We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK - flatters to deceive ?!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Daylesford
Certificate of Excellence
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“OK - flatters to deceive ?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place is marketed as a luxury spa retreat and I guess that if you're wanting to centre your entire stay around the spa 'bit' then a satisfied guest you are sure to be. Anything beyond that is likely to disappoint. The rooms are very well appointed but have a typically corporate 'feel'. Regrettably the small terrace outside the room was encased by trees/shrubbery and therefore felt quite claustrophobic - certainly no great view ! The lake itself is pleasant but very much part of the local town - not exclusive. Oddly, there was nowhere really to 'hang out' outside. Service generally was OK ; a pleasant and efficient welcome from reception ; hit and miss in the dining room - some staff were personable and friendly, others functional and somewhat robotic. The dining room environment again was pleasant but lacked any real character. The food was good. Overall an expensive 'hotel' which doesn't quite know what it's core identity really is...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank-you for your feedback. It's all valuable for us to read.
You are right - we are located on Lake Daylesford which is an accessible leisure area. There are a myriad of walking trails around the lake that then extend into the Wombat State Forest beyond. It is not a private lake. We do however take the opportunities provided by our location and offer three levels of terraces which extend down to the lake shore from the restaurant. It's a lovely spot to enjoy a book or relax on the daybeds in the sunshine. If you return to Daylesford in the future please let us know. We'd love the opportunity to give you a bit more information on the property and we'll certainly aim to ensure all our guests are more aware of the history and facilities. We wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    99
    40
    17
    9
See reviews for
27
261
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
246 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked 2 nights but ended up staying an extra to relax a little more......got 2 nights/brekky/gourmet dinner on a special deal.....the Saturday night 3 course meal was nothng less than spectacular....am still talking about it to friends.....
Breakfasts were the usual selection on offer - I had a lovely bircher muesli, some fresh fruit then tried 2 different hot selections.....eggs/bacon/tuki sausages which I wasn't a fan of.....fresh OJ hit the spot....the winner for the hot dish was the white beans, chorizo, onion/tomato with added avocado....absolutely divine.....and the barrista knew how to make a good long black coffee.

The room, whilst comfy was a little disappointing (over the back) and being woken by the rubbish trucks on a Monday morning from all the bangs/clangs was pretty annoying since a nights stay isn't cheap....just another negative was the sliding louvre door continuing to either jam or come off the tracks....the king bed (2 single kings together) - well one was pretty soft and the other very firm, but then it would be difficult to get 'that perfect mattress' to suit all....

Room Tip: ask for a room as far away as possible from the garbage pick up point if you stay on a Sunday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to post a review. We're delighted you enjoyed the restaurant experience and chose to extend your weekend away. Thank-you for your constrictive feedback - it's essential as we continue to seek opportunities to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We had a little room which was very cosy. Short stroll to the lovely lake. Tasty fresh breakfast (the jams are just superb) and service with a polite smile. The massage and facial was alright. I'd return for a cabin by the lake and breakfast by the window!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mizztravellettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank-you for your review. We're delighted to see that you got to experience not only the hotel and restaurant but also the spa. The property is always evolving - next time you might like to try our newly renovated Waterfront Rooms or even the Retreat for something truly special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We often spend time in four and five star hotels and resorts in beautiful places in Victoria. We have also been members of a prestigious food and wine society for many years so appreciate destinations that offer good food and wine. Lake House is a standout. On our recent visit I remarked to my husband: This place has personality. The dining room is a delight: armfuls of country flowers are in large vases; joyous paintings and sculptures are everywhere; windows and an entire wall of glass overlook Daylesford Lake and the surrounding trees; the dining room personnel are cosmopolitan and highly professional and promote a relaxed ambiance. The two hat award menu is definitely worth travelling for. We are one adventurous diner and one more conservative diner and both of us were delighted with our meals - on two consecutive evenings. The wine list is outstanding. Excellent wines are available by the glass. We chose an accomodation package that was middle of the range offered. Lake House has evolved over decades and again our accommodation had personality: a weatherboard exterior for a waterfront room overlooking the lake. Modern and comfortable inside. Cool and tranquil in the middle of a heatwave, the room provided an oasis. I sat on its balcony watching the geese, the swans and the water birds and relaxing into an Italian novel. Inside the room had its own coffee machine, free bottles of the famous local natural spring water, delicious home-made biscuits, a large comfortable bed, a sofa and armchair, a table and TV. There was a modern ensuite with walk-in shower. Lake House is not really set up for disabled guests as accommodation was built over the years on slopes, often with stairs. However, staff do all they can to help, including porterage and a golf buggy to easily accessible rooms. The wonderful reservation staff can talk you through what is available.

Room Tip: Choose accomodation that overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank-you for your detailed and wonderful review. We do love what we do and we're delighted your Lake House experience was so enjoyable. We are certainly blessed in Victoria and also Australia for wonderful restaurants and hotels and after 30 years in the business we're privileged to welcome enthusiastic travelers like yourselves. We hope to see you back at Lake House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent 3 heavenly days at the Lake House. A perfect place to kick back and relax in a lake-side suite. The hotel is delightful and the restaurant and staff were superb. Daylesford is a charming part of Victoria too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocolondon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We wish you safe travels back to London and thank-you for taking the time to stop and enjoy our little piece of paradise. Thank-you for your review and we hope to see you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Whilst travelling in Australia, I read a review of this Hotel in the Qantas magazine. We had nothing planned for week in Melbourne so thought we would try 2 days. What a winner it proved to be! We had a non Lake view suite (room 5) which was of a good size, had a lovely big bathroom and was beautifully appointed - clearly done with love! We also enjoyed our a la carte dinner in the excellent retaurant. In addition to the lovely Hotel, the food and excellent service, the Lake itself is delightful (it was so hot we went swimming in it) and Daylesford is a charming old world sort of Town with a lot of surprisingly sophisticated places to eat.
So much did we like it at The Lake House that after 2 days in Melbourne, we rang up and booked 2 more nights and were were very sweetly upgraded to a Lake view suite.

Room Tip: Room 5 is good value and is very quiet with a nice verandah. The Lake front suites are very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank-you for your review and your great feedback on our rooms and suites. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and even had time for a quick dip in the lake!
Hopefully we'll see you back at Lake House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

After a busy year, we needed a break, and Lake House was highly recommended. They were very prompt in replying to us, and were very gracious each time we contacted them 6 months earlier to make some changes, so we expected great service when we finally drove into the hotel grounds in the afternoon of December 26 last year.

We were not disappointed - both our suites faced the lake, but the landscape was such that you get a view of the lake, but the plants also provided some privacy. The suites were very cosy, and felt like home. Everyone of the staff are friendly and professional, so that added to the feeling of being among friends & family, which was nice.

We loved just walking about the hotel grounds in the afternoons and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings, even with birds and parrots divebombing us ;-)

There was good variety for breakfast and dinners - twice, my son couldn't get up for breakfast having stayed up really really late to catch the British Premier League games, and the maître d noticed we were one short and kindly offered to pack breakfast for him. I haven't stayed in a hotel where that has been offered before, so it was a very nice touch. And each time you walk in, or leave after a meal, you are warmly greeted like an old friend.

So, all in all, a completely relaxing holiday at Lake House - one that will always be remembered as super special, thanks to everyone at Lake House.

Room Tip: The ground floor suites facing the lake are best, as you can just open the sliding doors and walk ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to submit a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we'll look forward to sharing your feedback with our team. We hope to see you back at Lake House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daylesford
0.4 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#5 of 5 in Daylesford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Dudley
The Dudley
#1 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daylesford Central Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: 4 King St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Daylesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House sits on the shores of Lake Daylesford 80 minutes from Melbourne. 35 Rooms and Suites are either in a courtyard setting or overlooking the lake shore. The 2 Chef Hat restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine paying homage to the region's excellent seasonal produce and is matched with an award winning 10,000 bottle cellar. Guests may like to have a hit of tennis followed by tea and refreshments in the tennis pavilion, a glass of wine by the open fire in the Argyle Library Bar. Given the opportunity to explore the gardens guests will come upon the Kitchen Garden, a myriad of sculptures and artwork from many of the region's top artists, extensive outdoor terraces overlooking the lake shore and established country gardens with everything from koala loved stringy barks to lilac, Daphne, quince, plum and apple trees. The Salus Day Spa is an oasis of tranquility and offers guests an indulgent way to "take to the waters" with all manner of hydrotherapy on offer. Two tree house cabins overlook Lake Daylesford and house hot mineral water tubs - bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Daylesford
Lake Hotel Daylesford
Daylesford Lakehouse
Lake House Daylesford, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing