We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Atherton Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curtain Fig Motel(Yungaburra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House Retreat(Yungaburra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
23
36
10
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
36
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantrestaurant next doorwalking distancelovely ownersgreat place to staystayed for nightswould stay againpagodatakeawaywififridgefoxteltidy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed in the motel for 3 months while working on the tablelands. The room was great, the food was excellent and the owners, Rob and Carolyn were only to happy to make our time at the motel extremely comfortable and nothing was to much trouble for them. I would definitely stay at the motel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Carolyn and Andrew have their hands full with this older property, but what it lacks in style is certainly made up for by the generosity of the owners. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there it bought us country folk back down to earth after staying in 5 star in Cairns, support these smaller motels as they are the salt of the earth.

Room Tip: Just go you'll enjoy it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here 10th-12th June, as walk ins. They could not have been more helpful,
a great base for the Tablelands.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I booked this motel for two nights getting a great deal on Wotif (room with two double beds for 80 dollars/night) and had a great time. Initially the decor looks quite old school, but the rooms are spacious, good hot shower, spotless throughout, good selection of tv channels, free wifi and most of all the great view from all the rooms made it well above par. It's two mins into Atherton town centre and there's also a Chinese restaurant that's above average next door, you can eat in or take out. Would stay again definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitsi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

As residents of Cairns we regularly venture to the Tablelands to stay overnight and visit one of the weekend markets held up there. We have stayed in a whole range of accommodations and lately, keep on gravitating back to the Atherton Motel. The motel is reasonably priced, spacious, immaculately clean and stands imposingly on a huge block of land with great views over well maintained grounds and rolling hills in the distance. While lacking the adornments of more up-market accommodations, the motel has a good, solid, country feel and the owners are extremely hospitable and helpful. The motel has the added advantage of being neighbour to a great Chinese Restaurant where we regularly eat when we venture up that way.

Room Tip: All rooms enjoy the same outlook and appear to be of the same standard.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews