We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost Coast Trail Haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Ranked #3 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lost Coast Trail Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We finished the Lost Coast Trail a night early and just wanted a nice place to shower, watch the sunset and sleep. They were so nice and helpful. Several other places treated us like a nuisance for asking about an available room. The couple at Tides were great and even gave us a lovely discount because we were happy to take a room that had a broken TV (we even told them we had no use for it anyway).

The room was very clean. Every room has a beautiful view just feet from the cliffs and ocean. The shower was big and great water pressure. By far the cheapest rate and definitely worth every penny which is hardly ever true these days.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our second visit to The Tides Inn & it was just as amazing as our prior one! Shelter Cove is like no other town on the California coast. It is relatively untouched. Yes, it is remote, but that is one of the biggest factors for returning for a long weekend in this piece of heaven. In a world with so much coming at you on a daily basis, there are few ways to totally unwind. This is it!

The Tides Inn is steps away from the Ocean. We chose to spend the majority of our time on the balcony :). The view is magnificent. This alone would sell me on staying at The Tides Inn repeatedly. We saw a mama whale with her babies, seals, surf scooters.....amazing! Tide pools below the Inn were great. Saw multiple starfish!

Both Bill & Julia are so friendly & accommodating. Their dog AJ gave us canine companionship as we were missing our own four legged friend :)
The furnishings are comfortable, everything is clean & provided for you! The mini suite was just enough for us. Love the location of Tides Inn as it is next door to The Cove restaurant & short walk to the deli/store.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun2Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoy, very much, the relationship that we build with returning guests. So pleased that nature cooperated and gave you a stunning display. We hope to see you in the Cove again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Tides Inn was spacious, clean and had everything required for a comfortable stay. The full kitchen allowed us to prepare meals at the Inn. We didn't leave the Cove the whole time we were there...nor did we want to! Our favorite activity was beach combing and exploring tide pools, which was easy to do since we were just a few steps from the sea. The water was so close we had to speak loudly to talk over the sound of the crashing waves below our open windows. There's no pool but the ocean is better than a pool anyway! We are planning a return trip with more of our family along!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Only the best of establishments could find its way into the poetry of Shakespeare's Julius Caesar. My affair was simply the recognition and appreciation of the serene beauty of the location. All of the rooms were extremely clean and well-appointed, and the management welcomed me with quiet efficiency and sincere warmth, but it is the view that dazzles the eye and stirs the soul. I opened the windows and the curtains when I came into the room each evening, and I left them open all night long, so that I fell asleep listening to the surge and retreat of the waves and I woke up seeing the rising sun and undulating ocean. Shelter Cove - the two words embody the experience of friendship and community and relaxation.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great view, clean room. No tv in the bedroom, no a/c (it was pretty warm so could have used it), minimal cable channels available, and spotty phone reception. No room service and extremely limited food options in Shelter Cove. The beach directly below the inn was awesome! Lots of seals to watch and tide pools to check out. Odd little town with not much to do. The black sand beach down the road from the inn smelled awful. Too bad this town is so depressing, the inn itself is not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterbaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We were pleased that you could spend some time with us in Shelter Cove and that you enjoyed the view and the cleanliness of our Inn. You must have been staying in one of our suites, as all of our rooms have television, but the suites have them in the living rooms rather than the bedrooms. Regardless, it sounds like you had a great time exploring the tide pools and beach just below the inn and that your primary concerns were more about the remote location (few restaurants). You are correct about that :) The restaurants that are in Shelter Cove offer a nice variety and, if you have particular requirements, we have 3 (soon to be 4) full kitchen suites that would be a great option should you choose to return. As to the smell of the beach down the road, you must have been here during an algae bloom or some other natural event that occasionally happens in the ocean. Most of the who we meet coming in to the Cove for the first time have more to say about the quality of air here than a smell on the beach--so we are sorry that you didn't experience that. If you return and your cell phones still don't work (Verizon works best) please do avail yourself of the phone that we keep available to guests 24/7 or ask to use the office phone -- we always want our guests to let their friends and family know that they are safe and enjoying a beautiful little respite on the Lost Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wow, what an amazing inn and town...!!! I'm ready to move there!!! On Wednesday, September 4th, my wife and I left southwest Minnesota to begin our 4,500 mile vacation that would take a short but long week and a half. Wednesday night, we stayed in Spearfish, SD. Thursday night and Friday night, we stayed in Yellowstone NP. Saturday night, we stayed in Redmond, OR. Sunday night, we stayed in Gold Beach, OR. Monday night, September 9th, we stayed at The Tides Inn!! From there, we made stops in Bodega Bay, CA, Half Moon Bay, CA, Elko, NV and Rapid City, SD. It was so good to see Shelter Cove on top of the hill after a curvy drive, which went very quick, to get there. We arrived around 4:00pm and were delighted to amazing and quick service with friendly smiles. After checking in, she showed us to our room with the help of her friendly dog. The large, spacious and amazing room was practically on top of the ocean - wow!! She helped us with dinner ideas and told us about the seal down the road. For supper, we enjoyed a peaceful walk to Delgada Pizza and greatly enjoyed our time taking pictures along the way of the seal at Seal Rock. My wife is in a power wheelchair, so we were unable to find any accessible seating at Delgada Pizza which worked out just fine as we ordered the pizza to go. After we placed our order, we enjoyed another peaceful walk back to The Tides Inn. When we returned, I drove back to Delgada Pizza and picked up our amazing pizza. That night, the fog had settled in, so it was a bit cool for us to sit outside; however, we greatly enjoyed having the window open all night long as we felt the cool breeze and fell asleep to the hypnotizing waves. The following morning while my wife slept in, I enjoyed exploring the rocky shoreline with its tide pools. I found a starfish which was awesome! The best thing was that while we slept the night before probably 20-30 seals floated in from somewhere. I enjoyed taking pictures of them the following morning! Some people are still trying to figure out what they want to be when they grow up...I want to be a seal taking a nap on the rocks in the sun outside The Tides Inn! If you're on vacation in northern California, get off the beaten path and enjoy a peaceful, recharging, amazing time at The Tides Inn in Shelter Cove - what an amazing place!!

Room Tip: Stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here with family of 5 (kids 13, 11, 9) and had a fabulous vacation. We stayed in the full suite which was nice to have a separate master bedroom and a full kitchen. Unit was clean and comfortable, owner was helpful. Great location - amazing views, sunsets were fabulous including a lightning show off the ocean. Tidepools right down the steps where the kids could spend hours exploring. Seals off the rocks nearby too. Walked to Black Sands Beach (one mile) and it was incredible. Spent a day relaxing at Shelter Cove beach (less than 1/2 mile walk) - there is a lighthouse to visit on the way! Small remote town - a great place to truly relax and unwind. After driving all the way up Hwy 1 from Southern California, the drive into Shelter Cove wasn't bad (though I wouldn't recommend in the dark or bad weather). Loved our vacation and hope to be back again.

Room Tip: Suite was perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rettabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.3 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove

Property: The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Address: 59 Surf Pt, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove is Northern California's own little piece of paradise. We are on the ocean; every room with an unbelievably beautiful ocean view. You can sit outside, watch the whales go by and catch a glimpse of the moms and their babies. We have a family of sea otters right outside your door; sometimes they appear to be playing just for you. The tide pools below are choke-full of sea life. Everywhere you look, there is the framing of a beautiful photograph. Bring your camera, binoculars, and a good book and relax with the surf pounding on the beach below you. We have deluxe standard rooms and one bedroom suites, some with fully appointed kitchens. All of our beds are triple-sheeted with plenty of pillows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn Of Shelter Cove Hotel Shelter Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing