We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atherton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atherton Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Atherton
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed in the motel for 3 months while working on the tablelands. The room was great, the food was excellent and the owners, Rob and Carolyn were only to happy to make our time at the motel extremely comfortable and nothing was to much trouble for them. I would definitely stay at the motel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
24
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Carolyn and Andrew have their hands full with this older property, but what it lacks in style is certainly made up for by the generosity of the owners. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there it bought us country folk back down to earth after staying in 5 star in Cairns, support these smaller motels as they are the salt of the earth.

Room Tip: Just go you'll enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
295 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here 10th-12th June, as walk ins. They could not have been more helpful,
a great base for the Tablelands.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I booked this motel for two nights getting a great deal on Wotif (room with two double beds for 80 dollars/night) and had a great time. Initially the decor looks quite old school, but the rooms are spacious, good hot shower, spotless throughout, good selection of tv channels, free wifi and most of all the great view from all the rooms made it well above par. It's two mins into Atherton town centre and there's also a Chinese restaurant that's above average next door, you can eat in or take out. Would stay again definitely.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitsi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

As residents of Cairns we regularly venture to the Tablelands to stay overnight and visit one of the weekend markets held up there. We have stayed in a whole range of accommodations and lately, keep on gravitating back to the Atherton Motel. The motel is reasonably priced, spacious, immaculately clean and stands imposingly on a huge block of land with great views over well maintained grounds and rolling hills in the distance. While lacking the adornments of more up-market accommodations, the motel has a good, solid, country feel and the owners are extremely hospitable and helpful. The motel has the added advantage of being neighbour to a great Chinese Restaurant where we regularly eat when we venture up that way.

Room Tip: All rooms enjoy the same outlook and appear to be of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benaraby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

The Atherton Motel is an older motel, on a huge lush green block, with fantastic views. Being an older motel is deceptive, as the rooms are indeed quite modern & generous in size. The beds were very comfortable & each room had a fridge & microwave. The bathrooms are aged a little, but quite roomy. My stay was just after cyclone Yasi had devastated the area. Myself & 22 other guys had travelled up to assist in repairing the damaged powerlines. We lobbed into the hotel, looking for good rooms & tucker !! Boy did we find it !! Rob & his wife Caroline were fantastic. The food, by their chef (Terry) was the best food of any motel I had ever stayed in !! And just quietly, Rob knows how to knock out the perfect steak too !!!Should you chose to stay there, you will enjoy the most welcoming & friendly people, who will strive to enhance your Atherton stay to the best of their ability. Rob & Caroline can organise some great experiences. All you have to do is make the booking. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, in fact we were a little dissapointed to leave.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMcBenaraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Thought the soap dispenser was a good idea and cost effective. Sorry we weren't able to stay longer. Insect screen on sliding door would be good. After just coming from a Cairns Beach Accomodation 4+* where we felt ripped off, it was a pleasen surprise.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellygang51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
0.6 mi away
Atherton Hinterland Motel
2.2 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atherton Halloran's Lesiure Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
17.8 mi away
Jackaroo Motel
Jackaroo Motel
#1 of 3 in Mareeba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Motel

Property: The Atherton Motel
Address: 102 Maunds Rd, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atherton Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atherton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing