We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance to see wildlife up close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Stayed at The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses in Sept for 3 nights. We had a leisurely drive down from Cape Tribulation. We stopped in Malanda to stock up on groceries and ran into David, our host at the supermarket.

It was quite easy finding the hotel although you needed to watch the road signs. The property was a 15 minute drive south of Malanda. Upon arrival, we checked in with our other host, Sharon who showed us our treehouse.

The treehouse is absolutely luxurious. On the ground floor, is parking and the washer and dryer. Up a flight of wooden stairs, the main floor contains the master bedroom, full kitchen, living room and full bath with jacuzzi. There is a wooden stove in the living room for heat as it does get cold at night due to the elevation. The deck had a BBQ grill, a hammock and a table and chairs. There is a phone and TV/DVD (gets reception). The deck also has a bird feeder and where you see all the animals. Top floor contains another bedroom.

We spent our afternoon just watching the numerous types of birds that come to the feeder. Australian King Parrots will literally fly on your hand to get at the seed. We did a night tour which my son enjoyed as we got to see rare tree kangaroos, numerous wallaby’s, a snake, bats and numerous possums. In fact, at night, the possums come right to the treehouse looking for food. Down by the creek which the treehouses overlook, my son got to feed the turtles that live down there.

The Treehouses are very convenient to visit the Atherton area. The Millaa Millaa waterfalls and Yungaburra are a short drive away. The Crater Lakes are also nearby. Although we cooked most of our meals, we did drive to the nearby towns to get lunch.

Overall, a great and relaxing stay at the Canopy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 08 and I consider myself priviledged to have been able to experience the sheer wonder and beauty of its location. We stayed in the Platypus House and it was beautiful. Everything you could possibly need was catered for. We went on a Platypus sighting trip that was organised by the owner one evening and then fed the padimelons later on. We walked to a creek and fed the turtles one afternoon too. Every evening the possums would climb up and wait to be fed. A word to the wise, don't leave your windows open in evening because the possums climb in and make a huge mess or leave your trainers out at night because they pee over everything! In the morning the parrots and Honey eaters will fly down to be fed. The honey eaters would sit on your hand and eat bananas. One morning I woke up to find a tree frog on the wall in the bathroom. I was totally enthralled by the whole experience and would recommend this special place to all.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kagriff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

This place is amazing!! Our Family have stayed here twice - firstly in Sept '06 then several months later(after being continually pestered by kids) in July '07.
Location and Treehouses are just beautiful - a place you can truely relax and unwind and have good quality time with the family -your only visitors being the wildlife which was heaps of fun.
Malanda is not far away for any supplies you needed and last time we were there it was Malanda Show Weekend so lots happening.
Would one day love to visit again as we will always hold special memories of this place

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

Just beautiful, we loved our 2 night stay in the rainforest with the birds, turtles and possums. The treehouses are designed with many windows so that you are constantly reminded by your surroundings even if you don't go outside. It's a real treat if you are into birds as they come onto the balcony for all the delicious snacks provided.

We have a 20month old and I was a bit apprehensive about how suitable the accomodation would be, even after being assured that the treehouses were child safe. We didn't have any problems except that we needed to temporarily block access to the upstairs staircase.

I read the review before this one and must add that we had no rain and no problem with leaches (a spray bottle of vinegar is provided to use on feet as a deterant).

Totally recommend it, a unique spot.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MytimeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We had a great wildlife experience in these lovely tree-house cabins. If you like your wild life wild then you will love this place. It really is teeming! If your squeamish about leeches then be advised they are rampant in the rain forest. The location is unique as the five houses are embedded within the rain forest for real and you share your veranda with possum, parrots, turkeys etc etc.

The houses themselves are very well equipped, very comfortable and quite unique really. Loved the jacuzzi with the panoramic views of the forest and the seclusion - this really is great for a honeymoon. It let's the fella be brave and rescue his bride from the blood suckers! Highly recommended as an experience. But be warned it's not called a rain forest for nothing - it must have rained continuously throughout our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tawny-Frogmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We stayed here during some terrible weather but were still comfortable and still managed to see all the wildlife that we came for, including Lumholtz's Tree Kangaroo and Platypus.

The cabins are set high up on stilts overlooking the rain forest and a small creek. Parrots visit the veranda for food by day and possums by night. A juvenile Cassowary, which was suspiciously tame, also visited every now and then. Because of the high rainfall, leeches were something of a problem when walking the forest tracks.

The cabins are very well equipped, with a nice log stove, excellent kitchens and even a large spa bath.

There is plenty to see in the vicinity and a boat trip on Lake Barrimine is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Msafiri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We had short listed this accommodation, but decided to book with another (Rivers Edge Rainforest Retreat) with which something went wrong with our booking ( my fault AND I should have double checked their receipt of definite booking). When we arrived on the Athurton in the evening our expected rooms were just gone as our intended hosts had just given up on us, (we had been unable to confirm by phone as my mobile didn't work because of reception problems in area and our previous hotel had a dodgy room phone). Rivers Edge kindly recommended Fur'nFeathers and organized an urgent booking- interesting that their suggestion had been our second choice.

Fur'n Feathers have charming cabins elevated on stilts amongst the canopy in the forest which had unfortunately recently been decimated by a cyclone. The cabins have underneath parking and laundry including washer and tumble dryer, and contain 2 bedrooms (one open attic spaced overlooking the living area and one closed with abundant fitted cupboard space and great king size bed but not at all soundproof), delightful bathrooms with large windows overlooking private rivers edge, spa bath, and shower with resident frogs which had to be removed gently before ablutions; a great kitchen with all facilities including dishwasher, pots, and basics including over-ripe bananas and seed for the wildlife; and adjoining the lounge/eating room (with tv/dvd but unfortunately seating not fantastically comfortable) adjoining a balcony with excellent table setting, gas barbecue and bird feeders.

The possums however are all for breaking in at night and shinnied hopefully up and down the doors. Opening the door to take bird feed out in the morning the aerial wild life came in the door and onto or hands before we could get out the door! However they were easy to bribe out again with the food, and varied fascinating and charming rather than aggressive. There are also enthusiastic turtles to feed down beside the river a short walk away and more elusive nocturnal wildlife to be sought on a naturalist guided night walk.

Our only reservation was the pair of young resident cassowaries which are intimidating and could be hazardous especially with children. One took an interest in our feet which was daunting. My son was also somewhat freaked out by an attack of leaches on our turtle walk- we should have applied the vinegar spray which our hosts thoughtfully provide prior to walking.

Overall a great and unique experience- but I'd still like to go back and try our first choice, as a slightly more luxurious option.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelbourneJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
8.0 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
241 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
8.5 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
9.8 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary

Address: Hogan Road, Tarzali, Atherton, Queensland 4885, Australia (Formerly Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Tree Houses)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: £194 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of numerous awards and offering the ultimate in eco-responsible boutique luxury, "The Canopy" is one of Australia's most unique accommodation and wildlife experiences. Located on the banks of the Ithaca River and surrounded by pristine, private rainforest, it is home to a stunning array of rare and exotic wildlife, including the iconic Southern Cassowary and the unique Lumholtz's Tree Kangaroo. Note: formerly called Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Treehouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Atherton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing