We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Nearby Hotels
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn(Shelter Cove)(Great Value!)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garberville Motel(Garberville)
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Fortuna(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Suites(Ferndale)(Great Value!)
US$134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Fortuna)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Inn of the Lost Coast(Shelter Cove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
64
19
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
19
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstide poolsfull kitchenlost coastsea lifequeen murphy beda true gemgeneral storeseparate bedroomget awayoff the beaten pathblack sand beacha wonderful staytidessealscovebalconysuite
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great view, clean room. No tv in the bedroom, no a/c (it was pretty warm so could have used it), minimal cable channels available, and spotty phone reception. No room service and extremely limited food options in Shelter Cove. The beach directly below the inn was awesome! Lots of seals to watch and tide pools to check out. Odd little town with not much to do. The black sand beach down the road from the inn smelled awful. Too bad this town is so depressing, the inn itself is not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waterbaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

We were pleased that you could spend some time with us in Shelter Cove and that you enjoyed the view and the cleanliness of our Inn. You must have been staying in one of our suites, as all of our rooms have television, but the suites have them in the living rooms rather than the bedrooms. Regardless, it sounds like you had a great time exploring the tide pools and beach just below the inn and that your primary concerns were more about the remote location (few restaurants). You are correct about that :) The restaurants that are in Shelter Cove offer a nice variety and, if you have particular requirements, we have 3 (soon to be 4) full kitchen suites that would be a great option should you choose to return. As to the smell of the beach down the road, you must have been here during an algae bloom or some other natural event that occasionally happens in the ocean. Most of the who we meet coming in to the Cove for the first time have more to say about the quality of air here than a smell on the beach--so we are sorry that you didn't experience that. If you return and your cell phones still don't work (Verizon works best) please do avail yourself of the phone that we keep available to guests 24/7 or ask to use the office phone -- we always want our guests to let their friends and family know that they are safe and enjoying a beautiful little respite on the Lost Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wow, what an amazing inn and town...!!! I'm ready to move there!!! On Wednesday, September 4th, my wife and I left southwest Minnesota to begin our 4,500 mile vacation that would take a short but long week and a half. Wednesday night, we stayed in Spearfish, SD. Thursday night and Friday night, we stayed in Yellowstone NP. Saturday night, we stayed in Redmond, OR. Sunday night, we stayed in Gold Beach, OR. Monday night, September 9th, we stayed at The Tides Inn!! From there, we made stops in Bodega Bay, CA, Half Moon Bay, CA, Elko, NV and Rapid City, SD. It was so good to see Shelter Cove on top of the hill after a curvy drive, which went very quick, to get there. We arrived around 4:00pm and were delighted to amazing and quick service with friendly smiles. After checking in, she showed us to our room with the help of her friendly dog. The large, spacious and amazing room was practically on top of the ocean - wow!! She helped us with dinner ideas and told us about the seal down the road. For supper, we enjoyed a peaceful walk to Delgada Pizza and greatly enjoyed our time taking pictures along the way of the seal at Seal Rock. My wife is in a power wheelchair, so we were unable to find any accessible seating at Delgada Pizza which worked out just fine as we ordered the pizza to go. After we placed our order, we enjoyed another peaceful walk back to The Tides Inn. When we returned, I drove back to Delgada Pizza and picked up our amazing pizza. That night, the fog had settled in, so it was a bit cool for us to sit outside; however, we greatly enjoyed having the window open all night long as we felt the cool breeze and fell asleep to the hypnotizing waves. The following morning while my wife slept in, I enjoyed exploring the rocky shoreline with its tide pools. I found a starfish which was awesome! The best thing was that while we slept the night before probably 20-30 seals floated in from somewhere. I enjoyed taking pictures of them the following morning! Some people are still trying to figure out what they want to be when they grow up...I want to be a seal taking a nap on the rocks in the sun outside The Tides Inn! If you're on vacation in northern California, get off the beaten path and enjoy a peaceful, recharging, amazing time at The Tides Inn in Shelter Cove - what an amazing place!!

Room Tip: Stay here!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here with family of 5 (kids 13, 11, 9) and had a fabulous vacation. We stayed in the full suite which was nice to have a separate master bedroom and a full kitchen. Unit was clean and comfortable, owner was helpful. Great location - amazing views, sunsets were fabulous including a lightning show off the ocean. Tidepools right down the steps where the kids could spend hours exploring. Seals off the rocks nearby too. Walked to Black Sands Beach (one mile) and it was incredible. Spent a day relaxing at Shelter Cove beach (less than 1/2 mile walk) - there is a lighthouse to visit on the way! Small remote town - a great place to truly relax and unwind. After driving all the way up Hwy 1 from Southern California, the drive into Shelter Cove wasn't bad (though I wouldn't recommend in the dark or bad weather). Loved our vacation and hope to be back again.

Room Tip: Suite was perfect for a family.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rettabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you want Times Square, Hustle, Bustle and Hassle - THIS ISN'T IT.

If you want true peace and quiet, walking the shore, incredible beauty, and a great place for a family to gather, this is one of the best.

You can hear your heart beat and blood pressure reduce.

Our family group of 12 had a great gathering, cooked meals, ate in some of the local restaurants, and had a great bonding experience. It rained several days, and we didn't even care. We were where we wanted to be - a great spot.

The owner was very nice and helped with anything he could.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you like remote, then this is the place for you. We did not care for it as the rooms did not have telephones, no air conditioners, no clean towels unless you left them on the floor in the morning & no clean drinking glasses every morning, they were just rinsed out. Bill the owner is friendly & did all the accommodations in the rooms along with booking & discharging. The office is closed at night. Too remote for us & too far from civilization. The scenery is lovely, ocean front, but I grew up on the waters of LI & nothing can compare to the beauty of the beaches of LI. Oh, the only heat we got was from a portable heater. Road was rough getting there, in fact a local went off the road the day after we arrived. No restaurant on premises. No internet or cell svc.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness & no restaurant. This place ranks for views, but that it in my opinion.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bon5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

We are always pleased to share our remote niche of the California Coast! As the only community on what is called the "Lost Coast," we know that Shelter Cove not a place for everybody. However, we believe that our coastal beauty and wildlife are unsurpassed. We let everyone know (in our confirmation email) some of the "issues" of remote beauty. For example, as remote as we are, technology is encroaching and cell phones actually now work in the Cove (reception is best for Verizon and US Cellular customers). We do leave a land-line available to guests throughout the night should their cell phones not work. We, actually, are one of the Inns that has offered wi-fi for several years. As to Bon5454's other concerns, he/she is correct, we leave a note in our rooms asking our guests to help us "go green" by indicating their desire for fresh linens by placing used linens on the floor or in the tub. If they are hung on the bars, the assumption is that they need not be replaced. Our heaters are not portable: 6 of our rooms have gas fireplaces/heaters and the others have fixed wall units. And, happily for us, air-conditioning is never needed on the Lost Coast as the temperature rarely rises above 70 degrees Fahrenheit and we always experience a sweet ocean breeze. One of our local restaurants is right across the street, more fine dining is a available less than a mile away, and pizza, fish & chips, and crepes are within walk distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews