We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long weekend well enjoyed”
Review of Allawah Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allawah Retreat
Reviewed 3 October 2012

As the kids were with the grandparents we decided to go away for the long weekend to Allawah. We were lucky that the Hideaway Lodge was the last available as it is the best lodge there. It was quiet, relaxing and the views were excellent. The peace and serenity was at its best, it was dissappointing that we had to leave. Everything was there and we made good use of the spa and spent a lot of time out on the deck relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Under the new owner, Marjorie we had a thoroughly enjoyable 4 days. It was relaxing and well run with all you need to be self contained.
Would thoroughly recommend it and we will return

Room Tip: Top of the hill is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardimcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Many thanks for your kind words - we very much look forwrd to your company again when next you visit the beautiful Atherton Tablelands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My fiance and I stayed for the first time at the Allawah Retreat over the Christmas period. Living hectic lifestyles in Sydney it was just what the doctor ordered to be surrounded by the serenity in your own private self contained cabin. In the middle of no where but certainly not lacking in luxury. What most left an impression on us was the way the owner, Marjorie went out of her way to welcome us and even on Christmas Day when when she was celebrating with her family we still had our dinner order delivered to us on time and piping hot!! Its the extra effort and touches that Marjorie provided will have us returning to Allawah - maybe next time in the winter to make use out of the cosy fireplace xx

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

We appreciate your feedback, and are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Allawah. We look forward to seeing you again when you want to escape the fast lane!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at Allawah in August 2011 for three nights with my partner in the treetop lodge. Upon arrival we were greeted by Trish and shown through the lodge. While our first impression of the lodge was "wow" I felt Trish was a little bit frosty towards us. Perhaps because as we are only in our 20s we were younger than your average guests so she was a bit suspicious. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Allawah but there were good and bad points.

Good:
-the spa on our outdoor deck was MASSIVE! I have very fond memories of sipping moet in the spa and taking in the beatiful view.
-the view from the lodge was beatiful!
-Lovely breakfast provisions and the homemade bread was a nice touch.
-We purchased a BBQ pack which was tasty and good value.
-Overall the lodge had a lovely feel to it and it really did feel like a home away from home.
-Lodge was private and we didn't see another guest the whole time we were there.

Bad:
-We couldn't seem to get the spa as warm as we would have liked. As we stayed during winter this meant the spa was too cool to use at night.
-Pillows on the bed were uncomfortable and the bed cover was a little bit stained - needs replacing.
-The water pressure in the shower was dismal.
-The lasagne we purchased for our second night was bland.
-The fireplace was just gas - would have been lovely to have a log fire.

Despite a few minor complaints we would recommend Allawah to anyone looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway and we hope to return someday and stay in the Hideaway Lodge (unfortunaley it was already booked when we were staying).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJ_Ando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

We are sorry your stay under the previous ownership was disappointing, but we are pleased to advise that when we purchased the retreat, we replaced the gas fire in Treetops with both an inside and outside (deck) open log fire. We have also replaced all the bedding and linen, so we can assure you of a warm and comfortable stay when next you travel to the Tablelands in winter! High pressure pumps have also been installed to ensure you have all the water you need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our second visit to Allawah was as good if not better than our first. We love everthing about the chalet and the views are spectacular. Trish really looked after us and the food was excellent!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Beautiful views and beautiful weather. Our first time at Allawah Retreat but we’’ll definitely go back as there’s so much to do and see on the Tablelands. Perfect lodge to come back to and relax after an adventure filled day. Loved the bed, loved the fire, loved the spa, loved the bread. Loved the swivel TV- we could sit out on the balcony with our nibbles and wine while I watched the birds and butterflies and my partner could watch the footy!! Loved the massage!. An absolutely perfect place to celebrate my 24 birthday. Thanks so much for the beautiful memories.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Allawah was recommended to us by a friend who said they loved it and so did we. We booked a 3 night stay and could have stayed for a week. The first thing we noticed when we got out of the car was how quiet it was and you could smell that fresh country air. We followed Trish on her nifty quad bike to our cabin. It had the wow factor as soon as we walked in and when we walked out on the deck the view was amazing – we looked over the farms and you could see forever. We loved the space and the double shower was very luxurious and it was great having the fire to keep us warm as the nights were a bit chilly. We had ordered a BBQ pack and it was so nice cooking and eating on the deck and we also had a visit from a cute possum. Then the best part was having the hot spa to sink into and unwind - I almost feel asleep it was so relaxing. We loved the way the hot bread magically appeared in the morning and it was a real treat along with the chocolates, port and yummy biscuits. We hope to return soon and hopefully next time we can stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suec1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atherton hotels
5 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
72 reviews
5.8 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#6 of 6 in Atherton
41 reviews
6.1 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
18.6 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
10.6 mi away
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
#2 of 6 in Atherton
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Retreat

Address: PO Box 716 | Tolga, Atherton, Queensland 4882, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Atherton
Price Range: £144 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4.5 star retreat nestles on 150 acres of Australian native bush high on a ridge overlooking Atherton Tablelands, in the Cairns Highlands only 1 hours scenic drive from Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef in Far North Queensland. The 4 private self contained hilltop spa lodges are complete with every luxury including heated deck spas, on deck BBQs and 1 with private plunge pool and cozy fireplaces. Enjoy the privacy peace and tranquillity with wildlife and mountain walking tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing