We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We've just enjoyed another relaxing stay on the Tablelands and of course returned to Woodlands Big 4 as the park is set amongst a mini rainforest where tropical plants are lush and the birds are plentiful. The atmosphere of the park is relaxing and the staff are very obliging. It is also central to one of the most picturesque places in Australia. It has easy access for our caravan and the sites are surrounded by beautiful gardens. We return every year to enjoy the weather and the beautiful surroundings and am already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We shall be sure to share it with our team. We are so pleased you relaxed and enjoyed yourselves, both in our Park and in the area in general. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    48
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently stayed in one of the villas here and loved everything about the park. The management were so friendly and extremely helpful. The cabin was spotlessly clean and just as shown on the website. The kids playground and pool were a huge hit after a long day of travel and my son didn't want to leave. Looking forward to visiting the tablelands again soon and cannot wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We shall be sure to share it with our team. We all take enormous pride in the standards we set in the Park and it makes it all the more worthwhile when our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay and the facilities and service we provide. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in an Eco Cabin. Obviously very new as everything was pristine. Having said that, everything I saw at this park was in very good condition, well-maintained. Only stayed one night as we were passing through, but would love to stay again, probably for longer. Eco cabins are ideally suited to smaller families/very young children as the room isn't very large. We were fine with that though as we mostly needed it to sleep in, not to lounge about all day. Too much sightseeing in the surrounding areas to spend time indoors! Beds were very comfortable and the staff very amicable at check in. No trouble to make up the sofa bed for us also as a late request. More tropical plants distributed throughout the park wouldn't go astray.

Room Tip: Our cabin seemed very new, everything inside was in pristine condition. The quietest fan and air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in one of eco cabins, which were installed in September of 2012. They are proving to be very popular. As you mentioned, these eco cabins are designed for a couple or a smaller family --- but we do now have our very large 3 bedroom solar powered eco family Lodge --- so perhaps next time you stay, you might like to try it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here three years ago in a motor home and so we had a good feeling that the place would be just as beautiful and well looked after and indeed when we arrived it all looked just as good as we remembered. This time however we stayed in a family sized cabin and although it was very clean and tidy it did not suit us at all because the cabin seemed very dark and oppressive because of the lack of large windows anywhere and the very close proximity of trees and shrubbery to the windows and decking making a view of the very nicely maintained grounds virtually impossible from anywhere in the cabin including the decking. The cabin itself was very clean and tidy and contained everything we needed with very adequate TV coverage and free unlimited WiFi. We had a very pleasant and efficient reception service from someone who obviously cared a great deal about the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback, following your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our level of service and cleanliness and were very pleased to see that we certainly met your expectations in this regard.
Thank you also for the comments regarding the garden bed outside the cabin. We have noted this and will look to see what changes we can make in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Friendly reception, allowing us to inspect the Park before selecting our site. Scrupulously clean; attention to detail is apparent in all public areas. Plenty of space to spread out, and the park is on several levels, so there is no need to be looking at other peoples' encampments. It's a fair way out of town, so you need to drive to get your supplies, but once you've done so, you can cook up a feast in the huge camp kitchen, which is better appointed than most. It's a little more expensive than other Parks in the area, but it's money well-spent, especially if you take out Big4 membership.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlankJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We, and our team, take a lot of pride in our Park which is made all the more worthwhile when we receive feedback such as yours - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in one of the new ECO cabins to see what it was like. Usually we stay in a family villa. Solar powered - and we couldn't tell the difference! Solar hot water which was hotter than the family villa, so we were very impressed! The decor was tastefully done and the combined bathroom/toilet was a decent size. We have never had a bad experience at Woodlands, and have recommended them to anyone we know who is travelling the Tablelands.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Eco cabin, they have become very popular and we are very proud of them. They are in fact 8 star energy rated and built from sustainable materials. Perhaps next time you visit, you might like to try our new spacious, Eco Lodge! Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I are caravanners and responsible pet owner travelling with 2 Burmese.

We are constantly having to suffer 3rd world caravan parks.

This is not the case at Big 4 Atherton Woodlands.

When you invest well over a 100 thousand dollars in car/caravan rigs to travel Australia and support the local travel industry, inject needed funds to local communities and help Australia's tourism sector prosper sadly a huge amount caravan park owners treat you like the anti-christ.

At Woodlands they truly appreciate having the 4 of us stay with them in a 100% quality park

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsAtherton, Owner at BIG4 Atherton Woodlands, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We have long been supporters of guests who travel with their pets and we recognise that they are an extension of your family and that they are very special. It is nice for us to see that our guests appreciate the efforts we go to, to make our Park welcoming and special for everyone. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
2.2 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Atherton Halloran's Lesiure Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
2.9 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#5 of 6 in Atherton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Atherton Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Atherton Woodlands

Property: BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
Address: 141 Herberton Road, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Atherton Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully located in the heart of the stunning Atherton Tablelands BIG4 Woodlands Atherton Tourist Park have a variety of accommodation options to suit all tastes and budgets. Winner of the 2008 Tourism Tropical Nth QLD Best Tourist Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BIG4 Atherton Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing