We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Ranked #3 of 3 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Tides & want to recommend it to everyone traveling to Shelter Cove. The hotel is wonderful: clean, very comfortable with an ocean view. A place to relax & get away from the world!!! We WILL be back for a much longer stay!!!! Thank you Bill!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a place to turn everything off and relax, starting with the beautiful drive up 101. We had WIFI coverage but no cell phone reception (ATT). We had room #6 ($165 in mid-July) and set up our table on the walkway in front of the room... all the rooms here have great ocean views with rocks, tide pools, a beach, pelicans and sea lions. Do not go to one of the pricier places-- their views are not as good. The rooms are bright and clean and we fell asleep to the sound of the waves. There is a long beach, Black Sands, where you can walk for a long long time. We wrote and read looking at the water and watched movies at night (there are televisions and DVD players and they have a pretty large stash of films to borrow. There are microwave ovens and toasters... we did not have a kitchen, which would have been good if we had stayed longer, as the food options are very limited...Bill was very helpful and offered ideas for day trips. This is called the Lost Coast because they didn't put Route 1 through... and it is quiet, calm, without traffic. Check the weather before you book, because it is spectacular when it's sunny and warm. Bill is also a real estate agent... ocean view houses are cheaper here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Tides Inn and only wish we could have stayed longer! The rooms were spotless and the bed so comfortable! Sat on our balcony watching the ocean and at night fell asleep to the sound of the crashing waves! Bill and Julia were the perfect hosts! We rented a unit with a kitchen so we were able to make our meals as there are only two restaurants in town - a pizza place and a nice fancy restaurant! Bill let us use his BBQ and we grilled some steaks! Can't wait to go again! They have a winter special where you pay for two nights and get the 3rd for free! Great place...you won't be disappointed! E & S

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallyvaughnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We finished the Lost Coast Trail a night early and just wanted a nice place to shower, watch the sunset and sleep. They were so nice and helpful. Several other places treated us like a nuisance for asking about an available room. The couple at Tides were great and even gave us a lovely discount because we were happy to take a room that had a broken TV (we even told them we had no use for it anyway).

The room was very clean. Every room has a beautiful view just feet from the cliffs and ocean. The shower was big and great water pressure. By far the cheapest rate and definitely worth every penny which is hardly ever true these days.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our second visit to The Tides Inn & it was just as amazing as our prior one! Shelter Cove is like no other town on the California coast. It is relatively untouched. Yes, it is remote, but that is one of the biggest factors for returning for a long weekend in this piece of heaven. In a world with so much coming at you on a daily basis, there are few ways to totally unwind. This is it!

The Tides Inn is steps away from the Ocean. We chose to spend the majority of our time on the balcony :). The view is magnificent. This alone would sell me on staying at The Tides Inn repeatedly. We saw a mama whale with her babies, seals, surf scooters.....amazing! Tide pools below the Inn were great. Saw multiple starfish!

Both Bill & Julia are so friendly & accommodating. Their dog AJ gave us canine companionship as we were missing our own four legged friend :)
The furnishings are comfortable, everything is clean & provided for you! The mini suite was just enough for us. Love the location of Tides Inn as it is next door to The Cove restaurant & short walk to the deli/store.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun2Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Manager at The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoy, very much, the relationship that we build with returning guests. So pleased that nature cooperated and gave you a stunning display. We hope to see you in the Cove again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Tides Inn was spacious, clean and had everything required for a comfortable stay. The full kitchen allowed us to prepare meals at the Inn. We didn't leave the Cove the whole time we were there...nor did we want to! Our favorite activity was beach combing and exploring tide pools, which was easy to do since we were just a few steps from the sea. The water was so close we had to speak loudly to talk over the sound of the crashing waves below our open windows. There's no pool but the ocean is better than a pool anyway! We are planning a return trip with more of our family along!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Only the best of establishments could find its way into the poetry of Shakespeare's Julius Caesar. My affair was simply the recognition and appreciation of the serene beauty of the location. All of the rooms were extremely clean and well-appointed, and the management welcomed me with quiet efficiency and sincere warmth, but it is the view that dazzles the eye and stirs the soul. I opened the windows and the curtains when I came into the room each evening, and I left them open all night long, so that I fell asleep listening to the surge and retreat of the waves and I woke up seeing the rising sun and undulating ocean. Shelter Cove - the two words embody the experience of friendship and community and relaxation.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.3 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
15.5 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove

Property: The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove
Address: 59 Surf Pt, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Inn of Shelter Cove is Northern California's own little piece of paradise. We are on the ocean; every room with an unbelievably beautiful ocean view. You can sit outside, watch the whales go by and catch a glimpse of the moms and their babies. We have a family of sea otters right outside your door; sometimes they appear to be playing just for you. The tide pools below are choke-full of sea life. Everywhere you look, there is the framing of a beautiful photograph. Bring your camera, binoculars, and a good book and relax with the surf pounding on the beach below you. We have deluxe standard rooms and one bedroom suites, some with fully appointed kitchens. All of our beds are triple-sheeted with plenty of pillows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn Of Shelter Cove Hotel Shelter Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing