We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ittre, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed just one night. The room was large, clean, well-equipped, quiet and had a breathtaking view. No breakfast offered and the restaurant (Cove) is only open Thursday - Sunday (clearly stated on the inn's web page but I missed it). Phil, the host, was genial. Not much to do in Shelter Cove but, just maybe, that's a good thing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    28
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
63
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

When my husband and I took a trip through the redwoods, we were excited to make the trip up to Shelter Cove. The town is incredibly small, so make sure to do you research on what is actually open on the day you visit. The check in was quick, the lady was extremely bubbly and helpful. We went up into our room which was on the second floor, and had an incredible view. The room was spacious, and comfortable but nothing too fancy. The beach front access was awesome, yet the staircase was a little sketchy. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caligulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Very awesome view from the rooms. The room was nice and clean, nothing fancy but comfortable.
The man who checked us in wasn't overly friendly or helpful, just barely nice!
We got checked right in and enjoyed a nice ocean front view and breeze.
Beautiful tide pools on the beach below.the beach was private and so beautiful.
The restaurant had amazing fresh fish, as in just caught that day! Casual dining, long wait for food, but well worth it. We were there on a busy night too.
The road in is a little tough, but over all a breath taking Cove!
The room was priced very fair as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a jacuzzi tub, I highly recommend calling ahead for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psalm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a spur-of-the-moment stop...so excited that we did!
Excellent quality, comfortable and awesome view of the Pacific Ocean. We ate at the seafood restaurant on the bottom floor and it was some of the best fish we have eaten (we live on the Texas gulf coast) with large portions...the clam chowder is to die for!
We were fascinated by the black sand beach and sea lions laying on the rocks! We left our patio door opened and could hear the ocean all night and occasionally the barking of the sea lions. Very peaceful and soothing!
NOTE: make sure you bring snacks and drinks...store is 4 miles up the road and closes early.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terlingua, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stumbled upon this hotel while planning a northern California trip and looking for a place to stay after touring the Humboldt Redwoods State Park. What a great find. The very steep, winding drive over the King Range was a bit hair-raising at times but totally beautiful. The hotel is right on the water, overlooking a black sand beach with tide pools. We saw about 20 seals on the rocks in the morning. The room was big and airy, and very clean. All the rooms have balconies overlooking the beach. There's not much going on in this sleepy little town but that's in its favor. We had breakfast at the food stand just a short walk from the hotel. The one girl working there produced the most amazing crepes. I had the special which was banana and nutella and my friend had the spinach and feta. I would love to come back and spend a week here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel was situated right on the seafront with stairs down to a rocky and black sand beach replete with fascinating rock pools. We were greeted by the friendly owner and given a great deal of information about local attractions and restaurants. The rooms were decorated elegantly and were spacious and well equipped with microwave and refrigerator. They were spotlessly clean and the beds were wide and comfortable. The balcony from our second floor room gave a spectacular view of the coastline.
For people who enjoy nature there were numerous places to explore-mountains, forests, seashore, but above all we enjoyed the uncrowded beaches and lack of noise apart from the marvellous crashing of ocean waves and cries of seabirds.

The road leading to Shelter Cove was steep and windy in parts, but no problem for any motorists.
However if your GPS leads you up a gated unpaved road, avoid this route which is only suitable for off-road vehicles.

This resort will live long in our memory as a perfect retreat and haven from stress.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second or third floor have a wider view of the ocean, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

While on a road trip of the Costal Redwoods for our honeymoon my husband and I came upon Shelter Cove and The Oceanfront Inn. What was supposed to be an overnight stay turned into 3 days and now a traditional anniversary trip up every June. The innkeeper Phil is very cool and laid back, helpful and always on the property if you need anything. The rooms are perfect for two. We always stay in the larger Captians Quarters, it is always so clean and has an amazing view. Waking up to hear the waves crashing and going out on the private balcony to watch them is a plus. Such a romantic place to getaway. On the weekends the place livens up as they are the only inn on the cove that has a full restaurant ( reservations are a must for this place ) the food is amazing and everything is fresh right out of the ocean! We'll continue to come back year after year..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
16.1 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Address: 26 Seal Ct, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9155
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is located on the northern California Lost Coast, Shelter Cove California. Relax and recharge in our newly renovated oceanfront lodging rooms and suites. Captain's Quarters offer Jacuzzi tubs with views of the surf. Oceanfront Inn location has steps down to the beach -- tide pools, fishing, boating, surfing and hiking. New flat screen TVs and free wi-fi keep you connected to civilization if you want to be. Or get away from it all and immerse yourself in the unparalleled natural beauty of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing