We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lamar, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our family of 6 was vacationing in Northern CA and as I planned our trip I stumbled across the Lost Coast and knew we had to make time to visit. My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary during the trip, so we decided this beautiful inn was the perfect place! Richard and Margaret were very accomodating, giving our teen boys the room next door to ours. They were thrilled to have their "own place!" And we enjoyed having some privacy during our 10-day vacation! We stayed in the Dolphin and Spyglass suites, and they are as beautiful and clean as they look in the photos! They were well designed and had all the extras- a kitchen equipped with everything needed to put together a meal; coffee, teas, hot cocoa and chocolates; the jacuzzi with a beautiful ocean view; the large tv/dvd with plenty of channels to watch; soft towels in the bathrooms; a beautifully decorated bedroom; the living room with a pull-out couch, fireplace and plenty of room for lounging around! The walk-out patio was a private serene place to enjoy the breathtaking ocean view! Nearby beaches to walk to and explore were enjoyed by all. And Richard and Margaret were so inviting, hospitable, and genuinely friendly and caring people who were interested in getting to know our family! I would love to go back and celebrate another milestone! Definitely an unforgettable memory!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
106
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was our 6th or 7th time there, we've lost count. Every time we feel like being pampered, we head to SCI. It is a true home away from home for us, and we are getting attached to the place....Richard and Margaret are wonderful hosts! The suites are located on a natural bluff above the ocean, where the deer call it a playground, the quail come to visit, and the quiet is welcome. The pelicans soar on the bluff and slowly pass by....amazing. The jacuzzi tubs overlook the ocean, and the TV can be swiveled so you can watch a movie while soaking! There's a 2.5 mile loop around the town that is an invigorating walk or jog in the morning. Bring a book and relax--- Lounge chairs are provided on the patio, and there are full kitchen amenities. Just bring your food and wine...though there is a grocery store closeby that stocks quite a bit. Richard lets you use his BBQ on the main level, so you can grill and then eat on your own patio. It's our favorite place, hands down. I'm already trying to figure out our next date to go. If you fly a private plane, this is the place to go...airport is about a mile from the hotel, and Richard will pick you up. It doesn't get much better than this. Many many thanks to such great hosts and now our friends.

Room Tip: All 4 suites are ocean view, 2 w/ balconies, 2 with patio decks. 3 have jacuzzi tubs, all have fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

If EVER you want a place to get away and relax, Shelter Cove is the place and the Shelter Cove Inn is the place to stay. As you can see I marked the pool as excellent, what better pool than the whole ocean out in front of you. You have everything you could ever want in a place to stay, but most of all the noise level is next to zero, except for the ocean. Location is perfect and the owners are not owners, they are like old friends. I have stayed in places from Alaska to Mexico and points east and this Inn is the best of them all. I am 66 years old and have NEVER written a review before, but felt I must, because of the quality of people and the quality of the Inn itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 480Mel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon, four nights of which we spent at the lovely, peaceful and charming Shelter Cove Inn. My only regret was not spending our entire honeymoon there. We stayed in the Spyglass Suite. It was very luxurious, complete with a gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub and a very nice kitchen. Hosts Richard and Margaret were wonderful people who were always available to answer questions, get us extra towels or whatever we needed. If you are looking for a very serene, peaceful and quiet getaway on the North Coast, this is the place. The weather is generally much better in Shelter Cove than in Mendocino. The views from our suite were breathtaking. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Spyglass is the best room according to the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

After a long day of hiking the Lost Coast we were so delighted to find the Shelter Cove Inn with its charming and accommodating hosts Richard and Margaret. The suites (small apartments) were so peaceful and beautifully decorated. The atmosphere was quiet and rejuvenating with the magnificent ocean view. The suites felt like home and were kept in immaculate condition. We would absolutely return to the Shelter Cove Inn and highly recommend it to future travelers.

Room Tip: all suites are lovely; Spyglass was our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLS1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here planning to use it as a base from which to drive out to the Avenue of the Giants. However, after seeing our "room", we decided to stay in the cove the next full day that we were there and see the Avenue on our way home the following day. We booked the Dolphin suite during our very loosely planned honeymoon week, and Richard was very accommodating in coordinating this on such short notice. If you are lucky, deer may stroll by in the morning or evening to munch on the grass outside the inn. The kitchen is pretty fully stocked and there are plenty of towels and 2 robes provided. The jacuzzi is bigger than it looks in the pictures, though realistically a little tight for two people, although we managed to make it work. Tips for your stay: the fish tank pizzeria is yummy (this coming from someone that tries to avoid pizzerias) and super friendly, the cinnamon rolls at the fish tank cafe are super nummy when heated, and the main restaurant at the cove is pricey but pretty good. There is a convenience store in the cove, but the store on the way in from Garberville is better stocked as a grocery store, and has super delicious strawberries. There is no gas station in town so make sure to get in Garberville. Also, we managed to make our brakes smoke on the way down due to the curves and steep grades, so make sure to use low gear as much as possible. It may take as long as an hour to get to the cove from Garberville, don't rush it if you want non-smoking brakes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sno4270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

So glad we chose Shelter Cove Inn over other options in Shelter Cove! The "room" (actually a small condo) was pristine and comfortable. The kitchen was furnished with just what you need and the appliances are new and easy to use. There is a beautiful view, relaxed atmosphere, and quiet (we heard only the ocean at night). It's a short walk to one of the black sand beaches. On the cliff outside our room, cormorants perched every night to sleep. We saw the Milky Way and a gazillion stars every night.

The other hotels look ok on their websites, but in person seemed rather seedy. Shelter Cove Inn looks exactly as pictured. I've never been in a cleaner hotel. Richard and Margaret are both helpful and respectful of privacy, qualities that don't often go together! Richard advised us to get groceries before driving in, invaluable advice that saved us the 45-minute each way drive into Garberville. He also offered to make dinner reservations. When i thought I'd lost my camera and called from the road to see if I'd left it in the hotel, he went and made sure that I had, putting my mind at ease. How many hoteliers would do that?

The room was furnished with the little things that make a stay so convenient and comfortable: plenty of towels, including a basket of towels next to the hot tub; different types of wine glasses (hey, this IS California...); restaurant menus; lots of pillows and extra blankets. The room has a hot tub, cable TV and a DVD. Visitors outside included deer and quail and many flocks of pelicans, so close you could almost touch them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitfire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
697 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
68 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove

Property: Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Address: 118 Dolphin Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9160
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your luxury brand in Shelter Cove. When you are ready to treat that special person to a luxurious ocean front spa suite and experience a room at the top, we are just a phone call away. Please read our reviews. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing