We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Beach Caravan Park
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bowen
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had two day break here staff very friendly and helpful . Site had its own ensuite and was clean and tidy. We could here the sea from our site very relaxing. Bowen is a very old town with some great old building and very friendly locals had a great time here. They have sites just meters away from the beach if you can get one of these it would be great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank markcook58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We arrived at this caravan cabin park on advice - absolute beach front - Ernie Snr absolute top gun host - there when Cyclone Hadi threatening trouble - managers were great - stopped for a couple days turned into ten - brilliant fishing - straight out the back of the van - plenty of beach front to walk - check in any time. I was there in the quiet time. Was impressed that the placed was maintained to a top standard with few guests - pool - showers with lots of room - pick of my holiday so far.

Room Tip: Beach Front access or great shady sites inside try No 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billings, mt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in one of the bungalow/cabins and it had everything we needed for a comfortable night. Fully equipped kitchen allowed us to cook our own seafood and fresh produce that we bought in Bowen. The cabin was very clean and was right on the beach. The manager was helpful and even gave us our money back for the wireless connection when we couldn't make it work with our laptop. Make sure and take the drive to the top of the hill for a spectacular view of the lighthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponyonmyboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It was an absolutely beautifully clean and tidy cabin in which we spent 3 nights. Pity it wasn't longer. Our cabin was extremely close to the water, had a lovely tiny sunny deck with 2 chairs and a table. Inside was very comfortable with a flat screen tellie, ensuite and kitchenette.
The amenities blocks are also very clean and if they were to be updated, this would be the icing on the cake.
The park is dog friendly which is great. It's a short drive to the shops or a longer bike ride.
I didn't see any children - just very friendly older people from all over Australia.
Many thanks - your extra clean caravan park was a joy to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parisTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in one of the new cabins right on the waterfront, we loved our stay here, the cabin was spotlessly clean and had everything you'd need, although the frypan really needed replacing as it had most of the teflon scratched off. Being right on the beach front we could take lovely walks up the beach. There are no takeaways or restaurants in walking distance so you really need to take what you need or be prepared to drive, we used the barbeque most nights and it was kept lovely and clean, the grounds were also kept beautifully. Don't arrive at lunch time because they close for a couple of hours, we weren't told about this and arrived not long after they closed, we rang the bell for service, but ended up having to come back later to check in. Some of our friends were in caravans and they mentioned the amenities block was in need of an update, but we loved our stay here and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janngary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag P, Owner at Tropical Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
We are glad to hear that the reviewer was happy with their accommodation and the cleanliness of the Park and that they enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to their return.

Its unfortunate that when they arrived the service bell was not responded to however we do attempt to have someone available to respond to the accommodation bell at all times whether the office is open or not. Of course there may be occasions where this is impossible. As with most accommodation providers our check in time is 2pm.

In regards to our amenities block being in need of an update - we are currently in the process of updating our amenities and stage 1 of the rennovations has just been completed. Photos of the rennovated amenities will be posted soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great place to stay , very quiet well maintained . A nice little pool in a shady area .
The amenities could certainly do with an upgrade but were clean .
Not a real kid friendly park though. More suited for older couples .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Each year our winter months are spent at Tropical Beach Caravan Park, Bowen. We enjoy the friendliness of the Parker Family and the park patrons. It is a very well run park, the grounds and sites are well maintained and there is a lovely pool and surrounds. Amenities, although not new, are adequate and always kept splotless. Special functions are organised throughout the months we are there. A plus for dog owners is that it is a dog friendly park.
We have no hesitation in recommending the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
0.1 mi away
BIG4 Bowen Coral Coast Beachfront Holiday Park
2.1 mi away
Harbour Lights Caravan Park
0.9 mi away
Queens Beach Tourist Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Horseshoe Bay Resort
Horseshoe Bay Resort
#2 of 5 in Bowen
30 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Caravan Park

Property: Tropical Beach Caravan Park
Address: Howard Street, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Beach Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Beach Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing