We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in a great town. Clean, friendly, helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atherton Hinterland Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Atherton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Atherton is a great base for the tourist, seeking to get away from Cairns for a few days. We found the Atherton Hinterland Motel clean and tidy, with friendly staff. It may not be the 'newest' motel in town, but is only a few blocks away from shopping centre, quiet and a lovely bushland setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

My daughter and I were arriving well after reception had closed, so a key was left under the mat for us which harkened back to old days of trust. Older style room but very comfortable and clean. The beds were really comfy and my daughter fell asleep virtually when her head hit the pilllow. When we woke in the morning and had a look around the property we really liked how it was hidden from the main roads by trees and shrubs thus reducing a lot of traffic noise. Upon checkout the staff were great and really friendly. I would definitely stay here again and so would my daughter. Good location, close to lots of stuff: shopping, attractions, etc....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stumbled across the motel, as we arrived at the tablelands the weekend of the rodeo, so accommodation was hard to find. We stayed overnight in a standard room, although dated was comfortable. The owner was very helpful and we wish him much success with his renovations. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed here for several nights while visiting the Tablelands region - an excellent location for the region, central to many attractions, and an excellent location in the town itself, at the edge of the town centre, you could walk to everything.
Spacious room, clean, comfortable and loads of hot water.
It was lovely going to sleep to the sound of the stream outside.
The covered parking was appreciated. It rained a bit and the cover meant you stayed dry while going from car to room. It was also pleasant to sit outside (table and chairs provided) to write (old-fashioned!) postcards even though it was raining.
I didn't try the in-house breakfast. Got up later and went to local cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobileEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here on our way to Port Douglas. We stayed in a standard room which was a bit dated but perfectly clean and comfortable. It suited us just fine. The staff were very friendly and free wireless was a godsend. Overall we thought this place was great. My only suggestion was an update on the towels other wise we would recommend this motel.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The young, helpful owners are renovating this motel, but for one night we chose to stay in a standard room, which was quite adequate. Within walking distance of town centre. Choice of restaurants in town, owners will advise on special deals on particular days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatronEpsom_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

A nice motel with friendly owners, the beds were comfy and breakfast was on time!!! Very easy going and casual, I had no stress with this place, was able to walk to town & back without any strain. I Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f1engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
1.5 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
0.6 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#6 of 6 in Atherton
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atherton Hotel
Atherton Hotel
#5 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton Hinterland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Hinterland Motel

Address: 44 Cook St, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Atherton
Price Range: £74 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atherton Hinterland Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tropical haven in the heart of Atherton, you’ll find the Atherton Hinterland Motel! The only motel in central Atherton. An affordable, family operated, comfortable indoor and outdoor motel that has everything you need, in a perfect location only 10 minutes walk from restaurants, bars, cafes, shops and more.The Atherton Hinterland Motel is much more than just a place to sleep. All rooms are cleaned daily and we offer a large range of accommodation styles. We would be delighted to serve you breakfast and dinner during your stay with us. Our kitchen prepares sumptuous breakfast seven days a week, and we also serve evening meals from Monday to Thursday. A comprehensive snack menu is also available on Friday and Saturday evenings. All meals are served in the comfort and privacy of your room. The Atherton Hinterland Motel is nestled an over 10,000 square metres of land with an amazing variety of native plants, birds and wildlife. A lovely small creek ambles in between the tropical palms and giant Karri trees. There is a free undercover BBQ area on the property for guest use. The motel is situated across from a children’s playground and the start of the Halloran’s Hill Environmental Park, which is a short uphill walk to the top of a majestic lookout and sheltered BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atherton Hinterland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing