We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B”
Review of Idle A Wile

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bundanoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Idle A Wile
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just spent a weekend at Idle A Wile and had a great time, Stefan is the perfect host, cooks an amazing breakfast,pays attention to every detail, cosy fire, comfortable bed, rooms clean warm & comfortable. Have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrannyJules2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here over the Australia Day weekend. Stefan was an amazing host that cooked a delicous hearty breakfast. Beautiful rooms and large dining area. Loved the library and the homely feel of the place. Will definately be returning.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamalee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berry NSW
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Just stayed for 2 nights at idle a wile....It was a perfect place to celebrate a birthday with friends..cosy fires, wonderful food .healthy and huge breakfasts...beautifully cooked and presented dinners including a perfect "Gateau Belle Helene" for the birthday girl.... Rooms were great...warm, clean and comfortable.
Interesting property with so many artworks and collectibles but maintains comfort and relaxation as a priority. Neville & Stefan are generous and delightful hosts and I hope to visit again

Room Tip: All rooms appear delightful but you may choose a colour that you prefer...I had the blue room overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had the pleasure of staying two nights with Neville & Stefan at 'Idle A Wile' last weekend. It was so nice to get out of Sydney and into the lovely Southern Highlands and then to be made to feel so welcome. We stayed in the Purple room which was lovely, comfortable & clean. Each room comes with it's own ensuite and the blackout curtains were wonderful if you wanted to have a sleep in.
The food was delicious and the service was present without ever feeling intrusive. We loved browsing through the collection of fascinating books and Art works that fill the residence. Each time my eyes managed to focus on something I'd not noticed earlier.
The breakfasts are so good and a great way to start the day before heading out to explore the area, particularly the numerous Wineries that are popping up in the region. Plus you can enjoy the wine when you get back with the wonderful food that the Hosts cook.
Would happily return as it was so relaxing and such a great escape from the big smoke.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Run by a lovely couple, we will certainly stay again. A very characterful property, the purple room was well furnished with a modern, high quality en suite shower room. Although we only stayed one night, there are lots of comfy sofas in the lounge rooms and a lifetime of books and collectibles so there's plenty to keep you amused if you were to Idle a Wile...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_EC_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at ' Idle a Wile' aptly named - for a couple of nights with friends. There are 5 double rooms each with queen bed and en suites. There is the red room, the green room, the blue room, the honey room and the purple room. So if you have an aversion to one particular colour you can choose.
The rooms are very smartly furnished with crisp sheets, doonas and a couple of easy chairs, heaters, electric blankets windows that open. The only thing missing in the bathroom was a hair dryer and complimentary shampoo and conditioner.
The house itself is a lovely eclectic mix of furnishings, wall art and collectibles. There are two sitting area with fires, magazines, books and music. Very comfortable and relaxing. Short walk to the centre of town and the local pub.
Complimentary savories are served in the evening and dinner can be provided as sit down A la Carte in the restaurant. Breakfast is included in the overnight tariff and was fantastic. Fresh fruit, fruit compote, Freshly cooked berry muffins, chunky toast, scrambled eggs etc , bacon,sausages.The list goes on.
Your hosts are Neville and Stephan, both really nice guys who know what friendly and good service is all about.
I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a laid back relaxing break from the hustle and bustle or to meet up with friends. The National Park and lots of walking trails are nearby.

Room Tip: Pick your favourite colour. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is an excellent bed and breakfast (and dinner if you want it) in the Southern HIghlands town of Bundanoon. It's got a very laid back and country house feeling, although and although it's not a huge property nor grand in the large scale sense, it feels like you're staying in a big country house where there are nooks and crannies you can sit in front of a fire, read, walk around the gardens, etc. There is also a very nice restaurant,. In comparison to other properties in the area it is way ahead in terns of style and service, and the guest rooms are good value as they include a really good breakfast (served to your table) in a lovely conservarory-like room. It's always best to check if there are groups booked as sometimes - I believe - most of the rooms can be taken by a group and then it's like you're the odd one out in a house full of friends, but the guys who run the place will let you know - they're both really nice and attentive. From memory, the place doesn't allow kids under 16 so that's definitely a plus!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundanoon
0.2 mi away
Bundanoon Hotel
Bundanoon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bundanoon
95 reviews
6.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
682 reviews
13.2 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bundanoon Country Inn Motel
0.6 mi away
Bundanoon Lodge
Bundanoon Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bundanoon
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bundanoon Guest House
The Bundanoon Guest House
#4 of 4 in Bundanoon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle A Wile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle A Wile

Property: Idle A Wile
Address: 2 Penrose Rd, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bundanoon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bundanoon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge at Idle A Wile has 4 en suited bedrooms. (8 People maximum.) The kitchen and dining room is fully equipped for stays from 2 nights up to a week. A spacious lounge with fireplace and library. Free WiFi. IPod dock also supplied. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing