thank Palmtreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goldeye Lake also viewed

 

Been to Goldeye Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing