We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tide pools, seals and whales!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stopped at Shelter Cove on the way up the coast and loved this place. Check in was a breeze and the staff were very welcoming and cheerful. The room was clean and the lay out was like a regular hotel room, but with a vaulted ceiling (we were top floor) and a fabulous balcony overlooking the sea. There was a little basket of snacks and a note regarding the food options, which, during the week, are pretty slim. From the hotel we walked to the lighthouse station (great, knowledgeable staff) and then walked along the beach. There are FABULOUS tide pools there, seals on the rocks and, if you keep your eyes open, whales migrating by. As the on-site restaurant was closed, we drove to the pizza place in town and then walked along the sea cliffs while our order cooked. More great views! We ate looking out over the sea, watching the seals and checking for whales. Very relaxing and a great evening after a day hiking and tide pooling. We slept with the slider to the sea open, but at first light did have to close it, as those seals make noisy neighbors!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O, Owner at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Sounds like nature put on a real show for you during your stay. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We must have a talk with those seals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in the recently renovated suite, with full kitchen, living room, and 1 bedroom. We had our own little patio off the back deck. We knew we had a full kitchen, so we brought our own food, and did all our cooking there. We enjoyed sitting out back watching the waves roll in, and actually saw migrating whales on our trip. We LOVED this place so much, we reserved it for same weekend next year. Julie, the office manager, was so accommodating; treated us like we were family. Hopefully, if we are lucky, we will always rent this same suite, on the same weekend every year.

We are not rich people, and your gonna pay a little more because your in a small town, with only a few places to choose from. However, I really believe there is something "magical" about driving to the lost cove, sitting by the sea, and remembering who the important people in your life are. Priceless!

Room Tip: Shop for the food and beverages you need before you get to this town, there is not much to choose fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Oceanfront-Inn, Manager at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments – we agree … the whole experience is “magical.” We love to hear that we can become a part of your family tradition of celebrating the really important things in life. Your compliment about Julie is also appreciated – she really tries to make our guests feel at home. We hope that you will consider the Oceanfront Inn as your “own beach house” in Shelter Cove. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Everything was perfect. I have never stayed in man ocean front hotel room that was literally feet from the ocean! Sea breeze and ocean spray on the private patio and amazing views made this a once in a lifetime stay. Room was clean, comfy and in a subtle beachy theme. Visited with a friend from east coast who had never seen wc ocean sunset and she was in heaven!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeezambezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Oceanfront-Inn, Manager at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for sharing how unique our location is. If visitors want an “oceanfront” experience, the Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is the place! It really is fun to see the wonder of friends from other parts of the world when they experience our spectacular Pacific coastline. And you did such a great job of capturing it in photos. Thank you for staying with us – please come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed on Thursday 5/8. This was a last minute reservation, after a bad experience in Eureka. We had no idea it was here. We saw a sign on the side of the road and Googled it.

Oceanfront is AMAZING. We cannot stop talking about it.

The room was wonderful with the vaulted ceilings and the whirlpool bath. The sound of the ocean right on your balcony is what this Texan girl was excited to hear! The front desk lady was so kind and even provided us with a high/low tide time sheet so we wouldn't "miss" any Ocean action.

We had no problem with the food in Shelter Cove. Since it was a Thursday night, the Restaurant was open and the food was delicious with Breathtaking views. I need to find the name of the local Pinot Noir they served me. Delicious!! The wait staff was extremely friendly and we saw one of the waitresses snorkeling earlier in the afternoon. She was so kind and while we were at dinner, gave us a souvenir Abelone shell that she caught herself while snorkeling.

For Breakfast we headed down to a little coffee shop 2 minutes away and had coffee/muffins and croissants. Again perfect views and a quaint little space for breakfast.

The Black Sand Beach is a surprise find as well...there are no words to describe!! Huge Waves on Huge Rocks. I had no idea it sounds like a firework boom, when the waves hit the rocks.

My only regret: We did not know about this place and wish we would have had more than 1 night. Our next stay in the Ft. Bragg/Mendocino area although nice, paled in comparison. We couldnt find lodging as close to the water!!

Definitely worth a repeat trip! Oceanfront Inn will definitely get repeat business from us!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner with vaulted ceilings!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Oceanfront-Inn, Manager at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Michelle ...
Wow – you really captured the fascination of Shelter Cove and how the Oceanfront Inn allows our guests to experience the magic of the waves, the black sand beaches, and the warm, friendly Cove community. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are so happy that you saw that sign on the side of the road and decided to follow the path to our secret paradise. We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

As bad luck would have it. We flew in passing by on our way home from Oregon to just check out Shelter Cove. We had plane issues and had to spend the night. Fortunately this turned into a very nice experience. The manager was a very nice lady. The view is spectacular being right on the ocean. The room was perfect. The only thing to consider is there is not a lot of dining choices. The place downstairs is very expensive for what was offered and was open for lunch and dinner only. A great quick place to grab a bite is at the south end of the runway next to the rv park for fish and chips. I also grabbed a breakfast burrito there the next morning when they opened at 9:30. In summary, take a couple bottles of wine and enjoy the amazing sunsets.

Room Tip: They are all great with ocean views. Would suggest 3rd floor corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Oceanfront-Inn, Manager at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We're so glad that you were able to transform your "unscheduled stop" into a positive experience at The Oceanfront Inn. It's great that you were able to enjoy the spectacular views from the room, and the proximity to the ocean.

Thank you for your comments. Since we offer microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms as well as a suite with a full kitchen, we encourage our guests to bring some snacks and food to supplement the local dining options.

We hope you will schedule another visit with us soon! We love our pilots who fly in and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Breathtaking view in a very nice and clean Motel. We had a perfect stay and felt us very welcome. The only poison pill is the price of 220$ per night on a weekend. We didn't compare the rate with the Tide Inn directly beside the Oceanfront, so it's nothing to complaint as it was our choice to pay the cheque. We didn't regret that, as it was really nice and comfortable!!! Only one remark: for this rate I expect real glasses to enjoy a good redwine and real mugs for a good coffee, no plastic!
Therefore my judgement is only very good instead of excellent. But definitely doubtless recommendable if you don't mind the price.

Room Tip: The third floor is cool, but balcony has no roof or sun protection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeeKay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Oceanfront-Inn, Manager at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our secret paradise on the California coast.

We appreciate your suggestion about using real glasses and mugs to enjoy the beverages in the room. We agree …. and have made those changes!

We hope you will come back and visit us sometime, and see our improvements. We are working hard to make every guest’s stay a memorable and positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This Inn is a perfect place to spend time while visiting the area. The ocean views, and sounds, with an adjacent black sand beach - worthy of taking a stroll - are absolutely why you want to stay here. Our family of four (including two boys) were comfortable and warm during the night. Open the slider and you can hear the roar of the ocean. Close that slider and it is truly quiet. So you have all the options at your fingertips. The other inn, next door, is not as perfectly situated; so, you do yourself justice by staying here. A definite repeat is planned, but this time without the boys.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but did not come to the area to swim. We came to enjoy an excursion of the Avenue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn

Address: 26 Seal Ct, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9155
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range: £95 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is located on the northern California Lost Coast, Shelter Cove California. Relax and recharge in our newly renovated oceanfront lodging rooms and suites. Captain's Quarters offer Jacuzzi tubs with views of the surf. Oceanfront Inn location has steps down to the beach -- tide pools, fishing, boating, surfing and hiking. New flat screen TVs and free wi-fi keep you connected to civilization if you want to be. Or get away from it all and immerse yourself in the unparalleled natural beauty of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing