We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Vacation Spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite Vacation Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We discovered this fairytale place when it just opened. Later that summer, we cancelled our plans for Hawaii vacation and came back to Shelter Cove Inn instead. This place is magical! It's quiet and heavenly peaceful... In the fully-equipped kitchen we cook our favorite meals, which (comparing to restaurant dining) save us a lot of money.

The Inn keepers Richard and Margaret are the loveliest people. Every time we come back there, it feels like visiting a family. We've been telling all our friends about Shelter Cove Inn. And although we've traveled around the world quite a bit, this place remains to be our favorite vacation spot!

Olga & Erick

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
104
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The owners Richard and Margaret were very friendly and attentive during our stay. All the restaurants were closed due to the off -season but we enjoyed the benefits of a full kitchen which was well equipped with all the necessities. We loved the view from the balcony, where waves were crashing against the rocks the whole time. We want to come back sometime, hopefully during the summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be a good bet and are right on the ocean . . . very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmw345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheltercoveinn, Owner at Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Hi Tera and Tom, thank you for taking the time to write that fantastic review. These are very important for our Inn. We would like to have you as guest this Summer, maybe you would like to experience our Spyglass suite. Regards, Margaret and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at another inn in Shelter Cove this summer, and we happened to see the Shelter Cove Inn on a walk. We looked at one another and said, "This is more like it!" After a wonderful conversation with owners Richard and Margaret, we made reservations for our anniversary. We arrived home today from that trip, and although I don't usually write reviews, this is one I'm compelled to write.

Our suite was beautifully appointed with great attention to detail (e.g., self-closing cabinets and drawers in the kitchen; marble counters in the bathroom, kitchen, and tub; fully stocked kitchen; spacious deck; etc.). The bed was so comfortable that we slept in every morning (a rarity in my life), and we awoke to the pounding of the surf, sunshine, and coffee on the deck.

Vacation time should cause us to sigh deeply and completely relax; that is exactly what happened here at the Shelter Cove Inn. Time stretched at the inn: three days felt like a week.

My sense is that one can arrive a stranger but leave feeling like family.

It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Owner Richard is very nice and friendly.  This place is excellent for honeymoon. Amazing ocean view for sunset and romance.  Clean and look new inside the room.  Will come back and stay again next time visiting Lost Coast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is the Inn that love has built and does maintain and has architecture interest, fabulous balcony view, clean and spacious rooms. Don't sell the full kitchen short as breakfast and dinner on you own ocean front balcony pushes romanticism to the next level. After days motorcycling Northern California, the owners made me feel like I was coming home to mom and dad! What a wonderful Inn. This remote seaside village of 600 is like no other where early morning and late afternoon walks turn up interesting people and spectacular views.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulFairport_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We anticipated a peaceful getaway that would include a picturesque sunset with an expansive view of the ocean. We were not disappointed! Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the owners, Richard and Margaret. When we entered our private suite, we were immediately impressed with the direct view of our balcony and ocean front. Careful attention to the amenities did not go unnoticed: high quality linens, bath towels, and mattress. The Shelter Cove Inn is our new "Happy Place".
Steve & Sandy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munga_4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We happened upon Shelter Cove Inn by chance. We couldn't believe how beautiful our suite and view was. Comfortable bed, clean, and very maintained property. Margaret and Richard where the best hosts we have ever had. Highly recommended to anyone who wants a relaxing, quiet retreat! You can't go wrong. We plan to return and stay longer the next time. If you are wondering... the deer in the Seascape Suite picture is real. The deer appeared while we were enjoying our coffee. An amazing place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove

Property: Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Address: 118 Dolphin Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9160
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your luxury brand in Shelter Cove. When you are ready to treat that special person to a luxurious ocean front spa suite and experience a room at the top, we are just a phone call away. Please read our reviews. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing