We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simon and Bec Rolfe”
Review of Allawah Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allawah Retreat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simon and Bec Rolfe”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently visited Allawah Retreat for three nights for our 5th wedding anniversary.

The serenity was fantastic and the view amazing. I made sure to relax in the heated spa as the sun went down each afternoon and then to wake up to the calming sound of the birds each morning was lovely.

The meal packages were great value.
The villa had everything you could need.
I cant wait to visit again.

In one word our stay was perfect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bec R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at Allawah Retreat over the weekend. It was very relaxing and the host very accommodating and friendly. Marjorie made us feel very welcome and she does an excellent job at keeping everything at high standards and paying attention to small details which make the place so special. Our lodge was clean, cozy and the kitchen very well equipped. We loved sitting on the deck drinking wine in the evenings and relaxing in the heated spa. If you love privacy this is a perfect place to stay. The retreat is very peaceful and quiet with beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed the walks around the place and up into the hills and watching the Australian wildlife. We liked it very much and wished we could stay longer. We would highly recommend Allawah Retreat and will certainly visit again with pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ewa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband booked 2 nights here as a birthday surprise for me. What a wonderful surprise. We arrived (to Marjorie saying "Happy Birthday") we opened the door to the lodge, jazz softly playing on the stereo, the spa was heated to 35 degrees, the fridge was stocked with an extremely hearty 2 mornings breakfasts (bacon, sausages, hashbrowns, tomatoes, beef patties, 8 eggs, jams, butter) A super fresh loaf of local bread, biscuits, milk, cereals, teas, coffees... the list just went on. Not to mention fresh local flowers, port and chocolates for after dinner. All these nice touches made the place feel amazing.

We stayed in Hideaway lodge, which has a hammock, heated spa on the deck and a real fire place. It was stocked with two t.vs, an array of magazines, books and dvds. The kitchen has everything we needed and more. Plus a bbq on the deck. (there is even a washing machine).

They had thought of everything, there were tealight candles, insect spray, mozzie coils... my husband even found a container of birthday candles!... You will need to bring NOTHING extra. They have thought of every possible thing.

We loved sitting out in the hammock watching the stars.

Weekend paper (cairns post and the two local papers) were dropped off on the front doorstep.

I loved it. It was quiet, relaxing and rejuvenating.

We will be back. Thanks for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you book Hideaway Lodge. It has an amazing view, hammock, fire place, heated spa... amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dragonflycairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gimignano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Arriving at reception, we were greeted warmly by the friendly, bubbly Marjorie. She directed us to "The Hideaway" at the top of the track, telling us we would find everything we needed inside. We opened the door and were delighted to see beautiful hand-made timber furniture in the dining area and lounge, fabulous views over the tableland, a large plasma TV with surround sound, CD and DVD player with a lovely selection of music and movies, a modern, compact kitchen with all mod-cons. The bedroom was elegant and spacious, leading into a large en-suite with hand-made timber vanity and huge double shower. The outside deck topped it all off with the main attraction being the large spa. Also on the deck were a Weber Q barbecue, bar fridge, sun lounges and table and chairs. Included for our stay was enough food for two hearty breakfasts and two barbecue dinners. It was the little extra touches that impressed us. The homemade biscuits, the chocolates, the port, the locally made fresh bread. We loved it all and didn't want to leave. Congratulations to Marjorie for creating the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We had a fantastic stay over the weekend. Even enjoyed the possums company, little rascals that they are, they like red wine :-). Very well planned set up for lots of rest and relaxation with very good taste in decor. The heated spa is wonderful for a great relax. Five star luxury high up in the hills and the view at night of the near townships fairy lights were breath taking. BBQ and Breakfast hampers were magnificent and enjoyed looking at and smelling the roses every day. Loved the local goodies basket. Local newspapers delivered, what more could one ask for.
Helen & Ken Cairns

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen-Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Allawah retreat for two nights and would highly recommend this retreat to anybody looking to get a way from it all. The hillside bungalows are fantastic. The view from our balcony was spectacular, overlooking the tablelands. We were lucky enough to view hot air balloons early one morning! of a night we sat by the wood fire after relaxing on the balcony spa(didnt want to leave) The service was great, allthough we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves(we loved the privacy, its like having your own wilderness retreat.) Our hosts were very accomadating. We opted for a BBQ pack option, which we were very happy with.The perfect place for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nikky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy01, Owner at Allawah Retreat, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
We are so glad you had such a relaxing time at Allawah, and look forward to your company during your next trip to the Atherton Tablelands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Extremely disappointed with the aggressive,intrusive,complaining owner/host Marjorie. Obviously as we were"locals" we were yokels like everyone else around the area.Would not recommend a romantic stay or any other unless you want to be bullied.Overpriced for the location and service poor.Unfortunately did not read the previous review about log fire.We too we disappointed in that having asked on booking were told by Majorie that they had log fires in every room--this was to be the treat being from Cairns--only to find they were gas.Perhaps she does not know what a log fire is! Found one further up the Tablelands that was 5 star after the bitter taste of Allawah Retreat

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
1.8 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
237 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
7.6 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#1 of 7 in Yungaburra
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barking Owl Retreat
Barking Owl Retreat
#4 of 12 in Atherton
70 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Retreat

Property: Allawah Retreat
Address: PO Box 716 | Tolga, Atherton, Queensland 4882, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4.5 star retreat nestles on 150 acres of Australian native bush high on a ridge overlooking Atherton Tablelands, in the Cairns Highlands only 1 hours scenic drive from Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef in Far North Queensland. The 4 private self contained hilltop spa lodges are complete with every luxury including heated deck spas, on deck BBQs and 1 with private plunge pool and cozy fireplaces. Enjoy the privacy peace and tranquillity with wildlife and mountain walking tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing