We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Oceanfront getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Ranked #3 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Redding, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Oceanfront getaway!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Had a wonderful stay at The Tides Inn! The highlight, of course, was our oceanfront balcony. Mini suite was comfortable, cozy. Nice additions were the high directors chairs to see over the railings & the comfy blankets. Shelter cove is remote, which we enjoyed, & laid back. Bill was pleasant & helpful with local info. Will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Millville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I would highly recommend the Tides Inn. It is a warm and cozy place, yet spacious. We had room 5A, I believe, on the second level. The room is perfect and immaculate. I slept on the Murphy bed which is very comfortable. I had the fireplace nearby, and also the sliding doors with the sound of the ocean nearby. The view was spectacular. The owners made the most of all the space available, it is absolutely perfect. The road to the Tides Inn is a bit challenging, but definitely worth it. I would love to do it again. Definitely get a room with a kitchen, and bring groceries with you. Bill and Julia were wonderful host and willing to share their information about areas to visit. Thank you for your hospitality.

Thank you,
Mary and Sherrie

Room Tip: Had 5 A I believe it was on second level could be 5 B but it was perfect. I would get it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just go! Ask questions, have doubts, worry about the roads, think about how long it will take no matter where you start, AND just Go! Getting to and being in Shelter Cove gives some of the most impressive and valued experiences of the geography and flora or California. Shelter Cove's geography reminds me of the Monterey Peninsula without all of the people. The Black Sand Beach is not really sand, but pebbles of serpentine as small as grains of sand to boulder-size rocks. Crashing seas, seals, whales spouting...!
Then there is the Tides Inn. My wife and I stayed in the full suite and as most others have said, it is extraordinary. I had NO negatives about the room, cleanliness, furnishings. We later stayed a night at the Inn of the Lost Coast and although the price is less, only the view compares...no brainer, stay at the Tides Inn!

Room Tip: Choose the full suite for the kitchen. There are only a few places to eat here and the food we brou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I stayed in the full suite (with full kitchen, living room+fireplace, dining area, bathroom and bedroom) and it was lovely. Everything was supplied, from pots and pans and wine openers to director's chairs high enough to see over the balcony railing (it's a beautiful view of the ocean - I could have stared at it all day). In addition, the bed and linens were very comfortable.

Tips:
There is free wifi but you should download any movies or shows you want to watch ahead of time (on iTunes etc), because you're not allowed to stream anything without paying an additional fee (something like $10).

There is satellite TV but it does not receive the network channels (NBC etc). There is a DVD player and a list of DVDs to borrow in a very helpful binder provided in the room.

The road to Shelter Cove is very steep and windy - plan to arrive during daylight hours if possible, and do pull over to let the locals pass.

Go to Seal Rock a short walk or drive from the Tides Inn - it's wonderful to watch the seals there! Also, we saw otters in the water just in front of the inn.

Humboldt Redwoods State Park is a good day trip - Avenue of the Giants is a lovely drive and definitely walk around Founder's grove, Mahan (?) and the Women's grove. Bring a picnic because there's not a lot of food around Founder's grove.

During the winter months, there are deals available - we got one where if you stayed two nights you got the third night free.

Room Tip: I'd choose the full suite again. Since there are not many food options in the town, it's goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmaggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The drive in to Shelter Cove is not a fast one based on the winding road. Be prepared for the "local aromas" as your drive in (if you know Humboldt County, you know what I'm talking about). The Inn is perched beautifully on bluff with vast ocean views. A short trip over to Avenue of the Giants is a must!

We opted to get a room without a kitchen. It only had a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. For future trips, we would opt for one with a kitchen. Shelter Cove does not have much to offer in markets or restaurants, so be prepared. Either eat out of town, or plan on bringing some of your own stuff to cook.

Sleeping arrangements were good. A comfortable bed along with a open an window to hear the crashing waves made for a good nights sleep.

All-in-all, we will return at some point.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Clair Shores, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at The Tides Inn in Shelter Cove for the tail end of our honeymoon. The room was clean and up to date. Bed was comfy, but had very flat pillows which made for rough sleeping. Every room has an ocean view, and you are literally right on the ocean. You fall asleep to the sounds of crashing waves, and awake to the barking harbor seals gathered on the rocks in the cove just outside your door. Its a very laid back place, not very much to do or see unless you like to be outside. Definitely check out the tide pools, the black sand beach, and take a drive on the scenic byway Avenue of the Giants. I recommend bring some easy snacks, breakfasts and lunches as there is only one restaurant that was recommended to us, open only for dinner and only a few nights a week. Each room has a fridge, microwave, and disposable plates, etc...are available. Some rooms have full kitchens, and I would maybe spring for one if I were to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here for one night In September. The road was a bit harrowing, but the car did fine. Shelter Cove is an isolated, odd place. Yes, the ocean is beautiful. You can scramble along the kelp-strewn rocks at low tide. Otherwise, people were walking on the streets along the ocean in the housing development nearby.
Our smallish room was clean and the innkeeper supplied a nice anniversary basket. Yes, we had to promise not to smoke (sign here) or clean fish in the room, no big deal.
No dead seals in view, although we did see the turkey vultures and enjoyed the tide pools.
The problem with Shelter Cove is that there are very few dining options (we brought our own food) and the hiking opportunities seem to require 4 wheel drive vehicles. It might be great for fishing, but we don't fish. In short, there isn't much to do except enjoy the ocean and the quiet.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Pacific Ocean with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLightOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.3 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
68 reviews
16.1 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove

Property: The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Address: 59 Surf Pt, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove is Northern California's own little piece of paradise. We are on the ocean; every room with an unbelievably beautiful ocean view. You can sit outside, watch the whales go by and catch a glimpse of the moms and their babies. We have a family of sea otters right outside your door; sometimes they appear to be playing just for you. The tide pools below are choke-full of sea life. Everywhere you look, there is the framing of a beautiful photograph. Bring your camera, binoculars, and a good book and relax with the surf pounding on the beach below you. We have deluxe standard rooms and one bedroom suites, some with fully appointed kitchens. All of our beds are triple-sheeted with plenty of pillows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn Of Shelter Cove Hotel Shelter Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing