We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boonah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Bunyip is a modern style country retreat in the scenic rim. Flanked by mountains and with the most amazing sunset views. We spent the Easter long weekend there with friends.
It's a great way to just unwind, not do anything much. Maybe go to the occasional winery. We bought back a few wines to share over dinner on the terrace. Dinner made personally by the gracious hosts. I don't know how they managed a three course meal each night with four couples staying but they did and they made it look effortless.

Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBunyipRob, Owner at The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thankyou. Marina and I appreciate all the reviews and the time guests take to put "pen to paper". Making sure your time at The Bunyip is memorable is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

With less than a week to go before the Easter long weekend, we stumbled across Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort online and decided to try our luck for a 2 night stay. Thankfully, Rob replied almost immediately and it just so happened there was one room left which was ours for the taking.

Not usually one for country/outback settings, I wasn't sure what to expect when heading up the long winding dirt road driveway. Once we reached the top however, what ever expectations we had (or didn't have) were blown out of the water. The views from this secluded retreat are nothing short of breath taking.

With a variety of activities on offer - from swimming, to reading, to bush walking, to hot stone massages, to star gazing, to watching dvd's - you'll never find yourself bored. More often than not however, we found ourselves sitting comfortably outside our room, taking in the scenery, enjoying good company, sipping on beverages and secretly wishing we were as lucky as Rob and Marina are to call this place home. The simple fact that they've built this relaxing haven to share with others just goes to show the kind of warm and welcoming people they are.

But now for the important part - The food! We opted to partake in the 3 course meals each night we stayed and we certainly weren't disappointed. First nights delights included:
- Roasted blue cheese stuffed figs wrapped in proscuitto,
- Seared premium eye fillet (cooked to our liking) with poached vegetables and béarnaise sauce,
- Roasted pears in a decadent sweet red wine sauce with vanilla bean ice cream. Amazing!

And the breakfast was just as tasty. Come morning, when you're done enjoying the view from your kingsize bed, and are feeling ready for yet another delicious meal, simply make your way to the Great Room and order. There isn't a menu so just mention what you're craving and Rob and Marina will do their best to provide. Picture freshly made orange juice, fruit platters, greek yoghurt with muesli and berry compote, espresso coffees, smoked salmon, croissants, herbed mushrooms, crispy bacon and fluffy scrambled eggs. Is your mouth watering yet? Yep, that's standard.

A week on, we're still in awe of Bunyip and believe it was the ideal spot for our first weekend away together. We even decided to rain check our plans back in Brisbane so we could stay an extra night, during which we had our very own campfire to keep warm by. A truly special way to end an incredible long weekend. We can't wait to return. Thank you again, Rob and Marina, for everything!

Room Tip: Ask Rob about what spots to visit nearby - 4WD or not - the drive is nearly as enjoyable as the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaklynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Totally relaxing few days.

Rob & Marina made us very welcome and the food served was first class.

Sitting on the balcony each night for dinner under the stars was superb - oh the silence of it all.

Each day after a fantastic breakfast we toured the surrounding areas and then came back to our little piece of solitude.

Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.

In summary a great few days of delicious food, relaxation and peacefulness .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DontDieWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Awesome views, both day and night. Supremely relaxing.
Being able to just sit on the lawn and soak up the vista was so very therapeutic.
Meals were deliciously high quality and the service great.
I want to go back very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorBuley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I can't recommend the Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort highly enough - everything about our stay here was perfect. I organised a surprise weekend getaway for my husband's birthday, the booking process was easy and on arrival the hosts/ owners Rob and Marina made us feel so welcome. The location is supurb with the most outstanding and beautiful views you could imagine. The apartments are modern and clean, with floor to ceiling windows with a perfect view of the surrounding mountains and plains. The apartment was spotlessly clean with added luxuries such as soft fluffy bathrobe, the most comfortable bed and Thann toiletries which smell delicious and feel good to use, the apartment had everything you need - there are also a large selection of dvd's to choose from should you wish to watch a dvd, as well as books to sit and read in the Great Room (which is one of the most spectactular spaces I've seen). The food Rob and Marina cook is exquisite and some of the best I've ever tasted, they cater to any dietary requirements without issue and also any "likes and dislikes" the ambience at dinner is perfect and with only 4 couples maximum at a time, very intimate. On our last night for my husbands birthday, we were the only couple there and for dinner it was like having our own private chefs who really looked after us and did I mention their food is delicious!! Marina also gives amazing massages and is just such a lovely caring person, you really feel like you are staying with friends while you are there as you are made to feel so welcome. On checking out we did not want to leave, we felt extremely relaxed and know that we will be back again, the location, hospitality, food, friendliness of the hosts and beautiful apartment make this the perfect getaway location. There is also a lot to see and do in the area and many National Parks to explore. Absolutely love The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms to choose from, all are private and have a different colour theme, green, red, bro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived on a Friday to unwind and get away from the city and when we finally and regrettably had to leave on the following Monday morning we were completely and totally relaxed.
We had the most enjoyable weekend getaway that we both have ever had. The food was outstanding and their passion and interest in the kitchen showed in every meal they cooked.
We now have a destination an hour from the city that has everything you could want from a resort and more with fantastic hosts.
Thank you and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

An amazing location with a breathtaking view; the magnificence of which never fades.
The hosts strike the perfect balance between attentiveness and wilful distance, always knowing when they are needed and when to give you space to enjoy yourself.
Wonderful facilities, comfortable appointments, exceptional service, great food.
Thoroughly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_mcd91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boonah
24.1 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
16.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
16.1 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Boonah Motel
Boonah Motel
#2 of 3 in Boonah
45 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boonah Valley Motel
Boonah Valley Motel
#3 of 3 in Boonah
38 reviews
24.1 mi away
Annalee Motel
Annalee Motel
#2 of 3 in Beaudesert
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort

Address: 139 Lutter Rd, Boonah, Queensland 4309, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Boonah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boonah
Price Range: £177 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact The Bunyip for bookings. Sites such as Wotif etc will in error show there is no availability Luxury secluded and exclusive boutique resort located 1 hour from Brisbane. Glorious views. Two level apartments per couple. The Great Room provides for entertaining on a Grand Scale. 100 Acres of bushland surround the property. Willowbank Raceway is only 20 minutes. Self Cater or Full Service. Bushwalking, Gliding, Wine Trails and more or just Chill.Quality fittings and stunning architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort Boonah, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing