We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple affordable friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Atherton
Innisfail, Australia
1 review
“Simple affordable friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Simple style, affordable. Nice location just out of town. Staff very friendly and good service. Had issue with Foxtel in my room, manager came immediately and fixed it. Have large open grassed area out front and it was great to see families playing football. I have stayed before and I will again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kbethel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to Townsville and would most probably look for somewhere else next time. The room was clean, and comfortable, but the road noise was quite audible especially in the morning. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was okay, except a bit greasy. I would not classify it as "fine dining" as advertising states. The owners were not very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We called in to see if they had 2 rooms for an over night stay. The owners were lovely ,they gave us a good deal.The rooms are clean and nice with 2 queen beds in each.Our friends were impressed also

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallygirly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The room was clean and fairly comfy even if a little basic. Re previous reviewer - we asked and were given fresh carton of milk every day but no way of telling if this was added to the bill.The problem came with the staff who were not as friendly as most people we met in Australia (apart from the NZ cleaner who was) Dinner in the restaurant was very annoying as, after consulting the menu for quite a while before anyone came for our orders, I ordered duck only to be told that it was off the menu, so I went for chicken - again off the menu. Maybe the waitress could have handed me the menu and said "Duck and chicken are off"! (McDonalds is just down the road!!). Another problem was breakfast is only delivered to your room between 7 and 8 am. A decent breakfast but far too early for a holiday! Get the feeling this motel was run for the benefit of the staff and the customers were secondary. An Australian Fawlty Towers?!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

It's a motel room with ensuite, fridge, TV, iron, kettle, double and single bed - not a great deal of space left over. I came down from Daintree on the way to Atherton/Yungaburra and did a stopover here. The place wasn't full so I think they'd spaced guests out which was probably to maximise peace and quiet as I got the impression that the walls were thin and neighbours couldn't help but be heard. Contrary to their publicity you can hear traffic on the highway (it's a fast road, especially for the locals even in the pouring rain, and the turn-in wasn't signed well enough for me to take it first time, although I did have a Formula One would-be all over my rear end for miles before) but it's intermittent and not really disturbing. The rooms are showing their age and lack any consistency in stylistic considerations but they are functional. A small carton of milk is given to you when you check in - don't know if you get restocked if staying longer - and guests are required to book breakfast before retiring. Don't expect an insect-free environment. Ants on the worktop - seal up any consumables or put them in the fridge - and earwigs around the sleeping area needed to be escorted away.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qupnicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
1.9 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.4 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Atherton Hinterland Motel
7.2 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.3 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn

Property: Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn
Address: Corner of Kennedy Highway & Simms Road, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing