We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're near the laundry - MOVE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you're near the laundry - MOVE!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night to go to the Hot Springs and have a relaxing weekend. In the morning we thought someone was having a fight outside our bedroom door but it was the two women working in the laundry swearing their heads off and talking about inappropriate stories from the night before .

The room was ok. Not worth the price though. It's in a good location to walk to Rye foreshore. An overnight stay is bearable. Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Missspano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
On behalf of Best Western One Four Nelson I would like to apologise for the inappropriate language and behavior of the staff in the laundry area during your stay. This is unacceptable behavior and will be dealt with accordingly. I take this opportunity to also thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor as it helps us identify areas that can be improved upon. We hope that you will try us again and have a more pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    68
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
26
91
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stay in Rye, you get better a choice of accommodations than in Sorrento. We were impressed with this Best Western right from the warm reception to the luxurious suites on the upper storey with a leafy view of their outdoor swimming pool.

The breakfast deal was great because we could choose a big hot breakfast in a full-service restaurant adjacent to the property and Rye turned out to be a nice little seaside town, close enough to the car ferry in Sorrento (we were stopping 1 night enroute to Queenscliff and the Great Ocean Road). We managed to fit in a little afternoon road trip to nearby Cape Schanck and it helped that the early summer weather was perfect (no heatwave during our holiday).

I found the bathroom a little too futuristic with its swivelling glass door; it was a little stiff and set quite close to the tiled floor which tends to entrap the floormat if one is not mindful enough. Otherwise everything else was near perfect !

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper level, overlooking the pool for a private view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoolTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kool Tan,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback as this helps us identify areas that can be improved upon. We look forward to welcoming you again to Best Western One Four Nelson.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This place is just beautiful. Everything was perfect and Gail and Helen were just so lovely and very helpful. The location is perfect and being right next to the the Rye Hotel was very handy too. Thank you to all the staff. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max764628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Good morning Max,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate all feedback and your kind words are very much appreciated, which I shall pass on to Helen and others in our area. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A great hotel children friendly the staff lovely very comfortable clean great pool and spa a great location for a beachside say we have been staying at this hotel over a long period ten yrs celebrating our first valentines together just over ten treats ago love this hotel and location and looking forward to many more stays ahead

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Good morning,
We thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you have chosen us again for your holiday treat. We look forward to many more years of welcoming you and your family to Best western One Four Nelson.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a 50th Anniversary Reunion here in December 2013. We were a group of about 40 people and we stayed for three nights. Our stay included a formal dinner, casual meals and a packed picnic lunch. From the very start, Gail (Manager Sales Team) and Vicki (Marketing and Functions Manager) did everything they could to make our stay a success. Nothing was too much trouble and all our events went very smoothly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Good morning,
On behalf of Best Western One Four Nelson and the Rye Hotel we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all feedback and are delighted that your stay went well. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future, and take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and hope 2014 brings health & happiness to you and all your group.
Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in November with my family and a good friend and the service was great.
super nice staff and the rooms were just as good as the pictures promised on the website. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to be able to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstevenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words will be passed to all staff members. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here in October 2013. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. The layout of the complex is unusual, with all rooms having doors to the pool area, also a small table and chairs outside the door gives every room a great place to relax overlooking the pool. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very pleasant to deal with and we would definitely recommend a stay here. The hotel next door is very handy for meals and the beach is right across the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M, Manager at Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Good morning Rosemary,
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Gail McMillan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
0.0 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
7.2 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
450 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
4.7 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weeroona Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson

Property: Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Address: 14 Nelson Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 stylish suites overlook a heated pool and spa and are located opposite the Rye beach. Play golf, sail the bay, bathe in the hot springs, visit wineries and dine at great restaurants. For relaxation and indulgence on the Mornington Peninsula. We will ensure your stay is one to remember. Star Ratings Australia Gold Star list 2016 - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western 1 4 Nelson
Best Western One Four Nelson Hotel Rye
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Best Western Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing