We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointing”

Birches of Daylesford
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daylesford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birches of Daylesford
Ranked #12 of 23 Daylesford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We returned it The Birches for a 4 night stay on the 19 th June 2014. I should have been concerned when after 6 phone calls and e mails from the owner,Patti I still received booking confirmation for the wrong month. This was sorted and we arrived on the Thursday at lunch time to a locked office door, finally the owner appeared in her dressing gown and wasn't expecting us, lucky the room was ready!!! We got told the wood at the door and bread in the fridge and the door was shut. The next day I got a call from Patti to ask when I was arriving ??????? I said well we all arrived yesterday . She had no idea
The room was dark, very outdated and in desperate need of an overhaul . There is no way my mother could get in the shower as it was over the deep spa . The blinds fell off the window every time we tried to pull them up. The fire was nice and cosy to sit by but the chairs and couch had holes in them , the couch so bad we didn't sit on it. I am not sure it had been dusted or painted in over 10 years. When we went to pay the day before at 3 pm the owner met us again at a locked door in a dressing gown and wasn't sure how to charge our credit cards., she is very abrupt .We wouldn't go back again and did look at other places for our visit next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happytraveller0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked the 'Birch' room for a mid week getaway from Melbourne and were so disappointed with this hotel that we didn't even end up staying the night. Firstly, the manager was not even there when we arrived so had to wait in the car for over an hour and a half for them to turn up. Then when she finally did show up, she looked very surprised to see us which means she totally forgot that we had a booking in the first place. To make matters worse, the room that we had booked was not even ready and when the manager took us to the room we found it to be very dark and dingy inside and there was no heating in either of the bedrooms. For $250 a night I think it is fair to expect a decent level of service and standard which we did not receive at this hotel. After leaving, we ended up getting a fantastic room at 'Central Springs Inn' which we would highly recommend and will definitely stay at again the next time we are in Daylesford.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chadsy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with a friend mid week. At $200, is was pretty good value for money comparing to other Daylesford accomodation. We stayed in the Attic Room. It was really big and bright, had glass bay windows and a balcony. King size bed, bathroom with spa (spa was quite old and needed some maintenance though), and lounge/kitchen area. Overall, a nice room, although the furniture needs an update as there is some weird stuff in there (the owner obviously has a cat obsession as there are pictures & references everywhere!). The owner was really weird and quit abrupt when we got there, didn't tell us her name either, it was just a bit odd, but to be honest I prefer a B&B where the owners make themselves sparse anyway. Overall, it was good for what it was.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyMountMacedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My girlfriend and I drove up early Sunday morning from the Mornington Peninsula to spend the day at the Lavandula Lavender Harvest. We booked the cottage at Birches and it was great. Everything you need including outdoor settings under cover, we enjoyed the verandah later that evening when we returned. We asked if we could arrive early and leave our bags etc before heading to the festival and Patti was more than helpful. We did have to ask for some teabags as there weren't any about, but overall our stay was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Booked The Attic through lastminute.com as it had great reviews. Immediate impression on walking into the room was "wow" because it was so light and spacious with a large balcony and great view.
I understand the other reviewers mentioning the lack of personal contact with the owner/manager, however that suited us, but it was annoying that we had a check out time of 12pm and had someone just walk right into our room at 11.30 to clean the room while we were still in it and we felt we wanted to make sure the room was ok because if you didn't leave the room as you found it you got charged a $25 cleaning fee, so I didn't appreciate the subtle hint and interruption to "hurry up" to leave. And we too passed an office window on the way to our room every day to see a lady working at a desk by the window in her dressing gown about 10.30am - just bizarre!
There were many signs around the room reminding guests to remove their shoes and leave things tidy, you couldn't escape the feeling of being nagged.
It was a reasonably priced place so we weren't expecting The Hilton and the facilities were good with a large bathroom and spa, just perhaps a more welcome atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marellav2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We flew to Australia arrivingin Melbourne 8am and then drove to Daylesford on an increasingly misty and cold day Our reception at Birches was disappointing. As wanderingabouttown commented, the key in the door said it all. There was none of the personal warmth we associate with good B&Bs.Some bread etc for breakfast was in the fridge.

Once we had the woodfire burner roaring the cottage was snug enough. The beds were fine and the facilities generally okay. The cottage certainly needs a freshen-up and it was rather odd to have only two ceiling lights in a large living area with six table lamps about the room.

Those who had written in the visitors' book mostly praised the fact their dogs were allowed to stay with them. That would certainly appeal to some but others may be put off.

Our only contact with the owners during our two-night stay was to have the cottage pointed out on arrival and when I paid on departure. Patti was in her dressing gown which did not seem professional.

We had been really excited about staying at Birches based on the website and publicity material. However, as a B&B experience it was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starmanChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed at Birches with 3 other friends. It's a quaint little cottage with everything you need in it. Yes it is dated but we expected this as it is part of the charm. It is a dated little cottage but very clean. My personal recommendation would be to bring your own shampoo, conditioner and towels, some shampoo and conditioner is available in the cottage but it was half used etc.
The owner made things easier for us by leaving the key in the door so we could just come in and relax. I would stay there again as the setting was gorgeous and very conveniently close and walking distance to the lake, main street and the information center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeswecan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daylesford
0.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
418 reviews
2.2 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pendower House
Pendower House
#2 of 23 in Daylesford
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carrington House
Carrington House
#6 of 23 in Daylesford
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birches of Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches of Daylesford

Address: 88-90 Central Springs Rd, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Daylesford
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Birches Of Daylesford Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing