We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, delicious, high-end Summer lunch”
Review of Lake House

Lake House
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Daylesford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$81
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the kitchens, a talented young team under the guidance of Owner and Executive Chef Alla Wolf- Tasker works from the ground up producing cutting edge, modern Australian cuisine with an emphasis on seasonal and regional ingredients. The kitchen creates most items on the daily menu from the ground up – ranging from bread, charcuterie, preserves, smoked goods, chocolates and more.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Lake House is a truly gorgeous dining room, and the location is all kinds of cliché, nestled on a calm, picturesque lake. We were there for lunch, and it was more formal than our meal at Mercato, which was not surprising – it really does strive for that high end dining experience.
White dominates the interior décor, accented with taupe and flirty splashes of lime cushions. Light streams in from all directions showcasing the magnificent floral displays and striking artwork. Every angle provided clear views of the surrounding flora – I am so glad we visited on a glorious summer’s day to make the most of this (and we didn’t even choose to sit outside!).

The standard of the meals met all of our expectations. The range of choice for the vegetarians in the party was ample enough, with interesting and inventive options on offer. The two entrées chosen were: the tempura tofu, yellow bean paste, Asian salad; and the Burrata, young fennel, broad beans, parmesan, wheat grass, fennel veloute. This was followed by the goat curd tortellino, summer vegetables, Mt Zero lentils; and the Summer harvest – vegetables, herbs, flowers and grains, 63 degrees C organic egg, white polenta. I couldn’t go past the peanut butter, black sesame, caramel, banana for dessert – absolutely delicious (and I’m not a huge dessert fan!).

The choice of wine was nearly as difficult a decision to make as the food itself, but we think we scored with the Mount William Jorja-Alexis Rosé, 2003 (Macedon Ranges) and the Best’s Great Western Bin 0, 2009 (Grampians).

The service from all staff was smooth – patter in perfect cadence and just the right amount of banter, timing of delivery of all things (menus, aperitifs, courses, wine…) was spot on. Three hours passed in an instant and we begrudgingly had to leave. Next time, I think we may stay over night and check out the spa treatments on offer as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHManager, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank-you. We get great feedback from guests via email and even the occasional snail mail; but we thank-you for choosing to share your great experience at Lake House with your online community. We're blessed with a beautiful environment and abundant wonderful produce and we're delighted you enjoyed it all. I hope you'll make the journey from Sydney again to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent excellent and excellent in each and every aspect. I never rate 5 starts for all categories.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prasad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHManager, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank-you very much for your enthusiasm.
I hope we see you back at Lake House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What a pleasure it was to dine here. The service was just 110% and the food was excellent. This is a must place to visit but if you are on a very tight budget don't bother as things are not cheap. Great service, great food.

Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review.
We're delighted you enjoyed the restaurant experience and hope to see you back at Lake House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The Lake House never fails to impress. The 8 course tasting menu was a great way to experience the beautiful flavour combinations and exquisite food presentations. Daunting range of wines but fantastic sommelier to help make a choice. Great view and ambience. A lovely dining experience.

Thank Robyn-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank-you for your generous feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed the tasting menu and our wonderful sommelier. The cellar is an extensive one - but we like to give people an intelligent variety to choose from. It's a bit of fun for wine lovers and offers a wide variety for visitors from afar - we're happy to have chosen you something delicious to enjoy with your meal. We hope to see you back at Lake House again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I went there for lunch with my wife after suggestions from a friend however I was warned about the price beforehand.
We made sure that we were real hungry & looking forward to a great experience & I don't mind paying good money for a good feed but what we got was WAR rations. The minuscule amount of food provided was a real shock to us both. Don't get me wrong, the food was some of the best tasting cuisine I have had but when you pay that sort of money, you really expect to have a meal not a snack to get you through the next hour.
My wife is quite a petite lady & doesn't eat that much but she stated that "this is ridiculous" & the only way we could make it through the stomach rumbles, was to keep asking for bread rolls (the only thing they won't charge you for).
The price of the wine was absurd & I don't think the owners have a grasp on reality as there are only so many dumb super rich people left in this world who are willing to pay 4 times the true amount for a bottle of wine.
My recommendation is: if you have plenty of cash to splash, then go have a burger from a local fish & chip shop, wait 1 hour & then go to the Lake House & experience some fine tasting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ranchorulers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank-you for your feedback. Our menus are designed to leave our guests enthused and satisfied. Whilst we're delighted that the food was as you described it "some of the best tasting cuisine" we are certainly concerned that you feel there was not enough to eat. The menus are designed for 3, 4, up to 7 courses depending on how hungry you are and we would certainly like to have know if you were less than satisfied. We hope you'll return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake House also viewed

 
Daylesford, Victoria
 

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing