We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Oasis by the pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little Oasis by the pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The room was large, clean and comfortable and we didn't notice the noise that some others mention. The light from the hallway however was very bright at night, even with the door shade down. The main highlight of the hotel was the rooms all face onto the pool, with plenty of trees, creating a lovely little oasis. The pool itself is large and warm and inviting and made all the difference to our stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Good Morning Melbourne Tedd,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We do apologise for the bright light and hope it disdn't disturb you too much during the night. We appreciate your comments greatly and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    67
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
86
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is, on the whole, a pleasant place to stay on the Mornington Peninsula at Rye. We were there for three nights. It's close to the beach, has large stylish rooms, comfy beds, smart bathrooms. However, it does seem to have noise problems. Perhaps it's because this small complex is built in the round, with all rooms built around a central swimming pool. Perhaps conversation bounces around the complex. Or maybe it's just that the walls are thin. Whatever, the upshot is that there are signs on the gates that say no visitors are allowed. I took that to mean no hawkers, or unauthorised visitors. But no: it means no visitors, no way, full stop. Which was a problem when we invited local friends to our room for a quiet drink at 6pm on a Sunday when the hotel was virtually empty, other guests having mostly scarpered back to Melbourne. When our friends arrived at reception they were told they were not allowed in. When the front-desk person phoned me to give me the same glad tidings, she said firmly that surely I'd seen the signs saying no visitors were permitted. She said we were welcome to take them into the adjoining hotel. No thanks. A place with pokie machines along the walls and straight chairs around tables was not the ambience we were looking for, and so we gathered up our wine and nibbles are went to our friends' home instead. The reason for our trip was to visit someone who is recovering from major surgery and so we'd looked forward to being able to enjoy a quiet visit in our $200-and-something-per-night hotel. If we'd known ahead of time that grownup socialising was forbidden, we would not have booked there. Because this is a beach area an hour out of Melbourne, I guess the Best Western has to be wary of noisy weekend revelers or hen-night participants making late-night noise. But, c'mon! It was 6pm, there was hardly anyone in the place, we were four 'oldies' wanting to chat for an hour or two, not a youthful tribe loaded with beer and shooters. A little flexibility would have been appreciated.
BTW This is one of those places that makes you wonder at the thinking processes of hotel designers. Instead of having convenient bedside lights with individual controls, the king-size bedhead is lit with twin bright, ceiling-mounted halogen downlighters, both controlled from one switch on only side of the bed. Which means if the switchless partner wants to read at night while the other tries to sleep (under the glare), the reading one has to trek right around the bed to switch off the light. So, if you're a romantic twosome wanting peace and quiet this place is quite pleasant. Just don't expect to socialise with anyone else. And either leave your book at home, or take a sleep mask.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Good morning Lindsey,
Thank you for your response on Trip advisor. We apologise for any embarrasement or inconvenience caused to you and your guests in relation to them not being allowed entry to the accommodation complex. However, over the years we have had to bring in this rule for the ambience of other guests and also because of complaints regarding overcrowding and misuse of the facility. As mentioned by our Receptionist at the time, the Rye Hotel is available for all socialising and the area at the front of the Hotel offers a very comfortable and relaxing spot to meet with your guests . We were fully booked on the weekend you visited us and all other guests respected the conditions of accommodation. We are an industry rated four star facility and this requires certain building specifications which includes adequate sound proofing of all rooms. On arrival, you had also signed the registration form stating conditions of stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our two nights spent at Best Western One Four Nelson were very relaxing and enjoyable. Brenda on reception was friendly professional and helpful. Our room was very spacious and beautifully clean. We had no complaints at all. One tiny observation ....we had a connecting door to our next door neighbours room, and we found it wasn't much of a sound barrier. We could clearly hear them talking and their music....not that it was loud, just normal volume - so they could obviously hear us. Thankfully we all retired to bed at about the same time so it wasn't an issue. I can see that it could be a problem with noisier people. All in all we were very happy with our stay and would recommend this motel to friends travelling on the Mornington Peninsualr

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearclearclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback as this helps us identify areas that can be improved upon. We hop you will visit us again soon, and once again thank you.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A very nice Best Western Hotel, we really liked. Bed very comfy, room spacious and a nice view to the pool. Good Location, we recommend and would book it again. Would have wished to stay longer there:-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigitteSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Hello Brigitte,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all comments made through these sources, as they help us maintain the standard that guests expect when visiting us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The room was clean, spacious and very quite. The bed was really comfortable, spa bath great, the lady at check-in was very friendly, efficient and organized. Plenty of free parking, some under cover. Nice balconies overlooking the pool. I would stay again and fully recommend it to other travelers. If you are going to the Hot springs, they are only 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello Lisa,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all responses whether good or bad, as it helps us maintain the standards that guests expect. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Room was excellent, clean and spacious and secure. Great location. Had a problem with TV remote which wouldn't work so TV turns itself off with some powersaving device. Rang reception but she was busy so sorted it out ourselves. Remote probably needed batteries. (overall a minor problem which didn't impact on our stay)
Would recommend to anyone and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello Michael T,
We very appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Best Western One Four Nelson. It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback and also feedback on an issue of concern. We have since checked the remote thanks to your feedback. Thankyou for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
GAil McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked a room with Best Western in Rye. I booked through their online booking service. The booking somehow reverted my dates and booked them for that very day. As I booked late in the day I received a booking confirmation after I had gone home for the night.

I called Best Western in the morning once the mistake had been realised, and received the rudest customer service and absolutely no flexibility in terms of dates. Even though I wanted to rebook the dates. I spoke to head office who said they would encourage the hotel manager to consider my predicament a mistake and transfer the charge to another date, however the hotel manager had no record of that. I don't know where the mis-communication occurred, however neither wished to take the time to help me.

I would have happily paid $50 to them for making up the room in anticipation, however charging me $200 or a mistake is ridiculous and in poor customer service. Very disappointing, and will not be using any Best Western again, and ensuring I tell my friends about this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicalia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
In response to your review we take the opportunity of reply. Your booking was made through the Best Western site for arrival on August 27th. Our receptionist tried to contact you and left a message on your phone to ascertain your time of arrival, of which we had no response. Clear instructions were left for after hours arrival procedures and your keys were left with our Duty Manager, who was expecting you to arrive at some stage throughout the night. We did not hear from you until the following day, when you informed us you had the wrong date of arrival on your booking, As you have not stayed with us, I cannot understand why you have mentioned on your comments that you stayed in August 2013. We have offered you half the amount for a future stay but you have declined our offer. Our terms and conditions are quite clear when making bookings and clearly you did not take enough care when booking through Best Western. We have been more than generous with our offer for a mistake that was in no way our fault.
Regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
0.0 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
7.2 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
16.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
4.7 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson

Property: Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Address: 14 Nelson Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 stylish suites overlook a heated pool and spa and are located opposite the Rye beach. Play golf, sail the bay, bathe in the hot springs, visit wineries and dine at great restaurants. For relaxation and indulgence on the Mornington Peninsula. We will ensure your stay is one to remember.One Four Nelson winner 2012 Best 4 Star property through Best Western,Awards for Excellence 2013,2014,2015 - Star Ratings Australia Gold Star list 2016 - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western One Four Nelson Hotel Rye
Best Western 1 4 Nelson
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Best Western Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing