We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing-cosy-romantic- helpful when...”
other travellers have booked this property
hot tub on private deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
hot tub on private deck
Texada car park area and entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
hot tub on private deck
Texada
car park area and entrance
king size bed
kitchenette
dining area
living area
bathroom
Jacuzzi hot tub on private deck
metal sculpture details
metal sculpture by owner
metal sculpture by owner
front entrance to property
privacy screen - front area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Daylesford, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarolineM...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing-cosy-romantic- helpful when booking-overall had an amazing time! Hot tub is major plus.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Highly recommend and will be back again! I give top marks for cleanliness and facilities within the accommodation. Everything you need is there. Walking distance to daylesford!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences.

We appreciate that you had a great time and enjoyed the accommodation.

We hope to hear from you again in the future!

Regards,
Cherie and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Maffra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our experience staying at Texada was somewhat disappointing. The Property description states; Texada is nestled within an orchard of plum trees and, during the spring and summer, is enveloped in foilage'. What it doesn't say is that during winter, when the trees are bare, you have a commanding view of the neighbours weed-infested back yard.

The outdoor hot tub was nice on a cold winter's day but felt very exposed in full view of the neighbours back door.

The accommodation is clean but fairly basic. The king size bed is comfortable; however, the heating in the unit was barely adequate, There was a small oil-filled column heater in the living room and a Nobo panel heater in the bedroom. Daylesford in winter is cold and the two heaters struggled to keep the place warm. The doona did not provide sufficient warmth and we woke up through the night feeling cold. A search of the apartment for more blanets proved fruitless; there was only one thin blanket available for extra warmth. We ended up sleeping in our clothes.

Despite having booked for two nights, after the first night we had had enough and decided to go home. I contacted the owner and requested a refund for the second night which was refused. I was offered an $80 credit towards another stay; however, we are not inclined to return.

I'm afraid I couldn't recommend this accommodation based on our experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Texada.

You contacted us in the early afternoon ,via email, on the Sunday of the second day of your booking after you returned home. You and your partner had left Daylesford and driven back to Sale. You rang us soon afterwards. You were disappointed that the accommodation did not have adequate spare blankets and wished to have a full refund for the second night.

That weekend was bitterly cold in Daylesford. The average temperature was 2 degrees. It snowed, it sleeted, it rained. It was abnormally cold, even for August, which is our coldest month.

There should have been better spare blankets and/or doonas in the accommodation. We apologise that there wasn't.

However, we give all our guest contact details for both us and our manager. There are spare blankets and doonas on the property. Our manager lives 5 minutes away. We pay generous call out fees for our employees. It is part of the service we offer. If you had called us extra bedding and extra heating they would have been supplied immediately.

In light of this we felt that it wasn't fair to ask us for a refund of the entire nights stay after the fact. We instead offered a credit note for $80 and an upgrade to a different property on your next stay.

We discussed this with you and you agreed. You also agreed that the weather was quite cold, colder than you had expected for Daylesford.

Soon after this you again contacted us as you had left your toiletry bag in the accommodation. We passed this on to our manager.

Our manager unfortunately forgot to send them in a timely manner and when she contacted you to apologise you admonished her most strongly and then contacted us again asking for a further refund.

At this stage the issues regarding your stay had multiplied.

Texada is on a rural property. It is surrounded by fruit trees. In the winter they drop their leaves. Texada is screened and fenced. It is in an orchard. The photos and copy available on all sites we advertise on are a fair and adequate representation of what is available there.

This is a rural area. The neighbours paddock next door does have long grass. It is a large paddock. They are elderly. We would like them to cut it more often but they struggle to do it. I'm not sure that it is weed infested. It is an old orchard like most of the Table Hill area.

It is unfair to suggest that the only view is to their back door. You can see some of their back yard but to suggest that you are exposed while in the hot tub with only the back door as a view is not true. Yes you can see some of their back yard but we feel that the screening provided (8 foot high screening fence and evergreen shrubs/trees) provide a dense visual barrier.

The heating in Texada is more than adequate. It is a small accommodation. It heats easily. All walls, the floor and ceiling are well insulated. We, our families and friends have stayed there as well as thousands of guests over the last 10 years.

Texada is an nicely finished and furnished, well priced and has significant amenity. I'm not sure that it is 'basic'. It well designed and furnished and has a private hot tub.

The credit note we offered you is still valid if you choose to come back to Daylesford.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing