We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of Jochheims Pies

Jochheims Pies
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Bowen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Description: Jochheims pies was started by Darcy and Merle Jochheim in 1963. The Pie Shop initially sold Pies, Pasties, Sausage Rolls Apple Turnovers, Cream Horns and cold drinks. Son in law Paddy O'Regan, commenced at Jochheims pies in 1976. In 1999, Paddy and wife Jayne ( Darcy and Merles eldest daughter) purchased the business and began introducing delicious new products. The shop next door was renovated to add seating for 65 Customers. Freshly baked bread, a large range of Sandwiches and rolls,quiches, new lines of pastries, Freshly brewed coffee were introduced over the next decade to cater for an ever expanding Customer base. To keep improving the products we regularly enter in Baking competitions. Our latest award is winning " Best Meat Pie" at the recent ( June 2014 )NIBA NQ Baking Show. Feedback from Customers is important to us, so if something's not up to your expectations, please let us know. We have a 200% "money back guarantee"
Restaurant details
Description: Jochheims pies was started by Darcy and Merle Jochheim in 1963. The Pie Shop initially sold Pies, Pasties, Sausage Rolls Apple Turnovers, Cream Horns and cold drinks. Son in law Paddy O'Regan, commenced at Jochheims pies in 1976. In 1999, Paddy and wife Jayne ( Darcy and Merles eldest daughter) purchased the business and began introducing delicious new products. The shop next door was renovated to add seating for 65 Customers. Freshly baked bread, a large range of Sandwiches and rolls,quiches, new lines of pastries, Freshly brewed coffee were introduced over the next decade to cater for an ever expanding Customer base. To keep improving the products we regularly enter in Baking competitions. Our latest award is winning " Best Meat Pie" at the recent ( June 2014 )NIBA NQ Baking Show. Feedback from Customers is important to us, so if something's not up to your expectations, please let us know. We have a 200% "money back guarantee"
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pies are so yummy! Great selection with indoor and outdoor seating. Magazines and a great collection of photos from when the movie Australia was made in Bowen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, Manager at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hello,
Thanks so much for visiting us.
We're glad you enjoyed our Pies, seating options and magazine selection.
PaddyO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“had better”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have been there a number of times over the years; this visit was disappointing as the pie just wasn't as good.
maybe spoilt by success??

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Sorry we disappointed you Mark. The day you posted your review we sent Pies to Townsville and won NQ Best pie. The good thing about entering competitions, is, it makes us strive to always improve our product. Please be sure to make yourself known next time you're in so you can receive our "200% money back guarantee" Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

All the raves are true! The pepper pie was sooo good & the service was outstanding. Little sit down area to eat your goods & take the time to look at all the awards on the wall as well as the special signed photo by Hugh Jackman acknowledging how good the pies are.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for visiting us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit.
We've just won " Best Meat Pie" in the NQ Baking Show.
We hope to see you sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly bakery”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I think hype can raise expectations. I was expecting more. Basic food for a basic lunch. Fresh sandwiches, usual average cakes etc. nothing special. clean fresh food and comfortable seating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FNQtraveller269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Sorry we didn't meet your expectations.
We continually work on improving our business. Next time you're in, let me know, my shout.
Glad you enjoyed the fresh food and our Italian imported chairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“for Pie Lovers”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As a Bowenite I never ever go "home" without visiting Jochheims .....for most of my life this has been an institution ... I would never ever miss visiting ..have told many many people over many years this is the best pie shop and cake shop in Australia ...dont miss it

Coral (Brock) Smith

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coral S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, Owner at Jochheims Pies, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback Coral.
Glad we 're on your to do list, every time you come home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jochheims Pies also viewed

 

Been to Jochheims Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing