We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Ranked #3 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We arrived at sunset and found our room to be a quiet and cozy refuge from city stops. We had to leave the next morning, but had some time to walk the beach and visit the nearby lighthouse. Staff was very helpful and kind in giving us directions and suggestions for places to eat. We hope to stay longer next time. Lovely and peaceful place at the end of a long and winding road.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Julie, the owner, is such a great host! We enjoyed her kindness all along: starting with letting us feel ok about our late arrival, then the lovely treats for us and for the kids, the cozy and pretty room and all the rest. The hotel is just great, beutifully located on the cliff, easy approach to the beach and to watch the seals, I could not ask for more. It takes about an our to get there from the main road, but hey, that's why this place is so magical! Once you're there, you don't need anything and it's lovely to spend time on the beach, watching dozens of sea birds and seals.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orly_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, General Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I know the road getting here is short in miles and long on time and nerves, but you are so right - once here, Shelter Cove is so worth it. We hope to see you here again. ~~Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

All I can say is this is a great place to come - shelter Cove in general. The black sand beach was so pretty and only 4 other people there. Now if getting there just wasn't such a beating. We drove up from Calistoga/wine country and took the scenic Hwy 1 up the coast, stopping for lunch and to sight see. It took us 9 hours!!! We were thinking like 4-5. The 21 mile road off the main hwy to get to Shelter Cove actually takes 1 hour to drive because of the windy and narrowness. It kinda wore on the nerves a bit. BUT it is worth it once you get there!!!! The Tides Inn is very nice, well kept and clean. The only suggestions I would have to Julie is please put a TV in the bedrooms. I know your on vaca and we really never watched TV except we need it to fall asleep to. There is no a/c but I"m sure this is normal for this area since it was in the 40-50s when we woke up. You have no choice but to sleep with windows and the patio door open just to have air moving around. Even during the day when it was 80's you have to leave the patio door open. Being from Texas we like a/c A LOT!! So no TV in bedroom and no A/C are my only negatives.

The view and having access to the tide pools right in front of your hotel made it all worth it. My husband and I spent over an hour playing in the tides pools, searching for sea life. It was so relaxing - we literally forgot about everything else and was totally in the moment.

Dining is a little difficult in this town. There are like 3 places and one is only open Sun-Wed, one open for lunch and one only for dinner, etc. I would recommend getting one of rooms with a kitchen and bring cereal, snacks, etc. You can eat at the Chart Room most nights. They are only open for dinner but close early if it's slow. I would always call and make a reservation so they will know to stay open!!!

Room Tip: clean, well kept, recommend getting a room with a kitchen so you can make some of your meals. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, General Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
There is a wonderful dinner house open across the street from us on Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. The Chart Room is open Saturday, Sunday, and the rest of the week; the pizza is great and breakfast and lunch can be found at three different places. There really is a lot of food considering how small we are down here by the shore. On the other hand, the road is a bit windy and steep in places - but paved and has a yellow line all the way through. Twenty-one miles feels like a really long time as you're driving it, though. As to the heat - 80 is considered a heatwave here in Shelter Cove. There is not an air conditioning unit for as far as the eye can see down here. Being from Texas, I understand - but 80 probably felt pretty good, huh? I am from the desert of Nevada and I know that 80 can feel hot when I'm so used to the 65 - 70's here. I'm glad you enjoyed our little piece of heaven. I hope you can return to us. ~~Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This Inn is directly on the shoreline. The rooms are immaculately clean and well appointed, and the service provided is excellent. The natural beauty and quiet (except for the roar of the ocean) is exceptional. Great for exploring tide pools and the nearby black sand beach. The one road to take to get here is very windy and steep and will take at least one hour from the starting point in Redway/Garberville. Bring groceries that can be refrigerated or microwaved in the room at the Inn as there are few restaurant alternatives. If you come prepared knowing this you will have an absolutely perfect stay.

Room Tip: All rome have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flossyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

After seeing their web site, we decided to give Julie, the manager, a call and asked for a room on June 14. We got the room reserved, and after a 4 hours drive from Oregon, we got to the hotel. The last 23 miles took 1 hour to drive, but was worth every minut of it after we looked at the view from our room. The room was nothing to write home about, but it was clean, and Julie, (manager) will do anything for you to feel like you are home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

To get to Shelter Cove, you have to drive about 20 miles up and down a mountain, through some extremely twisty roads. Trust me, it is worth it. The result of its location is a small community that feels cut off from modern life. The Tides Inn is a small collection of rooms overlooking the Pacific, with waves lapping at the shore beneath. We arrived after the office has closed, but we had a package with our key waiting on us, and contact info for the owner - who stays on the property. The owner is a sweetheart of a woman who loaned us a dvd to watch...and let us play with her cute little dog as well. Finally, the beach in front of the inn is a spot for seals. Apparently moms will leave their babies there while they go hunt, then come back to get them later in the evening. Drinking wine from our balcony as the sun set, and watching a baby seal...pretty good day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcath07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for a glowing review. We are so glad you enjoyed our sites and sounds - to include our baby seals waiting for their Moms on our beach. The Moms only leave their babies on "safe" beaches, so you know how quiet and peaceful our beach is. Thanks for staying with us. Remember the Winter Special is November 1st through April 30th - three nights for the price of two. Hope you can return soon. ~~Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Shelter Cove is a magical spot seemingly in the middle of nowhere, along the Lost Coast and is abundant with natural beauty. The Tides Inn is right on the water, we had a suite with a king bed in the bedroom and a queen murphy bed in the living room. The kitchen was large and well-equipped. This place is spotlessly clean and feels brand new. We had a very comfortable stay and will return. If you crave being near the ocean to recharge your batteries, this is the place. Just a few steps away are stairs that lead down to the water, the tidepools are wonderful to explore. Our cell phones didn't work here (AT&T) giving us one less distraction to worry about! If you are getting a room with a kitchen, try to buy your groceries in Garberville or Redway, there is only one general store in Shelter Cove and it is pricey but well-stocked.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilleSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for a marvelous review. We try very hard to make our guests feel welcome. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't forget the Winter Special runs every year between November 1st and April 30th - three nights for the price of two. Hope to see you back here... ~~Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove

Property: The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Address: 59 Surf Pt, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove is Northern California's own little piece of paradise. We are on the ocean; every room with an unbelievably beautiful ocean view. You can sit outside, watch the whales go by and catch a glimpse of the moms and their babies. We have a family of sea otters right outside your door; sometimes they appear to be playing just for you. The tide pools below are choke-full of sea life. Everywhere you look, there is the framing of a beautiful photograph. Bring your camera, binoculars, and a good book and relax with the surf pounding on the beach below you. We have deluxe standard rooms and one bedroom suites, some with fully appointed kitchens. All of our beds are triple-sheeted with plenty of pillows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn Of Shelter Cove Hotel Shelter Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing