We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn of the Lost Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed Views”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed there twice in the past year. I am pretty familiar with the California coast and cannot think of a hotel that has a better ocean view from its rooms. The hotel sits on a cliff right above the crashing surf. The view of the uninhabited coastline to the north is spectacular. The rooms are reasonably priced, clean, comfortable and they allow pets.
As others have noted, the drive from Hwy 101 to Shelter Cove is a bit challenging. The locals know it like the back of their hands and come flying through. Fortunately, there a plenty of turn-outs and once I managed to swallow my pride and allow folks to pass the drive wasn’t so bad. The reward when you reach the coast makes it well worth the effort.

One caveat: If you are coming down the coast from the north, double-check your GPS directions. Mine took me down a long dirt road better suited for 4-wheel drive vehicles (which I did not have). If I had checked I would have known to go on the paved road a little to the south.

My only complaint about the area is that there are not many places to eat. There used to be an Italian restaurant across the road from the inn, but it recently closed-down. There is a pizza place next to the hotel office which is quite good, and a coffee shop on the ground floor. Other than that the choices are limited which could be a problem on a longer stay.

Nevertheless, if you are exploring California’s northern coast, you really should check this place out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    57
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
110
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you drive all the way to Shelter Cove to just look and leave, you may think that there isn’t much there but the view. But, if you stay over night, the magic of the crashing waves and ocean breezes will lull you into loving the area. It reminds me of Beach Loop Drive in Bandon, Oregon. Staying for a few days here with a Jacuzzi in your room and a sauna is a great luxury and worth the long, winding, kind of treacherous road. Make sure you have a full gas tank and good brakes. 25 miles takes about an hour to trevail. Pull over for speeding locals. The room had all the luxuries: Large HD TV w/ dvd player, gas fireplace, small jacuzzi (Not really big enough for 2, unless you’re tiny) looks out at the waves. The fluffy robes were a nice touch. kitchenette with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, sink. tile bathroom w/ combo shower/tub. private balcony with comfy patio chairs overlooking the ocean with the cliffs below. The cliffs are lighted by the hotel with spot lights for a few hours each evening. Breathtaking view. The room was pleasant, but heavily scented with Febreze odor remover. These days, since everyone has allergies, they should at least use the unscented version If they think it helps cover the dampness. Even the sheets, bedspread, pillows, etc were so saturated that I had to wash anything that touched those surfaces when I got home. The walls are fairly thin, so you do hear the neighbor’s shower, etc. Mostly the sound of the waves covers that. Otherwise, this was a delightful stay with many thoughtful and helpful touches. Pet friendly, On site Pizza Parlor with Ice Cream and Baked goods. Coffee shop that opens at 7 am. Close drive / long walk to Black Sand (gravel) Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HumboldtAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here in June, following a drive up Highway 1; we hadn't reckoned on the last 20 miles to Shelter Cove !
When we arrived, our hosts were very welcoming. Once we got to the room, we just sat on the deck and watched the Pacific Ocean and a spectacular sunset - wow !
We got good pizza from Delgado's, no complaints - it's just a shame that such a stunning location doesn't have an eat in restaurant.
For escapists, this really felt like getting away from everything.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the moment I arrived I was treated with warmth and hospitality. Celebrated my 35th anniversary at this hotel.the managers were awesome.the mr.gave us a bottle of champagne on ice and the mrs.gave us a bouquet of pink flowers.the view looking out your giant window while sitting in a hot tub / jacuzzi was just amazing.the ocean in its majestic beauty. Even had a full moon. Seagulls ate lunch with us out on the beach. Just worth it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoolehua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Breathtaking view, peaceful and super quite location. It is ideal if you need a break from every day life. Staff were very nice and helpful. You would wake up to a beautiful ocean view and can watch the sunset from your balcony.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we try & stay 3 times a year in tthe same room, bringing our food so we never have to leave the room. why with this view, mike the owner has always been great to us. we will always stay here because of the room,view & service, also the way mike has treated us

Room Tip: i would tell you the room #, but then you might bee there when i want that 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Flew in to Shelter Cove with my sweetheart and stayed here. Third floor room with a deck. Awesome view of the ocean and waves crashing against the offshore rocks. Service was excellent, and it was great to have a pizza place in the same building for dinner and then a coffee shop and sandwich place for breakfast and lunch.

We will be back. This place is a gem. As a pilot, they loan out a van for trips around the cove.

Room Tip: Third floor corner room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank massiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
15.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
688 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
55 reviews
15.6 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Lost Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Lost Coast

Property: Inn of the Lost Coast
Address: 205 Wave Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9158
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Lost Coast Hotel Shelter Cove
Hotel Of The Lost Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing