We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Castle Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This motel was the 12th on our Australian holiday and my journal records "poorest motel so far".
The room was really gloomy and outdated although clean. The dining room was closed and we were told when we checked in that breakfast would not be a full menu because the staff had been given the day off. Breakfast was a poor meal with very limited choices.
The location of the motel is such that there is nowhere to eat dinner nearby so we walked (40 minutes) into town where only 2 places were open.
The town experienced a major powercut but fortunately the motel had an auxiliary generator.
As a postscript, we attempted to eat at Coyotes Saloon - we arrived at around 6.20pm and the board outside advertised dinner specials until 6.30pm. The waitress said we were too late and would not serve the special to us without a word of explanation or apology - we had a pleasant meal at the Pizza and Pasta place next door!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    23
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
22
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were travelling with intentions of staying in Airlie Beach - no rooms available anywhere. Went on to Bowen and found this little gem. The management staff were superb and could not do enough for us even though they were unwell. The restaurant provided good food and friendly professional staff catered well for a tired 7 year old. The rooms were neat, clean and spacious. Daughter was very excited to stay in a 'castle'. Liked the place so much we stayed on a second night and had a good look around Bowen (love Horseshoe bay). We now plan to return at a later date for an extended time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Perfect for a stop over. Motel is very cute with its castle theme. Ask to check out the authentic chastity belt in the restaurant... Omg... So glad its 2012! The adorable managers and restaurant staff also offer very good service and food in the on-site restaurant. Good size room with ample parking space. Room was very clean even if the bathroom was dated, all else was good value. Will stay again on way back from Cairns as it was a very cute stop over after a hard days driving.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This place is absolutely adorable.
Bowen is such a magical place- and this tiny little motor lodge is the perfect place to stay!
If you're after 5 star luxury (that admittedly I'm accoustemed to)- then firstly, stay away from
Bowen and secondly- you'll hate this place. If howeve you can let your standards drop just a tad & get in touch with a little bit of rustic/country AUS- then you'll love it.
The staff are absolutely charming. The rooms? Clean- basic- comfortable. I loved the little onsite restraunt.
It was perfect for a quick 1 night stay after 13 hours of driving & I certainly wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravAgent87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The service was fantastic - the Manager opened for us after hours and was very pleasant.
The room itself was a good size and clean enough. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet and dark - great for a sleep in.
The only negaitve was the bathroom which is old and dated and needs attention.
We would stay again for a good overnight stop between Cairns and Brisbane.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the back wall as it would be a little quieter (away from traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Convenient location on the left-hand side coming into town, close to everything. Big rooms that are clean and have everything that is required for a comfortable overnight stay. Below-average value ($120) but this is probably due to the fact that there are a number of constructions projects currently happening in the region, this pushes prices up. The motel was fully booked, as were all motels in town that night.

Free Wifi that did not work for the first few hours of my stay but later did. Very friendly service at reception.

In short, I would rate this motel to be average and whilst nothing exceptional, it provides the opportunity for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSchulz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed in this lodge in our last trip to Australia. Bowen was not in our plans, but we had a little car accident near the city around 8.00 PM (beware about the road flood in this area), and although the damages, we drove to this lodge to spend the night (because Hertz didn´t rescue us, but it´s another history).
What amazing surprise! The lodge is simple, but very comfortable, clean, organized, free parking, free high speed wireless internet, with all amenities you need to spend a night, and with a good price. It’s a very good place to explore the beautiful region. But the best were the resident owners. They were very, very kind with us. We arrived very stressed with the accident and they gave us all kind of support you can imagine. How we have some difficulties with the language, they made all contacts with Hertz to receive instructions and help with the procedures. In the next morning they called Hertz and Airport, both in Proserpine, making all the arrangements to us, so we could leave the car and take a plane.
In these moments, when you have a problem, away from home, in a different country with a different language, receive this kind of help is unforgettable, and make you believe that special persons exist.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
1.0 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
2.5 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#5 of 9 in Bowen
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
2.3 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm View Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Motor Lodge

Property: Castle Motor Lodge
Address: 6 Don St, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing