We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluewater Harbour Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bowen
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“OK for a short stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

We booked well in advance for this motel, but found ourselves billeted unnecessarily in the disabled 'suite', that doubled up as a storage area for two single beds in upright position. The water is so hard the soap struggled to lather, and was very highly chlorine perfumed! We chose not to have the very expensive breakfast, over $45 for 2. And we were having a rest before heading to a party when we were deafened (and frightened out of our sleep!)when the lawn mower was started right outside our room, but we did enjoy our reason for being in Bowen, nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank You Magnums 2009,
Your input has been greatly appreciated by Debbie and Myself.
I sincerely apologize that your were allocated a Family/Disabled room and I acknowledge that most of the other people attending the function had Business Class rooms as that is what they had requested and paid for.
Water hardness is an ongoing problem with Bowen's water supply but is beyond our control.
I note that you believe that our breakfast that you did not have is expensive.
We have several levels of breakfasts the top level being $22.90 and this includes Bacon Eggs Tomato cooked to your order ( how and when you require not reheated etc.] Toast, Plain and Raisin Cereal of your choice Juice Fresh Fruit and Choice of Teas[ brands types blends] Coffees [ Instant Kenyan Bag coffee or from our Coffee machine] and Yogurts. The cost includes fruit and biscuits to be taken away. We do this as most of our clients are working "on Site' and often do not get the chance to stop at a corner store for "Cribbs,Smoko".
The less expensive breakfast is a combination of the parts above and is $15.99 it includes all of the above less the bacon and Eggs.
Sincere apologizes about the mower but we mow twice a week in the early afternoon to keep the property looking Terrific.
I thank you for your review and your experience in reviewing.
I am now on a long leave[9 months] and I am using [ Trip Advisor Reviews]and reviewing as I travel.
I truly appreciate your help with this,
Kim Dale
Motel Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    44
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
68
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Travelling north to Cairns, this was a stopover. A good welcome, the new keycard system implemented in the motel was having some teething issues with locking the door, but Kimberly sorted that out. A garden room, meaning that there was a table and chairs outside the room door, and the garden against the road fence line. The road outside is partly concrete and in the afternoon and early evening, there was some noise early evening from vehicles going by. However, it did go quiet in the evening. Parking for the garden rooms were in the general area of the motel, so a walk down the driveway and walkway to the room with luggage etc. Upgraded/renovated room, was spacious, bathroom was good, bedding fine, and a microwave which is a useful item, ( and wish all motels had them ) not for cooking but reheating food and in general. Good location, 10/15 minute walk to the waterfront and 5 minute walk to the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank You for your review. It is such a pleasant walk to the Marina and there is always activity there to watch. Live fish are exported from the fishing companies and they both allow the public to inspect the Coral trout pens. the fish are exported by air to many destinations in Asia and Bowen Seafood Co have cooked fish including Coral Trout and Red Throat Emperor at remarkably affordable prices. Great Walk, Great food and plenty to see @ the Bowen Marina a short walk from the Motel.
Kids waterpark opposite the Marina on Front Beach.
Kim Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Writing this review from the super comfy bed, watching a movie on the big screen after a great shower and dinner at the central hotel, recommended by the motel. This place is super clean and modern. The appliances are new and everything is very well presented, including lots of nice arnotts biscuits to have with my tea! A great location in town and deserves the number one spot on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you and for everyone's sake Keep Writing reviews wherever you are travelling.
We recommend several of the eateries that are close to us but the Central is my favorite. Staff there are long ' termers' generally and often strike friendships with our customers. Makes you feel welcome when they know your name and what you like.
And hands up for Arnotts Bikkies they may cost more but they are the best.
Many Thanks Kim Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I found my one-night stay at this motel to be very pleasant. Staff were super friendly and helpful!
Rooms are very clean with all you need. Location means its super quiet and peaceful!! Thanks for a pleasant time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahnee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hi Tahnee, Thank you for your review.
The Motel is in a super quiet area but still so close to the Town Center.
Hope to see you again and please continue to review. it is a greatly appreciated by us.
Cheers,
Kim Dale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Wow, what a place to stay! The cleanliness and facilities that these rooms offer is outstanding. Great location as Woolies is 1/2 a min up the road and the esplanade is 1/2 a min down the road but it is as quiet as can be as it is not on the main st.
It was an absolute pleasure to be able to sleep our 4 children in their own room, making use of the interconnecting doors and the spacious bathrooms. With a full size fridge, a huge TV and well equipped kitchenette this really is a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188Kimbo, Manager at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It is a personal goal of ours to strive to make our guests feel as though they are staying in a home away from home so you have taken the words right out of our mouth. We hope to see you and your family again soon next time you're visiting Bowen.

Kind Regards,

Kimberley Rigley
Manager
Bluewater Harbour Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Is good as a stop over. Don't walk out at night drive as area is a bit dark and dingy. Good rooms. Clean ish. Stand are really helpful . Parking is limited. Place is hard to find. Cheap. But you get what you pay. Limited photos of motel should set alarm bells ringing. Full of construction workers.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RJ-JMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your response. We are always striving to improve our service to our guests and make their stay more enjoyable. Since your stay we have increased photos on all our booking websites to allow guests checking in to better see our establishment. Although we are open to the general travelling guest, we are a corporate motel and during your stay we were full with a company of workers. We hope this hasn't deterred you from staying with us again and hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kimberley Rigley
Manager
Bluewater Harbour Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackay
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you are stranded in Bowen and do not know to go, try the Bluewater Harbour Motel. They have got every thing you need, coffee, tea, milk and bisquits. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. A/C, fridge and comfy beds gonna make your stay there perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always striving to give our guests everything they need to make their stay even more enjoyable. Even if they are checking in after hours. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
1.7 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 8 in Bowen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#6 of 8 in Bowen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
1.7 mi away
BIG4 Bowen Coral Coast Beachfront Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Whitsunday Sands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Harbour Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Harbour Motel

Property: Bluewater Harbour Motel
Address: 1 Powell St, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluewater Harbour Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Kim and Debbie in 2008 we offer the best in Country Hospitality. Located close to Bowen's Town Centre and Front Beach our Corporate Style Motel is perfect for Business and Family Holidays. Let the Kids Cool Down at the close by Free Front Beach Water-Park that has Electric BBQues, Picnic Area, Play Ground and fantastic Skate Park for the older Kids. The Bluewater Motel has Extra Large One and Two Bedroom Motel units and we also have Two Bedroom Villas available. Wonderful Steak and Seafood in our Dining Room and Bar. Open Monday to Thursday for meals or Room Service. We are Central to all of Bowens Pubs and the Free Water Park at front Beach. Stroll to the North Coast Cruising Yacht Club for the wonderful view and Food Freaks Restaurant. All units are Ground Floor with Undercover Car Parking. Let the kids enjoy our 12 Meter Salt Water pool and cook up a family feast on one of our two covered BBQue areas. Our Motel Manager, Kimberley Rigley has a great team who will ensure that you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Bluewater Harbour Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing