We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another incredible visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another incredible visit”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our "lucky" 13th visit to the cove. We keep coming back for the view, the serenity, the people, the tidepools, and the hosts. Thanksgiving weather was not to be missed....70s and sunny all weekend, with most of our time spent walking or on the patio sipping wine and watching the deer. What I love about Spyglass suites are the full kitchens with just about every amenity you could need. The general store nearby fills in for what you've forgotten! We have gotten to the point where this place is our home away from home. Richard and Margaret keep adding little goodies to their amenity list, so each new visit brings a surprise. Come see for yourself.....

Room Tip: Upper rooms, great view. Lower rooms, private patio on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is the 3rd time we've visited Shelter Cove and stayed at the Spyglass Inn. We just got married and wanted to extend our honeymoon and decided that it would be perfect to spend that here! Richard and Margaret, as always, are great! The town is great too! We usually take a walk in the morning and are greeted by others in the town walking their dogs or jogging. It's a great place to visit, wind down, and relax. We definitely will be coming back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akissa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our son introduced us to the Lost Coast via his camping trip to Sinkyone, so when the government shutdown made our reservations at the inn in Yosemite moot, we knew where we were headed. But where to say? When in extremis go with the best, I remembered. So we did, and Spyglass Inn proved to be just that. Richard and Margaret accommodated us at short notice and our stay was memorable. Great early October weather, incredible Pacific vistas from your porch and hot tub, and proximity to the Redwoods, not to mention an exciting drive over the King Range to the Cove! See for yourself!

K & R H

Room Tip: northwest corner, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this is the best of the best , #1. we have stayed at other places in the cove over the years, but we were completely taken aback by the breathtaking room, way more than we expected. and the view, it is 1'st class. we always do alot at the cove, walk on the black sands beach, tide pool exploring, walking the coast line & the boat ramp (tractor launch) you gotta go to watch this. but this time we spent countless hours just on the great deck. this is now our # 1 place to stay!!!
we extended our stay and it was well worth it. everything you need to cook is there, if its not there then margaret will have it for you, right now! oh yea and the best restaurant view ever is right there in your room, breakfast, lunch & dinner, wow!!. A&G the foresthill fliers!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coronado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This place is incredible! The road to the inn will seem a bit daunting. Very up and down with lots of twists and turn, but soooo worth the hassle to get there. Richard and Margaret (innkeepers/owners) are so warm and welcoming! They truly want your experience to be perfect. The "condos" are impeccable and tastefully decorated with all the comforts of upscale living and the beds are amazingly comfortable. All amenities are there but the views are stunning! What a perfect place to sit and enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset! Just be sure to get groceries on the way. Great pizza/bakery in town if only staying one night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights this week at the Spyglass Inn. From the phone reservation with Margaret to our final goodbye with Richard (the couple who owns/runs the Inn), we just had a lovely experience! We stayed in the Spyglass Suite. I have to state this upfront: this suite was absolutely immaculate! I am a stickler for clean rooms and was so pleased to see the care, thought and effort that went into the upkeep and presentation of the room. The suite was comfortable, quiet, nicely decorated, and it came with an utterly perfect view of the ocean. Plenty of fluffy white towels, bath products, clean kitchen and dining supplies, and lots of great magazines to sift through as we hung out in the living room area. Wifi service was available for free. It is a peaceful location that takes a good (windy!) drive (45 minutes from Redway/101) to get to from 101, but once you get there, you just want to sit out on the deck, watch the birds, and listen to the ocean hit the rocks. We sat on the deck with our coffee and savored the view. The drive should not deter anyone from going - it was a neat part of the experience.

The owners are such nice people! They asked that we call them once we got into Redway - because they value meeting each guest promptly upon arrival and to make sure they can show you everything you need to know about your suite and the area. They told us what supermarket (it is in Redway) to get any food we wanted to keep in the kitchen and they made us a dinner reservation at the Cove Restaurant in Shelter Cove (I had delicious fresh - caught that day - fish from Shelter Cove). They also gave us some tips as we headed out for a day trip visit to the Redwoods. My husband and I normally don't stay in inns when we travel, but we wanted to see the Redwoods and experience the Lost Coast. So glad I found this place on Trip Advisor and trusted the reviews I read.

There are other options for lodging in Shelter Cove - even though it is a tiny town. I would not even consider recommending anything other than the Spyglass Inn. I highly recommend the Spyglass Inn not just because the other options didn't seem that great, but because it really is a fabulous inn! You will see picturesque, unspoiled scenery, stay in a suite directly facing the ocean, and meet the lovely owners who sincerely care about their guests having a great experience (and you might even see Misty, their sweet cat!). So happy we stayed here!

Room Tip: We loved the Spyglass Suite. Would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingle Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were treated to a wonderful 5 night stay at Spyglass Inn by our good friends and had such a wonderful relaxing stay. The condo is beautiful, the ocean views are spectacular. Can't say enough about our hosts Richard and Margaret who made us feel like family.

Room Tip: Spyglass Inn has 4 condos and they all have a wonderful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
688 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
55 reviews
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove

Property: Spyglass Inn at Shelter Cove
Address: 118 Dolphin Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9160
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your luxury brand in Shelter Cove. When you are ready to treat that special person to a luxurious ocean front spa suite and experience a room at the top, we are just a phone call away. Please read our reviews. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing