We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Astley Spa Cottage

Astley king bed Spring/Summer or 2 singles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Astley king bed Spring/Summer or 2 singles
Astley spa bath Astley Cottage living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Astley king bed Spring/Summer or 2 singles
Astley spa bath
Astley Cottage living area
Astley Ned Kelly woodheater/1 bag of wood supplied
Astley front view from verandah
Astley verandah water feature
Our dog King Charles Cav 'Lily'. Pet Friendly so ask about bring your 4 legged pooch.
Beautiful sunny view up thru the gum trees from your balcony
Astley living area
Astley verandah with gate to secure your furry loved ones.
Astley tranquil gardens
Complimentary breakfast&bottle of wine/ 3+ night direct bookings.
Walking tracks at your door in the Doctor's Gully Daylesford Vic region
verandah water feature
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Daylesford, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tina w
Victoria, Australia
1 review
“peaceful”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was cosy clean the fire and spa were a bonus most relaxing and peaceful 4 days we have ever had the cottage was so close to everything but still very private

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thanks for your complimentary review when you stayed @ Astley Cottage recently. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you, your friends & family soon here soon. Ellie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karsha9
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic, Relaxing, and Wonderfully Equiped”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our stay at Astley Cottage was just wonderful. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing, romantic getaway - then Astley is perfect for you. The fireplace really added to the cosiness, the spa was a fantastic bonus and the bedroom was clean and very comfortable. Ellie really goes out of her way to ensure the cottage is equipped with literally everything you need - including cooking appliances, bathroom essentials and even small things like DVDs to watch and wood for the fire. The cottage is situated in amongst beautiful greenery and really makes you feel as though you are a long way away from the hustle and bustle - whilst still being in close proximity to everything you need on the main road of Dayelesford. Definitely will be returning, don't have a bad word to say about it other than not staying long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Spa, fireplace and overall location of the cottage (in amongst greenery but yet so close to everything you need on the main road)
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Hi Karsha, Thanks for your review of a recent stay @ Astley Cottage.I really appreciate your complimentary comments & recommendations to others.I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both here again soon. Ellie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“gorgeous cottage and perfect break”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

we loved Astley Spa cottage - mellow, cosy, and friendly manager. perfect for a couple break, beautiful breakfast, very comfortable bed, and location btw Daylesford and Hepburn was great for easy access to walks and restaurants..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here @ Astley Cottage & that restaurants recommended were really excellent. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed Daylesford's lovely autumn weather whilst you walked & rejuvenated. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you, family & friends back to take advantage of our 'return guest specials'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic spot for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Astley Cottage at the end of a two-week trip to Australia. The cottage is in a beautiful setting looking out over woodland. It is clean, quiet and comfortable and very well equipped. The owner provided comfortable towels, local spa products and a generous breakfast basket, all of which made our stay very relaxing. It is a perfect place from which to explore Daylesford and the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
Thanks for choosing Astley Cottage & your comments about your visit to Daylesford Australia which was part of your visit from the UK.
Good to meet your both. Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langsml
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful haven”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We loved our time at Astley. Ellie thought of everything and made our stay memorable. We loved the food provisions, fire and spa. We were very comfortable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to send a review. Its very much appreciated. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when next visiting our Daylesford region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Astley Spa Cottage is a delightfully quaint, clean and very well equipped place to unwind and relax. We had a wonderful 4 night stay and the owners were very obliging, even offering to help carry our belongings. The cottage itself is away from the main house, down the garden path (about 14 steps) and surrounded by trees and a lovely garden. Everything that was provided, including food and toiletries, was of quality. The leather reclining lounge was fabulous and the most comfortable of any accommodation we have ever stayed in. The fire was the perfect addition to our experience at Astley Spa Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The steps, only because of back problems. However, we were offered assistance with our luggage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hi Helen ,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Its very much appreciated.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back when next visiting our beautiful Daylesford region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a wonderful place to spend a weekend. The open fire place made for a special stay in this romantic getaway. The bathroom has a spa bath and the King Size bed completes the perfection of this property. The manager was very friendly and a breakfast basket which included a bottle of red wine to go with dinner was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fireplace and the spa
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hi Brian,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Its very much appreciated. Astley is becoming a very popular place to stay & we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back very soon when visiting our beautiful Daylesford region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing