We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect quiet hideaway to experience the Tablelands!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barking Owl Retreat
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“The perfect quiet hideaway to experience the Tablelands!”
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Me and my partner spent the long weekend at Barking Owl retreat and explored the tablelands. The Dingo's lair cottage was cozy and beautifully presented. Sitting on the back deck in the afternoon looking out over the valley and hills in the distance was really relaxing, it was as if you were the only people on the property. The breakfast hampers were lovely and huge! We took our own food and cooked on the bbq on the back deck. The spa was such a nice indulgence and very nice to relax in while watching the sun setting. It is centrally located to lots of little towns in the tablelands, and really close to Lake Tinaroo dam. And heaps of waterfalls and national parks.
The hosts were so friendly and welcoming it was really enjoyable organizing the booking and chatting. It was the best weekend we have had in such a long time! I would love to go and stay again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc195615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarkingWeb, Owner at Barking Owl Retreat, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
Hi Bill and Thea,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to having you back. Hope those noisy neighbours of yours are not tooo loud!

Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banchory Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my week at The Barking Owl Retreat! My cousin came up from Brisbane to join me. Dingo's Lair is a delightful cottage, very well equipped with a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. From my first phonecall from Scotland to enquire about availability I was impressed by the friendliness and willingness of my hosts to make my stay an unforgettable one. It was indeed the perfect place to relax after a few weeks camping in WA. A complete and utter novice, I caught a sooty grunter within ten minutes of arriving at the dam!!
I wish Tanya and Chris continued success in this venture. I heartily recommend a visit. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

After staying at Barking Owl retreat for 2 nights in July, and loving it, we couldn't wait to return for a week over our Christmas/New Year break. We especially enjoyed sitting on the back verandah after a BBQ dinner, watching the stars come out and listening to the frogs, and then being woken up next morning by the birds. The property is in a great spot, close to all the attractions of the beautiful Atherton Tablelands. The weather was also great - much cooler than the coast and less humid. There was no need for an air conditioner in our cottage as the breeze was lovely. The double spa was also very relaxing!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I took my Mum to Barking Owl for two nights as a thank-you for all the help she gave me in organising my wedding.

It is in a peaceful spot, about 15 minutes from the picturesque Tablelands town on Yungaburra.

The two cabins are very private and well-appointed with lovely views of the green countryside. Mum and I took our own food, which was easy to prepare in the kitchen and on the weber bbq on the big deck. There were also lots of lovely wines and treats in the mini-bar. We had ordered an indulgence basket which contained wine, cheese and crackers. This was reasonably priced and well worth it.

Barking Owl is in a great location for Tablelands exploring. On day two, we drove to Granite Gorge and hand-fed the semi-wild rock wallabies. We lunched at Mt Uncle Distillery and returned for a relaxing afternoon on the deck.

Very peaceful night's sleep listening to the cicadas and curlews.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelawnneedsmowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Barking Owl as part of a two week Australia vacation. We spent most of our time in Cairns and Port Douglas. We quickly got a little tired of the expensive dinners and touristy atmosphere of Cairns. After that portion of our trip we stayed at the Barking Owl.

It was glorious. The setting in rolling hills on a working cattle farm was just what the doctor ordered to relieve us from our stay in Cairns. It was very quiet. It was remote enough to be soothing but close enough to still visit Yungaburra, Atherton, and other points close by. We visited the Cheese and Chocolate farm at Gallo, the delicious winery in Yungaburra, and other points close by.

Chris and Tanya were excellent hosts willing to help us with finding interesting sites, enjoying the farm location, or just to socialize with. Their extremely friendly pets made excellent walking companions.

The cottages themselves were meticulously maintained and appointed. Each cottage has a working spa tub and one of the most comfortable beds besides my own at home.

I can't recommend the Barking Owl enough as a great place to retreat to from the worries of a hectic life or vacation schedule.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motleyfool777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Very comfortable B & B with all the extra touches made our stay relaxing and very enjoyable. Hosts Tanya and Chris was very warm, friendly and helpful in all aspects of our stay. It was very refreshing to find people enthusiastic about their B & B and wanting to make our stay exactly what we were wanting ie: info on local attractions etc. Wish them continued success. Trish and Lawrie - Townsville.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Barking Owl provides fantastic accommodation- high quality and very tasteful. The hospitality of Tanya, Chris and family is second to none. The property is beautiful and it's great fun fishing in the dam. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaVaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
241 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
141 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
236 reviews
6.3 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
14.9 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barking Owl Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barking Owl Retreat

Property: Barking Owl Retreat
Address: 409 Hough Rd | Kairi, Atherton, Queensland 4872, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barking Owl Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Tablelands Bed and Breakfast Farm Stay Accommodation, Barking Owl Retreat in Kairi, on the Cairns Highlands offers private luxury accommodation with the friendliness and atmosphere of a traditional Bed and Breakfast Farm stay. Featuring two fully self contained cottages tucked in a secluded valley just over an hours self-drive from the Cairns International Airport Tropical Far North Queensland, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barking Owl Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing