We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Peppers Brand standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This property is a refurbished guest house and tavern. The common areas were rustic, large and comfortable. The room, however, was small, tired and dark. The shower over the spa bath was ridiculous and unsafe. The breakfast buffet was food laid out on a table which the flies were enjoying. Staff were friendly as always.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david_judymynott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear david_judymynott,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room. As we have a broad range of room types we can usually find something to suit everyone’s tastes. Our friendly reservations staff would be delighted to discuss the options the next time you book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Don't get me wrong, we had a lovely weekend here, but I so wanted to walk away with such a positive experience that I could not fault a thing. Besides, we booked a last minute room online and it was still $475 per night so you would expect it to be outstanding.

The retreat itself is lovely, it's very calming when you arrive and the staff are outstandingly polite and helpful. Our room was a garden deluxe spa room and although on the small side for a luxurious hotel room, it was very nice and had a lovely big spa bath. The King bed was super comfortable and there was a little balcony off the room.

So why am I not giving Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat an Excellent review? For 5 simple reasons: 1. Our room was right on the main road and this made sleeping in very difficult; 2. There was another room above us and we could hear all of their footsteps the whole stay; 3. The retreat did not offer room service breakfast and although that doesn't sound like a big issue, it is disappointing when you had looked forward to it; 4. You have to pay extra for a real coffee at breakfast - so breakfast is included in the room, but if you want a latte, you have to pay for it. The fifth reason is probably my biggest reason for complaint. We came back to our room on Saturday evening after a lovely day exploring Daylesford and the wineries and although our bed had been made and our towels replaced, the room had not been cleaned. We know this because we had spilt some ground coffee on the bathroom floor when opening the pack and it was all still there. Plus there were crumbs on the carpet and tables from the night before. The bed itself had been made badly and we had to remake it when we went to bed that night.

I am not a fussy guest, I always find the positives and there are many here - the gardens are gorgeous, the main lounge inviting and warm and the Argus restaurant was great. I'm just disappointed that I can't give this hotel a 5/5 because I had so expected to. I do read other very positive reviews and think that perhaps our experience was just unfortunate so it's worth visiting to gauge for yourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear kgreenwood,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, but am sorry to hear we were unaware of some of your issues. These could have been rectified by chatting with our friendly reception staff as we do take pride in being able to exceed our guest’s expectations. Like you, we agree The Argus Dining Room is exceptional and we are very glad you were impressed by the caliber of our staff. Next time you are in the region, remember to say hello to our gardener who single-handedly takes care of the entire property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me and my partner booked Peppers to celebrate our twentieth anniversary. The room was excellent, service great for the Motel, onsite Spa retreat and restaurants. We couldn't fault anything other than next time we stay we would ensure we booked a spa room.

Room Tip: Garden Spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazandCam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear DazandCamB,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary getaway, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed in a spa villa was terrible not worth the money. Room was unclean, had missing paint, Bed felt like sleeping on concrete, not serene heard cars all night and reception checkout service was horrible when we told them about our stay. Would not recommend. Not worth $400 for night look elsewhere. Very disappointment about the checkout staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chollieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Chollieh,

Thank you for the feedback about your stay with us. It is our goal that all our guests leave relaxed and rejuvenated, so I am saddened that we were not aware of the issues at the time as we would have welcomed an opportunity to rectify them for you. With so many different rooms on the property, we would have welcomed the opportunity to find you a room that you were happy with.

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your checkout. It is very rare we receive any negative feedback about our dedicated staff, and would be happy to personally discuss this with you in detail should you like to call the hotel directly. Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to talking to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a dinner bed and breakfast package along with sauna/spa treatment at Peppers last week for a special birthday celebration. We stayed in the hotel part, a charming old building with spacious guest lounge and llibrary, leather armchairs, open fireplaces and much of the original art deco decor. The bedroom combined the art deco theme with a very modern bathroom, super comfortable beds and crisp high quality linen. Our room had a spacious private balcony looking out across the road at the National Park, very soothing, and also an enormous spa bath for additional pampering. The big surprise was the excellent and creative food served at both dinner and breakfast. There is a seriously good chef at work here. Finally, from the moment we arrived the staff were all very friendly, welcoming, professional, they went out of their way to make our experience really special. Would definitely come again and highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies and nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayG_020454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear KayG_020454,
It does sound like you had a wonderful birthday escape! We are very proud of our Stuart Rattle designed guest areas and the luxury country ambiance that he created. Thank you also for your generous comments to our staff, they are delighted. Our Executive Chef David Willcocks is especially please that you enjoyed your dining experiences. He has taken The Argus from strength to strength since his arrival, and has made it one of the must-dine restaurants of the region. Thank you again, and we hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at Peppers for our wedding weekend. Every detail was perfect - beautiful rooms, a lovely building and the gardens were amazing. Dinner and lunch at the Argus restaurant were so memorable- the food was amazing and the waiters attentive and helpful with the wine list. Will definitely visit again and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyR1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear SuzyR1979,
Congratulations on the celebration of your marriage! We are delighted that we were able to contribute to such a memorable occasion. I hope we will be welcoming you back for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at peppers for one night to attend a wedding in Daylesford. I had planned on a massage, swim, or treatment the next day, but unfortunately the prices of the spa were just too expensive and I couldn't justify the cost. The room was nice enough, but there was no toothbrush or toothpaste provided. There was no blind or curtain on the glass door so the room lit up early which was frustrating. The room did have all the other basics you'd expect at any hotel, and a great adjustable shower, but overall it didn't seem like a luxury retreat. Breakfast was included but I didn't make it to the dining room before 10.30am and there was no option to have it brought to your room.

Room Tip: You really need to want the mineral spa treatments to make the cost worthwhile. If you like to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lucylou_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Lucylou_melbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we do hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding. We are sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your room. We would have welcomed the opportunity to show you a different room as we do take pride in the ability to rectify issues as they arise. Our friendly reservations staff are happy to explain all the different accommodation types should you wish to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hepburn Springs
2.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#2 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
280 reviews
2.1 mi away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#4 of 5 in Daylesford
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dudley
The Dudley
#1 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel

Address: 124 Main Rd, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Price Range: £113 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Victoria's picturesque Daylesford and Macedon Ranges, this grand 1930's guest house has been transformed into one of regional Victoria's finest heritage country hotels; with stylish lounges, cocktail bar, leafy gardens and stunning courtyards. Situated in Hepburn Springs, just three minutes from Daylesford, 60 minutes from Melbourne airport and 75 minutes from Melbourne CBD, Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel wraps you in comfortable elegance with 40 stylish rooms to choose from; including a self contained 1864 Villa Parma with four exquisite bedrooms, roomy self-contained villas, heritage hotel rooms and cosy garden rooms, with interiors created by designer Stuart Rattle. All rooms have an ensuite bathroom, individual climate control, tea/coffee making facilities, minibar, refrigerators, TV, DVD, iron and ironing board, hairdryer & direct dial STD/ISD telephones. After a long day of exploring, sink into the deep club chairs and sofas around a roaring fire at The Argus Bar & Lounge, one-part private club, and two-part return of old world glamour. The soul of this relaxed haven lies in tradition and warmth, with surroundings that reflect this quiet, intimate and inviting atmosphere. One of the great pleasures of staying here is the multi award-winning Mineral Spa, tucked in the grounds of the hotel. Mineral Spa is one of the largest and most acclaimed rural day spas in Australia; winners of Australasian Spa Association Best Hotel and Best Day Spa, as well as the Victorian Tourism Award winners for Health and Wellness (Hall of Fame) and the Spa Life magazine reader's choice for Best Destination Spa. Specifically designed as a sanctuary of healing and relaxation, therapists each have their own area of expertise. They are selected for their healing hands and calming spirits, ensuring that every guest experiences a beautiful and personal spa experience; with individual consultations and exclusive specialist treatments. As part of its philosophy for integrating healing through earth's natural elements, Mineral Spa has harnessed the power of mineral water, unlike any other spa in Australia. The spa's key feature of healing through water is The Retreat; a mineral water therapy zone following in the healing traditions of the famous mineral spas throughout Europe. Tucked in a private and peaceful indoor/outdoor corner of the spa, The Retreat comprises two 100% mineral water spas, a cold plunge pool, steam room, infra-red detox box and the only basalt stone sauna in the Southern Hemisphere. During the winter months, The Retreat turns into a steamy twilight haven with Night Bathing every Friday evening. Water continues as a healing theme that runs throughout the entire spa, with highlights such as the 180 power jet massaging Hydro baths and Australasia's only Soft Pack Floatation Beds. Signature treatments are by the prestigious spa specialist, Pevonia Botanica. The Spa Menu is extensive and includes specialist healing treatments such as pregnancy and oncology massages. In keeping with the sense of tranquility, Mineral Spa is architecturally designed to reflect the environment and landscape, creating an ambience of healing; suffused with natural light shimmering across white stone walls, enhanced by the soothing sound of flowing water, and breathtaking views into the countryside. Maintenance Notice: The Argus Dining Room will be closed for renovations from Monday 13th April until Thursday 30th April 2015. The Argus Bar & Lounge will be open during this time for lunch & dinner. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat Hotel Hepburn Springs
Peppers Springs Retreat Hotel
Peppers Springs Retreat Hepburn
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel Hepburn Springs, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing