We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good rooms, delicious food and friendly staff. Highly recommended!”
Review of Castle Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My dad and I stayed here on the way down to Brisbane. We were greeted with great service and have a good old chat to the man at the reception. The service at the restaurant was fantastic and the food was delicious. The rooms are a bit old fashioned however very tidy and clean. Overall a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

First motel we saw on way into Bowen and decided it looked ok. We were not disappointed, only needed a one night stay and receptionist was very friendly. Had a lovely meal and few drinks in the restaurant all very reasonable prices too. The room was lovely and clean and cooked breakfast very enjoyable. Highly recommended would definetly stay again. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We drove into Bowen and this was the first place we saw. Carried on for a look around town and then came back to our first choice, Castle Motor Lodge. It looks great from the road and it didn't disappoint. Everybody we encountered were so friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but would have been happy staying a lot longer. The pool, though we didn't get to use it, looked wonderful and very inviting. When the receptionist queried our breakfast plans and I said we had our own cereals with us, she brought plates and spoons over to our units for us to use which was most kind of her. We ate in their restaurant and the barmaid was absolutely amazing! She tended bar as well as taking meal orders and delivering the food and anything else one wanted. Earning her wage and more! Thoroughly recommend Castle Motor Lodge and would definitely stay again if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannej136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed at this Motor Inn twice this month as I was travelling for work, from Cairns to Mackay and back again. I regularly stay at this type of accomodation and the Castle Motor Lodge has the friendliest management, reception and restaurant staff I have ever encountered. As far as Motor Inns go the roooms are very tidy and clean. Both times the room had new split system air-con, brand new fridge and a nice big flat screen TV.
I appreciated the free Wi-fi and ample space to set up my laptop for work.
The restaurant serves good quality home-style meals ($20-$30 main) in either the main dining room, decorated in the castle theme complete with full suits of armour, or in a second dining area with a large TV. I imagine the 2nd dining room caters for solo business travellers and breakfast dining.
Parking was easy for me in a iLoad van and the pool area looked quite nice although I didn't use it.
In future, when travelling to Bowen I will ALWAYS stay at the Castle.

Room Tip: I stayed on the road side and at the back, away from the road and both rooms were nice and quiet. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Very friendly place to relax. Lovely room decor and very clean. Owners and staff were courteous and helpful about local and regional attractions. Lovely pool and garden area. Awesome food in onsite restaurant. Free laundry facilities!! Beautiful drive to area beaches and attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This motel was the 12th on our Australian holiday and my journal records "poorest motel so far".
The room was really gloomy and outdated although clean. The dining room was closed and we were told when we checked in that breakfast would not be a full menu because the staff had been given the day off. Breakfast was a poor meal with very limited choices.
The location of the motel is such that there is nowhere to eat dinner nearby so we walked (40 minutes) into town where only 2 places were open.
The town experienced a major powercut but fortunately the motel had an auxiliary generator.
As a postscript, we attempted to eat at Coyotes Saloon - we arrived at around 6.20pm and the board outside advertised dinner specials until 6.30pm. The waitress said we were too late and would not serve the special to us without a word of explanation or apology - we had a pleasant meal at the Pizza and Pasta place next door!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were travelling with intentions of staying in Airlie Beach - no rooms available anywhere. Went on to Bowen and found this little gem. The management staff were superb and could not do enough for us even though they were unwell. The restaurant provided good food and friendly professional staff catered well for a tired 7 year old. The rooms were neat, clean and spacious. Daughter was very excited to stay in a 'castle'. Liked the place so much we stayed on a second night and had a good look around Bowen (love Horseshoe bay). We now plan to return at a later date for an extended time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#5 of 9 in Bowen
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
0.1 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
1.9 mi away
Queens Beach Motor Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Motor Lodge

Address: 6 Don St, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range: £68 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing