We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very friendly owners”
Review of Ocean View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Graet place for an overnight stop when travelling. Room was comfortable and clean. View from the front is fantastic. Meals served to the room were good. Bit noisy with vehicles - (trucks exhaust brakes) from nearby highway but we stayed in winter and didnt need air cond on so in warmer months with air cond running it would cancel out road noise.
We stay in a lot of motels when travelling and this one has been a real find.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2010

Good, clean, comfortable motel on the highway like they used to be. Park the car and don't plan on going anywhere unless you want to drive. The room was clean and plenty of room for 2. The outlook over the ocean towards Bowen would have been great except for the weather on the night we stayed. We took our own food but they do provide meals at a reasonable price ($19.50 for evening meals and $13.50 for a cooked breakfast). We didn't have any problem with the noise from the hightway which was minimal. We payed $98 after asking if they had any discounts. I don't think we would pay any more because of the location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ianpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We travel regularly between Cairns and Sydney at least five times a year and stay at numerous Motels along the way. Bowen is a natural stop off point being a good days drive from Cairns. The Motel is small and situated South of the town on the highway.Above all else it's the elevated view of the bay that sets it apart. Tariff is reasonable and the food / service as good as any.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jetlag56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

The Ocean View Motel is a small, family run complex located around 5km south of Bowen on the highway. The room was clean and light with a slightly dated beachy style feel. All the rooms face the pool, above which you can catch glimpses of an island and water view. Rooms include cable tv. Entrance is on a bit of a blind corner on the highway, right next door to the tourist information centre and big mango. Parking is available undercover at the door and some room service is available for dinner and breakfast. One warning is that the shower and basin were not separated from the bedroom so if you were staying with friends there would be no privacy. The shower itself was good though - old style shower head with good pressure and nice hot water. Room was good value (at $88 pn) but there is some highway noise - especially early in the morning as the trucks start to come through. Not an issue at night though. Other comments are that the pillow cases looked a bit stained and I had a (harmless) gecko in the room. Overall not too bad though for a 3.5 star motel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KALAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

Small, friendly motel with superb views out over the bay and Whitsunday Islands. Gourmet home cooked dinners. Friendly service

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ovm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ramona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowen hotels
2.5 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
2.8 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
2.2 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
122 reviews
4.4 mi away
Queens Beach Motor Hotel
4.9 mi away
Horseshoe Bay Resort
Horseshoe Bay Resort
#3 of 5 in Bowen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel

Address: 18317 Bruce Hwy, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range: £57 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Motel is quality and affordable Bowen accommodation, ideally located with a choice of at least eight pristine beaches, right at, or within 10 minutes drive from your Motel room, and overlooking Port Denison and the Islands. Set on a spacious 9 acres, the motel rooms have Queen sized beds, air conditioning, fans and free cable TV, swimming pool and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing