We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation, spotlessly clean, beautiful location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barking Owl Retreat
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We arrived at The Barking Owl with less than an hours notice on a Saturday night. Tanya had the cottage made up and ready for our arrival. We stayed in The Dingo’s Lair cottage which although compact for 2 adults and a child is excellently thought out. It is well equipped, we had everything we needed and didnt find space an issue. The deck is a great setting with magnificent views. It’s a beautiful rural location only a few minutes from Tolga and Atherton. We saw owls twice during our stay. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Perfect way to get away from it all and just force yourself to chill out and enjoy the wide open spaces of the Tablelands, this is the spot! Quiet and chilled, beautiful breezes rolling up the valley at you morning, noon and night. The hampers are a great touch that means you don't have to go anywhere if you don't want to, great place for a weekend away without the kids (oooops did i say that :)), but i'm sure the kids would enjoy as well (not that we will be giving this place up to our kids - this one is ours). Enjoyed the weekend and will be back for sure, thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaandNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Relaxation is what we needed, and that's what we got! Barking Owl Retreat is a great place - the cottage was beautifully renovated and had everything we needed - the kitchen was awesome too! The spa and bathroom was very spacious. We'll defintely be going back - suitable for a couples romantic getaway or for the family with a sofa bed that folds out for the kids. Thanks Tanya for a great time and i'll definately be recommending you to my friends and family (and even at the hotel i work in if people are heading to the tablelands!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauzie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My Husband and I spent the night at Barking Owl Retreat for our first wedding anniversary, and we were blown away at how wonderful the place was. It was an amazing experience, and we cannot fault a thing.
We arrived at the Retreat at about 2pm, and we were greeted warmly by Tanya, who gave us the rundown on what to see and do in the area, where to eat - very helpful! We stayed in the Dingo's Lair which was lovely. It was extremely well equipped, clean, comfy and the double spa bath was a great touch. It is an extremely peaceful spot, and the landscape is stunning.
I have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the world's top hotels, and my experience at Barking Owl Retreat rates as one of the best. We will definitely be returning in the future. I am already missing the tranquility!
Best of all, we got to see a Barking Owl near the nesting box, and as mad Owl nuts, my husband and I were delighted.
We cannot find fault with the Barking Owl Retreat - heading there for the weekend was one of the best decisions we have made in ages! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picklecat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I loved this place, unfortunately we only got to spend one night there. It would be great to spend 2 or 3 nights there. We arrived after dark so had trouble finding the place however after much wandering around the countryside we did eventually arrive and were greated by a lovely lady who supplied us with our breakfast supplies. We knew they had a bbq so had brought steaks, salad and wine and settled in for the evening. We had a fabulous night and morning at the barking owl. We walked to the dam in the morning and were enchanted with the fireplace and the peacefulness of the place. I will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Tranquil spot , clean except for when we turned on the spa jets and rubbish floated out..eeeww! and the foul odour when we were filling the bath. Stingy breakfast...and lastly TOO many labels for my liking..i felt like i was back at kinder..if you need to instruct people write in in a folder and ask people to read it if you must

Room Tip: Make sure you take dinner/breakfast with you.Well equipped kitchen and long dirt country road some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarkingWeb, Owner at Barking Owl Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

We alpogise once again for your experience with the spa and note we discounted your stay. Unfortunately part of living in the country is sharing it with nature. We like to make everything sparkle for our guests but some things are out of our control. Amongst the many Barking Owls that call our property home there are many other animals too. A tiny barrimundi frog made his way into the spa jet and was the cause of the problem. Our continental breakfast is included in the main tariff and is only priced at $5 per person. Where can you get breakfast for $5? We do have a hot breakfast upgrade available as well which many guests comment is too large. We have labels in our cottages due to the multi-national clientelle that stay here from all over the world. Guests are always commenting that the labels are handy. There is also a fully detailed book displayed in each cottage. Barking Owl Retreat is at the end of a 4km country road. Worth the drive our guests tell us, and also very central and close to Atherton, Lake Tinaroo Dam, and a not too from Yungaburra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in Dingoes Lair for 2 nights in July. The location is quiet and the siting of the cottage is simply perfect. Some of the original parts of the cottage are still evident and give the little building its great charm and character. It was in spotless condition, very comfortable and had great modern appliances.

Although Barking Owl Retreat is quiet, it is not remote - just a short drive through beautiful rural countryside will get you to a pub and supermarket. Tanya's stocks of 'mini bar' items are high quality and very tempting too.

We used the cottage as a base for touring but made sure we were back by late afternoon because the early evening in that lovely place is not to be missed. Early mornings were heavenly too.

Dingoes Lair is best suited for couples. There were 3 adults in our party, which made the sitting room/bedroom quite cramped when the fold-away bed was extended. But that didn't bother us because everything else was so exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
9.2 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
242 reviews
12.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
#2 of 6 in Atherton
22 reviews
6.3 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
7.5 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barking Owl Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barking Owl Retreat

Address: 409 Hough Rd | Kairi, Atherton, Queensland 4872, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: £111 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barking Owl Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Tablelands Bed and Breakfast Farm Stay Accommodation, Barking Owl Retreat in Kairi, on the Cairns Highlands offers private luxury accommodation with the friendliness and atmosphere of a traditional Bed and Breakfast Farm stay. Featuring two fully self contained cottages tucked in a secluded valley just over an hours self-drive from the Cairns International Airport Tropical Far North Queensland, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barking Owl Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing