We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

what an enjoyable 2 days we had here...first of all we were greeted with a Happy Birthday surprise of a bottle of wine and bar of chocolate (good wine, I might add!!) The room had a fridge and a microwave which we used...a Jacuzzi that we used...we left the sliding glass window open a few inches each night to hear the glorious sound of the crashing waves. The room was clean and spacious, nice size of TV...I could not think of anything I would have changed. We were fortunate to have 3 days of beautiful weather. Who doesn't enjoy wandering around the rocks of the ocean or the black sands of a 2 mile beach!!

Room Tip: third floor corner
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phantom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O, Owner at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are so happy that you chose to celebrate your birthday at the Oceanfront Inn. We really enjoy being a part of our guests’ special occasions. Thank you very much for sharing your comments. With the help of our beautiful natural surroundings, we try to make every day a reason to celebrate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a beautiful hotel and the complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch. We arrived there on a Wednesday night around 5:45 and no one was in the office but we were greeted shortly there after. We didn't have the luxury of the dining room since they were closed that day, as were all the other restaurants. Did think that we would be able to eat at the deli but no. We ended up at the pizza place and I won't go into that experience, less then exceptional. I truly wished that we had had more time here so we could have experienced the wonderful dining at the hotel and the deli. We had a traffic issues that day, a mishap on Hwy 36, that closed the road we were traveling. The rangers gave us an alternate route, hence the late arrival time. We had planned on getting to the hotel by 3 p.m. but the the detour cost us several hours. Nothing could be helped by anyone involved. Loved the view and the accommodations but wished we had picked a different day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O, Owner at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Betty -- Thank you very much for the positive comments about our Inn and the view. We hope that you may be able to visit with us again to take better advantage of the Cove’s dining options and spend a little more time enjoying the area. Please come back another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Have been to shelter cove before, this is the first time staying at this hotel. I was not disappointed the ocean view was excellent. Having the restaurant down stairs was a bonus. Will be back again next year. They also accept dogs, and have a extra towel and bag of treats waiting for your dog in the room when you check in.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a ocean view. You really just need to decide which size suits you and your budg...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O, Owner at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are so glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed the amazing oceanfront experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Oceanfront Inn, and our experience was wonderful!
Julie is a treasure...she made us feel welcome even before we arrived.
The room was clean and so very comfortable.
The Cove Restaurant in the Inn was amazing- the atmosphere was great, the people are friendly and efficient, and the food was great!
We didn't want to leave, and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKPalumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O, Owner at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. It makes us so happy when we accomplish our goal of providing a memorable experience for our guests. We would love to have you visit with us again in our little piece of paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stopped at Shelter Cove on the way up the coast and loved this place. Check in was a breeze and the staff were very welcoming and cheerful. The room was clean and the lay out was like a regular hotel room, but with a vaulted ceiling (we were top floor) and a fabulous balcony overlooking the sea. There was a little basket of snacks and a note regarding the food options, which, during the week, are pretty slim. From the hotel we walked to the lighthouse station (great, knowledgeable staff) and then walked along the beach. There are FABULOUS tide pools there, seals on the rocks and, if you keep your eyes open, whales migrating by. As the on-site restaurant was closed, we drove to the pizza place in town and then walked along the sea cliffs while our order cooked. More great views! We ate looking out over the sea, watching the seals and checking for whales. Very relaxing and a great evening after a day hiking and tide pooling. We slept with the slider to the sea open, but at first light did have to close it, as those seals make noisy neighbors!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O, Owner at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Sounds like nature put on a real show for you during your stay. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We must have a talk with those seals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in the recently renovated suite, with full kitchen, living room, and 1 bedroom. We had our own little patio off the back deck. We knew we had a full kitchen, so we brought our own food, and did all our cooking there. We enjoyed sitting out back watching the waves roll in, and actually saw migrating whales on our trip. We LOVED this place so much, we reserved it for same weekend next year. Julie, the office manager, was so accommodating; treated us like we were family. Hopefully, if we are lucky, we will always rent this same suite, on the same weekend every year.

We are not rich people, and your gonna pay a little more because your in a small town, with only a few places to choose from. However, I really believe there is something "magical" about driving to the lost cove, sitting by the sea, and remembering who the important people in your life are. Priceless!

Room Tip: Shop for the food and beverages you need before you get to this town, there is not much to choose fr...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Oceanfront-Inn, Manager at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments – we agree … the whole experience is “magical.” We love to hear that we can become a part of your family tradition of celebrating the really important things in life. Your compliment about Julie is also appreciated – she really tries to make our guests feel at home. We hope that you will consider the Oceanfront Inn as your “own beach house” in Shelter Cove. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Everything was perfect. I have never stayed in man ocean front hotel room that was literally feet from the ocean! Sea breeze and ocean spray on the private patio and amazing views made this a once in a lifetime stay. Room was clean, comfy and in a subtle beachy theme. Visited with a friend from east coast who had never seen wc ocean sunset and she was in heaven!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeezambezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC-Oceanfront-Inn, Manager at The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for sharing how unique our location is. If visitors want an “oceanfront” experience, the Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is the place! It really is fun to see the wonder of friends from other parts of the world when they experience our spectacular Pacific coastline. And you did such a great job of capturing it in photos. Thank you for staying with us – please come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
705 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
58 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn

Address: 26 Seal Ct, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9155
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range: £147 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is located on the northern California Lost Coast, Shelter Cove California. Relax and recharge in our newly renovated oceanfront lodging rooms and suites. Captain's Quarters offer Jacuzzi tubs with views of the surf. Oceanfront Inn location has steps down to the beach -- tide pools, fishing, boating, surfing and hiking. New flat screen TVs and free wi-fi keep you connected to civilization if you want to be. Or get away from it all and immerse yourself in the unparalleled natural beauty of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing