We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barking Owl Retreat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Barking Owl Retreat
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“A relaxing weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Beautiful setting for a peaceful relaxing weekend with friends and family. We chose this accommodation due its proximity to LakeTinaroo; alas the weather was awful so no boating took place. It didn't matter as we enjoyed catching up on rest, the kids loved fishing at the dam and all managed to catch ( and return) fish. Adults sat under cover round the fire watching the kids by the dam. Lovely clean well equipped cottages, friendly helpful hosts. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a quiet weekend get away

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you need a break from the rat race in a classic Aussie country setting this is the place. Friendly service and a spotless and tastefully presented cottage. The dogs escort you on the tour to the dam, which is nice. :). Would particularly suit the overseas visitor who wants a quick country experience an hour from Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morro1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Tanya and Chris were very welcoming and informative hosts for our 3 night stay in the Tablelands. The Dingo's lair cottage looks over a perfect view of rolling hills. Just sitting there having breakfast we saw so many birds: flycatchers, cockatoos, and at night, geckos and tiny frogs. The quiet and peace are a cure for jaded Sydney souls. The cottage is perfectly maintained, and has everything you need. The bed is comfy, the gas heater will keep you warm on a cooler winter night. The breakfast is on the smaller size side but we brought some groceries, advisable as supermarkets are 10 mins drive or so. If you want to see amazing bird action watch the ibises, hawks and many others in the endless fields around and visit Hasties swamp with thousands of ducks and geese.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Having travelled cross-country and around Australia for three months with approx. 50 different accommodations, the Barking Owl was definitely one of the top end stays: Nicely located in the Atherton Tablelands, a beautiful cottage (one of two) providing a maximum of privacy, perfectly equipped with a separate kitchen, a nice canopied terrace with a Weber BBQ, great hospitality (if you are interested in the wild life, Tanya will give you tips where a platypus, where owls etc. can be spotted). Summing up, one of our best stays in Australia.
Sylvia & Hansgeorg (Germany)
www.sy-alumni.de

Room Tip: Both cottages are obviously equal. We stayed at "Dingo's Lair", the more remote cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burgaltendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I really enjoyed staying here as it was the peace and quiet I was looking for. We stayed in the farthest accommodation, and it was fantastic sitting out on the back veranda with an amazing view of nature and not a sliver of man-made noise or construction in sight. I plan to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 247RuthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We arrived at The Barking Owl with less than an hours notice on a Saturday night. Tanya had the cottage made up and ready for our arrival. We stayed in The Dingo’s Lair cottage which although compact for 2 adults and a child is excellently thought out. It is well equipped, we had everything we needed and didnt find space an issue. The deck is a great setting with magnificent views. It’s a beautiful rural location only a few minutes from Tolga and Atherton. We saw owls twice during our stay. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Perfect way to get away from it all and just force yourself to chill out and enjoy the wide open spaces of the Tablelands, this is the spot! Quiet and chilled, beautiful breezes rolling up the valley at you morning, noon and night. The hampers are a great touch that means you don't have to go anywhere if you don't want to, great place for a weekend away without the kids (oooops did i say that :)), but i'm sure the kids would enjoy as well (not that we will be giving this place up to our kids - this one is ours). Enjoyed the weekend and will be back for sure, thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaandNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
17.0 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
10.5 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
10.6 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Jabiru Safari Lodge
Jabiru Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mareeba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.2 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
7.6 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barking Owl Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barking Owl Retreat

Property: Barking Owl Retreat
Address: 409 Hough Rd | Kairi, Atherton, Queensland 4872, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barking Owl Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Tablelands Bed and Breakfast Farm Stay Accommodation, Barking Owl Retreat in Kairi, on the Cairns Highlands offers private luxury accommodation with the friendliness and atmosphere of a traditional Bed and Breakfast Farm stay. Featuring two fully self contained cottages tucked in a secluded valley just over an hours self-drive from the Cairns International Airport Tropical Far North Queensland, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Barking Owl Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing